We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most expensive place on the beach - but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 days having stayed 3 days down at Bay Lounge on Ban Tai Beach, near the full moon party, for a chill out, relaxation and snorkelling. We booked a private pool villa with sea view. We were colleted from the pier for 150tbh per person - by private air-conditioned mini van. On arrival we saw the run down entrance with old construction equipment and wrecked car and fountian that looked in need of a good scrub (as others have mentioned here)
That aside the rest of the resort is really nice - just a shame they dont take care of the entrance, as first impression always count.

The reception area and staff were welcoming and freindly, speedy check in and transfer to our room. However, we booked a sea view room and what we got was a villa behind another block. We went back to reception and asked for what we paid for and were swiftly moved to a sea view villa, perfect! Its a shame we had spend the first hour mucking about.

The 3 tier pool is fantstic and right on the beach, with plenty of chairs, loungers etc. The pool bar was closed but i appreciate this is out of season and was no bother for our short stay. The Beach is fantastic the snorkelling for us however was not. Now we have been to egypt where the snorkelling is sensational so have probably been spoilt. There is a smaller beach 10 mins away by car that the reception staff said had the best snorkelling - we just didn't get that far.

The villa itself was everything you could ask for. The pictures on the website do not lie and they are imaculatly clean. I dont need to say anymore - you will not be dissapointed with the pool villas.The breakfast left a lot to desire tho. The food was left out for the flies to land on - not just a few mind, a swam. The eggs i had both days had shell in them. A little more care here and effort and it could be great.

The spa - is a row of massage beds screened off from the restaurant so dont be fooled here! we didn't use as it was more expensive than those on the beach also.

Try cookies's next door for absolutley fantastic food and superb coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teckiegirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at Salad Buri Resort and Spa for 2 days. We arrived from Chiang Mai and asked the hotel reception if they have a transfer from Koh Samui Airport to Koh Phangan. They told us that it was THB 1'000 per person for organizing the transfer (which is quite expensive for Thailand). We did not ask for a private transfer, but regarding the amount we thought it was. So the transfer was a private car (nice car) from Koh Samui airport (about 10min - the price for that is habitually THB 100 for the trip !) to the pier. The driver bought us two tickets for the public boat, and the cost for that was THB 200 per person. After two hours of waiting....an old boat took us to Koh Phangan. Then another driver was waiting for us...but the car was like a covered pick-up. We were only two people in this pick-up, but the average price was habitually for THB 200-300 for a same trip. So if my count is correct, for the global amount for the transfer should be max. THB 800 and not THB 2'000.

When we arrived for the check-in after 35 minutes of road, we said that we weren't statisfied about the transfer, that the amount was not correct for the service. The man at the reception told us that it was normal, because we asked for a private transfer. But we didn't ask for that. And we complained about the second car, but the same man told us that is because we are on an island and that is the kind of car on the island....

So this was a swindle....and it is not pleasant to be fooled....so when you say "it is a swindle" to the man at the hotel, the first thing I thought was that he would apologise for this, but he didn't. He was arrogant. We didn't expect a reimbursement, just apologises. Espacially when you arrived for a check-in, it is not a good experience to live after waiting two hours for a boat.

And we thought it was a swindle, because another man showed us that there was many different boat, with many different prices and many different hours.

For the way back, we had an air-conditioned mini-van to go to another pier (which was certainly the main on the island because it was bigger than the first one), a big boat from a big company, and this company included a transfer from the pier to everywhere on Koh Samui....this transfer cost us THB 500 per person, THB 1'000 for the transfer......no comment.... :o/

The room was really nice (even there was some strange red stain on the bathroom floor), and the people at the restaurant too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo_The_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

First of all we would like to say thank you for your commend, for the pick up service we had cooperate with the taxi company and boat company at Koh Samui and they already set their standard price, once you ask us to organize the transfer for you then we just call to that transfer company at Koh Samui for you. And for the boat that you say you have to wait for long time because of at that time their are no other boat company that running to Koh Phangan, there is just only Haad Rin Queen boat at that time, that why you have to wait at the pier for a long time. For the taxi that we offer you a private one because of you don't need to wait for the other people you just get in the car without waiting for more passenger. Whatever we have to apologies for this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

From first impressions until we finally saw the back of this place .. It was a shocker. The check in area smelt like a sewer, the person checking us in was unhelpful. Wifi had been down for four days and we had passed car wrecks at the entrance of the "resort". This place needs a change of management. We had a lagoon room full of Mosquitos. They couldn't arrange taxis. The restaurant staff were direct from the set of Faulty Towers but a lot less funny. They brought drinks that weren't ordered, the head guy put on a terrible Australian accent he thought was funny (we actually really appreciate the gentle Thai people so it is strange why this guy would want to emulate an Australian bogan with his owyagoin mate, how's it hangin' welcome). We were also forced to pay cash at the bar and restaurant instead of putting it on our bill. The cleaning staff were sensational. Poor things, at least we could leave!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Pilumitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Guest Relations Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear value guest

First of all, we would like to apologize for making you feel uncomfortable during your stay with us. According to your complaint, we would not rejected that the hotel management is not perfect. However, we would try our best to keep it up! Also, for the internet connection problem as well as a mosquito problem, these problems tend to be out of our control, but we have try our best to solve the problems. For the internet it is a problem with the main line and we did try to contact he company which located on the mainland. However, as during that period of time is SongKarn festival, so most of companies, includes government institutions are having a long holiday and this is why we could not reach internet company. However, we didn't leave this problem unsolved, we have contacted our internet maintenance which located on the island, once they come and check for the problem, they said that nothing we could do except from waiting to contact internet company. Secondly, as our hotel has a lot of trees and most of the areas that filled with water. So that is why there is a lot of mosquito around the hotel. Even though, this problem could not be controlled by the hotel, we did try to find the best way to solve for the problem, but it still not work well. Thirdly, we encourage guest to pay cash for their bills in the restaurant because we have experienced something like guest tell that the bill does not belong to them and the signature that signed on the bill also not their signature. Once such case happened guest would feel unhappy, so we try to avoid the problem.
Finally, we still hope that you will understand the condition of all problems that happened and also hope that we would have a chance to serve a better quality of services to you again in the future. Moreover, I would like to say thank you for your review, it really useful for us to improve our management style and quality of service. Again, I would like to apologize for every problems and inconvenience that you have faced during your stay with us. Also if you have decided to come back we are please you offer you some discount for repeat customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We didnt stay in this resort but only went there for a diner and it was one of the best ones we've had on Koh Phangan. The bbq was excellent - fresh fish very well done, free salad & soup and everything very tasty. Even the wine was very good which is very unusual.
The service was very good (of course it can get better in more touristy places or in towns) and we really enjoyed our time there sitting right next to the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Guest Relations Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review feedback, and we are glad that you like our service then we will maintain our service and keep it as our standard of service. For next time may be you can come to stay with us then we can offer you a good discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

First impressions of Salad Buri were good, but it wasn't long before we encountered the hotel's main problem - it's staff and the quality of service, and issues relating to credit cards. Before we arrived we'd checked recent TripAdvisor reviews and raised our concerns directly with the hotel's management, especially about the issue of credit cards. We'd been assured that they were unfounded and we could pay with credit cards.

This is a negative review - and we certainly wouldn't recommend anybody stay here, but Haad Salad as a beach, and Koh Phangan as an island, does have a lot to offer families and visitors. so please read to the end

This isn't really a hotel - it's a bed and breakfast, with a separate restaurant, pool bar, spa. You can't sign for food, drinks or treatments to your 'room'. You have to pay cash! Room service is cash! The reason given by the staff is that 'it's too separate companies; they make fewer mistakes; and it's easier for them to sort out. But they are forgetting one thing - we are the customers, not them. So much for saying we could pay with credit cards!

It's also not a 'Spa', that would require it to offer more that 5-6 mattresses on the floor divided by a wooden blind from the restaurant area! Our room had an outside jacuzzi, unfortunately it lacked privacy as it was on the main path from the hotel to the rooms and poorly screened.

With seven (four adults/three children) in our party we'd booked two lagoon villas, traditional Thai style with private splash pool for eight nights. The hotel isn't cheap and needs a lot of money spending to bring it up to spec and the expectations of its website. Everything looks a little tired, torn bedsheets are not what you'd expect from a hotel of this level. The pool loungers, and there are too few of them, many of those they have are covered in ragged cotton cloth. And there's obviously a lack of storage area for their maintenance equipment, with it left all over the outside of the hotel. On the issue of maintenance I'd also suggest that the hotel makes arrangements to remove a cement mixer and knackered old truck both to be found on the route down to the hotel and hardly condusive to the right impressions - we missed them on our arrival, but saw them on our first trip out.

Breakfast was hardly a relaxed affair. Queuing with up to 5-10 other guests for a simple omelette isnt on and the 'egg man' was often struggling to keep up. The trays of bacon, etc, were quickly emptied but too slowly refilled, and clingfilm isnt good enough to cover food up and keep off the flies. Staff refilling coffee would have made breakfast more relaxed - but that never happened.

Importantly they also need to invest more on their front of house staff. When asked why something's not been done properly, is late, etc, etc, the hotel's staff motto appears to be: 'We haven't got enough staff today'. Ultimately the problem is the manager wasnt available and appears to be based in Bangkok, you simply can't manage a hotel at distance.

The reception staff need reminding about the simplest instructions - extra pillows, etc. And to be asked to come back at a time more convenient to them to organise your own transfer off the island and back to Koh Samui and pay for it is totally unacceptable. And on the matter of transfers - they really are disorganised, with luggage often being unloaded to take on extra people with the baggage going seaprately by another vehicle.

Booking a taxi at a hotel of this apparent standard should be easy - but it's not at Salad Buri, who tried to charge 150Bahts per person - a total of 1050Bahts. When I returned to complain to the acting manager she quickly dropped to 750Bahts. You shouldnt have to haggle for a taxi. In reality it appears more a case of opportunism.

We were some of the lucky guests simply because our villas were at beach level, the majority of the other rooms are on a steep hillside, and while they can be reached by golf cart driven by staf you wouldnt want to find yourself down at the pool/beach and realise that you'd forgotten your sunglasses.

On a positive note - the rooms are clean, the cleaning and maintenance staff are friendly. That said, because many of them cant speak any English it is easy to see how upsetting events can happen. My sister and family were visited by an 8 inch gekko - totally harmless - but you don't really want to share a room with one. The same creature had visited the night before and they took the decison for all four of them to sleep in one one room, leaving the little critter with it's own room and en suite! So when it returned the next night they called reception and asked for assistance in removing it. A team of two duly arrived - and despite being told 'not to harm it' promptly set about trying to get it out with an 8ft long large bamboo cane. With my nephews both looking on horrified and us all demanding that it not be harmed, one of the staff jabbed it with the bamboo, it dropped to the floor dead leaving blood on the window and net curtain!!!

We ate only once in the restaurant and that was on the day we arrived - service was careless, mistakes were made in what we were given, and when we compared it to other restaurants on the beach it was expensive. Thankfully Haad Salad is home to a number of good places to eat, all of whom take credit cards with the usual 2-3% commission charge.

Snorkelling is good, once you clear the very low water in the bay, which can be a little tiresome. On the downside there are quite a lot of dogs on the beach who are quite territorial - not an enjoyable part of the holiday, especially for our nephews.

During our previous four visits to Thailand we have always been very happy with the quality of the hotels and their staff. Unfortunately the same can't be said of Salad Buri Resort, in fact I'm struggling to think of a worse hotel we stayed at in Thailand. The management will inevitably respond to our comments in this review, saying that they are doing all they can to improve the service, it's a shame they didn't do the same when we were actually at the resort and after we'd sought assurance that reviews were unfounded.

In hindsight we would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you book a Lagoon Villa, don't chose 2 or 3 as they are on either side of the main thoroughfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MetsandMates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Guest Relations Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear value guest

First of all, we would like to apologize for making you feel uncomfortable during your stay with us. We could not reject that the standard of services in our hotel does not reach the 5 stars hotel, but due to limited human resources we have already tried our best to provide best service to our customer. However, we understand that BEST in our word might not be best in our word, but what we are trying to explain to you is that we are never and did not mean to make our guest feel that they are careless. Moreover, I would like to explain some curtain things regarding to your negative review.

To begin with, the problem that we have to ask guest pay in cash when they have finished their meal our restaurant it is because we have experienced with a problem that once guest put everything on their room bill and will pay on check out which brings to many confusion. For example, the cashier in the restaurant confirmed that guest did owe the bill and ask to charge on the room, but guest tell that the bill does not belong to them and the signature that signed on the bill also not their signature. As such case happened then we have to believe what guest said and the cashier will be responsible for that pill by paying back to hotel. We have experienced such case for many times and such case make guest feel unhappy, so that why we try to reduce that problem by not allow charge on to the room bill. As well as for the room, it is the hotel policy that we required pre-paid. I knew that most of the hotel might not have such policy, but due to our accounting style we have to set this policy up. Our hotel is run by the local people, not any of the professional manager or company, so that is why our way of management might be too traditional and probably weird to you, but we would like to re-comfirm that we have try our best to meet our guest satisfaction. In addition to this, we accept that it not as good as what guests have been expected, but we always promised to ourselves that we will definitely keep it up.

Secondly, for the taxi fees, that is really the standard price. Every hotel on Haad-Salad would charged the same price. This is for private taxi, yes of course that outside taxi would charge for a cheaper rate, but that is a shared taxi where you have to wait until they got full passenger. I could guarantee that if you take n outside taxi and wanted to be private, you will be charge more than what you have paid to us.

Finally, we still hope that you will understand the condition of all problems that happened and also hope that we would have a chance to serve a better quality of services to you again in the future. Moreover, I would like to say thank you for your review, it really useful for us to improve our management style and quality of service. Again, I would like to apologize for every problems and inconvenience that you have faced during your stay with us. Also if you have decided to come back we are please you offer you some discount for repeat customer.

Best Regards
Cattaliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We recently stayed in a private pool villa. The resort itself is very nice. The public pool area was very nice and the beach that the hotel is on has a great relaxed vibe. While the rooms were a bit of a hike up the hill, the staff were completely obliging in taking us up in a cart when asked. Initially we were very happy with our villa when we first arrived. The problem that became apparent was there is a serious mould problem. I am allergic to mould and found sleeping very difficult. In the morning we asked to move rooms, which they accommodated, however the second room was only marginally better. It seems the problem is the rooms never receive any direct sun. Other downsides were that the private pool was surprisingly cold (again, maybe due to not getting any sun) and the restaurant guy was too pushy/aggressive in trying to get us to have dinner there. He asked us 5 times in one day...Overall we had a great time, but not sure we could stay here again given the mouldy rooms. Shame really.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review feedback, I will take this seriously issue to the meeting and we will fixed its immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel is in very pleasant surroundings, but definitely not the billed 5 Star quality!! Towels are torn, beach lounges show their ware and tear. Staff is not as fluent in english as in Bankkok and in Koh Samui. The beach leaves much to be desired. Water is shallow and stony.
The food at the restautant is very good and reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review feedback, I will take this issue to the meeting and we will fixed its immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
549 reviews
5.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#28 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
324 reviews
1 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#35 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £28 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Resort And Spa
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing