We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Hotel on in a Gorgeous Spot...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel on in a Gorgeous Spot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here with my husband for a week in June in a Premier Room, the room was great; average size with a big bathroom and jaccuzi on the balcony, perfect to relax in but with a great pool and beach bars nearby, we didn't spend too much time there. They also have rooms with private pools that looked nice and spacious, they face the inside of the resort so don't really offer much privacy. Brekky's fairly limited but still good, eggs any way, fresh pancakes, a couple of Thai dishes, cold meats etc, toast & cereal- it covers the basics pretty well. The pool has 3 levels and was perfect to sit by, definately the best pool on the beach, plus as the tide's out from around June - August during the day on this side of the island and the water is quite shallow, the pool was fabulous for swimming. Bit of a shame the pool bar wasn't open, but there are quite a few restaurants and bars along the beach, the food is amazing in most of them and everyone is so friendly and happy. We didn't actually eat any meals at the resort so not sure about the food, but they had a few beach bbq's and there were always a lot of people there. There are a couple of places nearby that have hammocks in the bars too so you can swing and while away the hours with an ice cold beer and watch the sunset-heaven! Also a must is a visit to Cookies for a drink, a bar on the cliffside beside the resort - an amazing view, pool table, day beds and cane swing chairs overlooking the whole beach. There are a few massage places on the beach too, so cheap and so good, try Magic Hands and see Kun Tuk, she's amazing! Would definately go back to Haad Salad and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the side of the cliff need a bit of a climb but they have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    151
    93
    45
    50
See reviews for
99
214
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at Salad Buri Hotel last summer and I have to say it was brilliant. The rooms are spacious, modern, immaculately clean, comfortable beds and great air con. Staff are friendly and professional, the x3 pools are great and beach setting just picturesque. The food was great - especially on bbq night with fresh fish & food caught daily. If you like the extra touches and a bit more luxury then stay here. Myself and my boyfriend actually cut our stay at the Salad Beach Resort early (we caught bed bugs there) to change to this hotel and im glad we did as it really made out holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Salad buri on salad haad is a little bit of heaven , it's not a five star hotel but is value for money in a great location with excellent food and drinks in house and nearby on the beach -a fantastic 3 tiered pool ,chilled out views -our room came with a spa which was isolated away enough other rooms have small plunge pools but some of these don't have full privacy butstill look great -staff are friendly -June was a great time to go not too crowded , taxis were able to be booked to the full moon party rtn for 400 baht each -definately worth a look in

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russrusslovemuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Beautiful accommodation, views from premier room were breathtaking. Very clean resort, staff very friendly and pleasant, good breakfast ( fresh eggs cooked how you like) great pancakes! Drinks and food prices reasonable.

The beach wasn't fantastic as the tide was out but is better further along. We didn't sit on the beach though as there are a lot of dogs fouling on it. This is a problem along the whole beach though and not really a salad buri problem.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Writing this review into the Salad Buri Resort & Spa it should be viewed in the context that my partner and I had a fantastic vacation and we would return.

Arrival & Welcome

Prior to our arrival at the resort, we arranged our transfers prior to our departure from the UK. When the ferry docked on the island of Koh Phangan and we disembarked we had no idea where our transport was located. After a few minutes walking around the dock we were told to walk towards the end of the pier (about 400 yards). At the end of the pier we did locate our transport. Following a 30 minute drive we arrived at 0900 and were given a very warm welcome and drink.

Accommodation

We booked a Premier Room which was a key element in making our time very memorable. The bedroom was big, very well presented, furnished with good quality sheets and an excellent air-conditioning system. We had plenty of room as we had a very big bathroom with a lot of storage and a Jacuzzi on a veranda overlooking the sea, quite unforgettable.

Food & Beverage

Prior to our arrival we had read a lot of reviews regarding the breakfast, some of which were not very complementary. It should be noted that the facilities in this hotel would be in a category of 4 to 5 stars, however, the breakfast should be viewed as 2-3stars. We were not disappointed with the food and beverage as it was of a good quality, however, the choice is very limited as to what you would expect with this type of resort.

We had dinner three out of the ten days we spent at the Salad Buri, the fish was quite outstanding and a reasonable in price. Again, the salads on display were good a fresh with very little choice, a plate of tomato, cucumber, onion and shredded cabbage leaves does leave a lot to be desired. It would be better if the hotel did not supply a free salad but charged for a salad as I am sure they would put more thought and preparation into it.

The beverage offer is very good, a good selection of beer and cocktails. Most days and evenings we would walk down the beach and call into a wide variety of local Thai restaurants and bars, all of which save you about 1/3 on what the hotel would charge.

Staffing

We were very impressed with the staff, most of which had a good understanding of English and made out time very enjoyable, however, at times there seemed to be a total lack of management and focus on customer service. The pool bar was never staffed and during the day you were hard pressed to find and member of the team to get you a drink or sort out the logistical set-up around the three pools which overlooked the sea.


Overall Experience

This was a five-star resort with at times a three-star service, however, we made this work for us, apart from a few very minor issues, most of which relate to the Management we had a absolutely fantastic time and we were made very welcome. Where possible to try to tip the staff, compared with life in Europe or America the staff are paid very little, a small tip goes a long way in making your time enjoyable. In

Room Tip: Book a Premier Room, on levels 1 to 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying-Dove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Very beautiful room with pool and nice sight. But the manager the hotel was very ill-bred and the breakfast was weak.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We have been here for 2 days and what you want is here for a GET AWAY FROM IT ALL HOLIDAY.
Its a great hotel for a peacefull relaxing time.
Dont expect FULL MOON PARTYS here.....its a relaxing resort.,
The staff are helpfull and friendly and will help you in any way they can.
Treat the staff well, as you are a visiter to their country, they are gentle , harmless people who will make your stay enjoyable, have a little respect.
There is a choice of other little bars and restaurants on the beach.
Once again ITS A RELAXING RESORT dont complain about the hotel its a great place to stay for A relaxing get away from it all holiday.

Room Tip: best views are from the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#28 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#31 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#32 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#4 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#67 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Property: Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Buri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing