We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at Salad Buri Hotel last summer and I have to say it was brilliant. The rooms are spacious, modern, immaculately clean, comfortable beds and great air con. Staff are friendly and professional, the x3 pools are great and beach setting just picturesque. The food was great - especially on bbq night with fresh fish & food caught daily. If you like the extra touches and a bit more luxury then stay here. Myself and my boyfriend actually cut our stay at the Salad Beach Resort early (we caught bed bugs there) to change to this hotel and im glad we did as it really made out holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynneb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Salad Buri Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

Salad buri on salad haad is a little bit of heaven , it's not a five star hotel but is value for money in a great location with excellent food and drinks in house and nearby on the beach -a fantastic 3 tiered pool ,chilled out views -our room came with a spa which was isolated away enough other rooms have small plunge pools but some of these don't have full privacy butstill look great -staff are friendly -June was a great time to go not too crowded , taxis were able to be booked to the full moon party rtn for 400 baht each -definately worth a look in

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russrusslovemuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Beautiful accommodation, views from premier room were breathtaking. Very clean resort, staff very friendly and pleasant, good breakfast ( fresh eggs cooked how you like) great pancakes! Drinks and food prices reasonable.

The beach wasn't fantastic as the tide was out but is better further along. We didn't sit on the beach though as there are a lot of dogs fouling on it. This is a problem along the whole beach though and not really a salad buri problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Writing this review into the Salad Buri Resort & Spa it should be viewed in the context that my partner and I had a fantastic vacation and we would return.

Arrival & Welcome

Prior to our arrival at the resort, we arranged our transfers prior to our departure from the UK. When the ferry docked on the island of Koh Phangan and we disembarked we had no idea where our transport was located. After a few minutes walking around the dock we were told to walk towards the end of the pier (about 400 yards). At the end of the pier we did locate our transport. Following a 30 minute drive we arrived at 0900 and were given a very warm welcome and drink.

Accommodation

We booked a Premier Room which was a key element in making our time very memorable. The bedroom was big, very well presented, furnished with good quality sheets and an excellent air-conditioning system. We had plenty of room as we had a very big bathroom with a lot of storage and a Jacuzzi on a veranda overlooking the sea, quite unforgettable.

Food & Beverage

Prior to our arrival we had read a lot of reviews regarding the breakfast, some of which were not very complementary. It should be noted that the facilities in this hotel would be in a category of 4 to 5 stars, however, the breakfast should be viewed as 2-3stars. We were not disappointed with the food and beverage as it was of a good quality, however, the choice is very limited as to what you would expect with this type of resort.

We had dinner three out of the ten days we spent at the Salad Buri, the fish was quite outstanding and a reasonable in price. Again, the salads on display were good a fresh with very little choice, a plate of tomato, cucumber, onion and shredded cabbage leaves does leave a lot to be desired. It would be better if the hotel did not supply a free salad but charged for a salad as I am sure they would put more thought and preparation into it.

The beverage offer is very good, a good selection of beer and cocktails. Most days and evenings we would walk down the beach and call into a wide variety of local Thai restaurants and bars, all of which save you about 1/3 on what the hotel would charge.

Staffing

We were very impressed with the staff, most of which had a good understanding of English and made out time very enjoyable, however, at times there seemed to be a total lack of management and focus on customer service. The pool bar was never staffed and during the day you were hard pressed to find and member of the team to get you a drink or sort out the logistical set-up around the three pools which overlooked the sea.


Overall Experience

This was a five-star resort with at times a three-star service, however, we made this work for us, apart from a few very minor issues, most of which relate to the Management we had a absolutely fantastic time and we were made very welcome. Where possible to try to tip the staff, compared with life in Europe or America the staff are paid very little, a small tip goes a long way in making your time enjoyable. In

Room Tip: Book a Premier Room, on levels 1 to 3
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying-Dove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Very beautiful room with pool and nice sight. But the manager the hotel was very ill-bred and the breakfast was weak.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We have been here for 2 days and what you want is here for a GET AWAY FROM IT ALL HOLIDAY.
Its a great hotel for a peacefull relaxing time.
Dont expect FULL MOON PARTYS here.....its a relaxing resort.,
The staff are helpfull and friendly and will help you in any way they can.
Treat the staff well, as you are a visiter to their country, they are gentle , harmless people who will make your stay enjoyable, have a little respect.
There is a choice of other little bars and restaurants on the beach.
Once again ITS A RELAXING RESORT dont complain about the hotel its a great place to stay for A relaxing get away from it all holiday.

Room Tip: best views are from the higher levels
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

After reading positive reviews on here and the decent enough price for what is claimed to be a 5 star hotel we decided to book for 2 nights to stay for the Full Moon Party. All I can say is that this was an epic fail of an idea and this is why.......

Firstly it takes about 35mins along a winding hilly road from Haad Rin to the resort which is in Haad Salad. This costs between 200-250 THB per person. The journey would make anyone who suffers motion sickness VERY unwell. The actual road to the resort is not completed so you are basically driving over rough terrain and then you have to go down a very steep hill to reach the hotel reception. Our room was unfortunately at the top of this hill so after checking in had to walk back up it so therefore makes it unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

The rooms....what can I say....you probably couldnt swing a cat in there. They are tiny for 2 people and there was nowhere to store 2 suitcases. Our bathroom window looked on to the steep hill so anyone passing could see you in the shower so we had to keep the blind closed the whole time and it wouldnt even go down all the way. Room was very noisy at night with all the insects outside and constant passing carts/taxis/mopeds.

Hotel provided transport to the full moon party for 400 THB return however you'd have to travel on that hilly road and the taxis were only at set times and you'd be sharing with other hotels so you arent even gauranteed to get back when you want if the mini bus is full. Literally for us there was very little to do in the area, yeah there are some chilled beach bars but you feel like you're stuck in the middle of nowhere and if you are coming to Koh Phangan for the Full Moon Party I would definitely advise staying closer to Haad Rin so you are near the action and are able to walk back to your hotel when you want.

The beach area isnt very nice directly beside the hotel you have to walk another 500m to get to some decent sand to lie out on.

In the end we left after 1 night and are so glad we did even though we lost the full rate for the 2nd night. This hotel is probably ok for older couples looking for a relaxing break as the setting of the hotel is nice but maybe 2/3 days would be enough before you got bored. The one positive for this hotel is that the food at the restaurant is really nice and that's why I gave it 2 star instead of 1.

Room Tip: Stay in a poolside room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Little_R72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#14 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £29 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Resort And Spa
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing