We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
132
179
123
55
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
179
123
55
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad beach private pool villa golf buggies koh phangan dinner on the beach salad hut full moon party restaurants and bars big bathroom beautiful resort white sand ate here rent a scooter low season thai food laid back pools
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Haad Salad is a picture postcard bay and staying at the Salad Buri for 4 nights was an absolute pleasure. We had one of the tree-top rooms with a bath on the balcony. The views were amazing, the room was superbly decorated. We really couldn't find a fault with this place - perhaps the restaurant isn't the best - we preferred Salad Hut and Cookies but apart from that we loved it.

Room Tip: Choose the tree top rooms for an amazing view - yes its a bit of a walk up the steps but it's no big deal.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Location- peaceful and quiet. Good for couples and families looking for peaceful isolated location. However there are few restaurants on the shore and if u rent a scooter many more options are open for u. The beach itself is gorgeous, similar to beaches around it just more quiet.
Hotel- clean and beautiful. We had the private pool villa, like mentioned here there is a climb but the view is amazing, we had a scooter so it wasn't an issue...
Breakfast-very basic nothing special at all. Therefore we did not had dinner at the restaurant and ate on the beach. The best place by far is had salad villa. Good food and atmosphere in a very reasonable price.
Attractions-we took a snorkeling tour which is very recommended, since the hotel was not helpful at all and even though they have a tour like that, they were just not in the mood to help, so we took it from had salad huts next door- the tour is called "no woman no cry" they pick u up 11:00 and stop in different beaches around, it includes some relaxing time and lunch in bottle beach and bring u back 16:30. Had a great time!
Stuff- this is the only time I met unfriendly Thai people! They just don't want to help, they are rude, never smile. Seriously it was everytime we came with a question or request or even when we just said hello. Doesn't give u a good feeling at all, very unwellcoming... So if u think u can ignore it ( we had a hard time) and only then, I recommend to stay in salad buri.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netnete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiancee for a couple of nights in February. I have during my travels stayed at a lot of hotels and resorts, ranging from small hostels up to 5 star Las Vegas resorts. This place is one of the worst experiences I've ever had at a hotel.

The good: The resort with surroundings, pool area and houses on the hill looks very good. From the outside.

The bad: I'll have to split this up in sections.

Staff - this is not your average super friendly Thailand staff. Here you will be greated with snobby faces and false smiles. They are not going to help you with anything more than what's absolutely necessary. The whole being nice part just feels like a poorly rehearsed charade.

Service - when we wanted to check out early (7am) there was no one around to check us out, despite the reception was supposed to be open. The only staff available was the cleaning lady which didn't know any English. They ended up calling some middle manager and waking her up so she could do her job.

Rooms - We booked a small room, 20 square meters, and was well aware of this before hand. Still, this must have been the worst planned 20 square meters on earth. Half the room was a bathroom with a huge oversized shower area (we're talking 4 sqm for just the shower) and big toilet. The living room part of the room was just a bed. Nowhere to store our bags (had to keep them in the toilet) and nowhere to do anything basically than just stay in bed. This was not a room with jacuzzi or private pool, I'm sure they are better. Also the telephone in our room didn't work, so we couldn't call the front desk to ask for help bringing our suitcases down the hill, and this is a steep hill so you can't carry them down, you need a car.

Pool and amenities - although a very nice pool in three steps, we were promised upon booking that the pool would have an open bar in it with a bartender. There was a bar area in the pool, but it wasn't open. Instead they used the bar to store trash and broken tables in, not very 4-starish if you ask me. Also, all the rooms are situated on a very steep hill. You have to be in good health to book a room here. Although you might get a golf cart to drive you up the hill, they can't drive you all the way, you still have to walk some very steep steps. The spa is really not a spa, it's just a beach hut performing the common thai oil massage and the other stuff you get on a beach massage.

Restaurant - the breakfast is very poor with few choices. Worst thing is that although the breakfast buffet opens at 7 am, almost nothing was prepared by then, and we needed a quick breakfast before checking out. At 7.20 am some of the staff finally stopped sweeping the floor, which was already clean, and started preparing the empty trays. We also had lunch here one day, which really was just awful. It was canned food which they just briefly heated on the stove before overcharging us for it. You would do well to go either to Cookies just to the left of this place and up to hill, or down the beach to the right to a place called Salad Hut. Both have fantastic food and staff.

All in all I felt this place really ruined my stay att Koh Phangan as a whole and I would highly recommend staying anywhere else on that island if you want that relaxed feeling.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. To begin with the first point of fact is that most of the hotels on Koh-Phangan have experienced with employee shortage, including our hotel. Therefore, some of the hotel's operation might be a bit delayed from the settled schedule. Also, we do not reject that our staffs are not as good as those high standard hotel, but we did train our staff to do the best as they can to satisfy customer's needs and wants. Due to the lack of employee, it is necessary for us to temporary cut the pool bar service. In addition, for the breakfast we will need to keep improving on that. All in all, I admit it that We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We've had a great time in this resort. First impression was not the best. We asked the night before for the transfer, that never appeared at the pier when we arrived. So, we needed to take the songtheaw for a more expensive and not so comfortable trip. We explained at the reception, and the guy didn't care. That was not a good visit card.
But, that was the only negative aspect.
The hotel is located up on a hill in a beutiful bay, with a overwhelming view from all the rooms.
The beach is not crowded, has other cheaper resorts, with some hippie people, although the hotel guests are adult couples and families.
You have the option to book a longtail boatprip to go snorkelling and meet other beutifull beaches at the hotel. That was a very nice experience. Or you can stay just relaxing at the pool, or having a swim at the sea in the high tide (the beach is not swimable at the low tide).
At night the hotel have a nice restaurant, with some tables at the beach sand where you can have a delicious meal, in a very romantic environment. The staff are icredible polite and friendly. They help you with everything.
Rooms are well decorated, have nice view, are clean, and the bathroom is spacious. At night you can have a visit of friendly geko outside your window!
We will definitly stay here again if we come back to Phangan.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top hill have a nice view to the beach, although you have to climb a hilly stairs. But not a problem if you're in shape.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utopian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Our Value Guests

First, we would like to apologize for making you disappointed at your first arrival date to the hotel. However, we are pleased to here that you were feeling happy afterward. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After being stuffed around by other places we decided to stay here. To be honest is was the best decision we made! The location was beautiful, the view outstanding and the staff simply amazing! Overall the staff made our experience the best part as they were so friendly and hospitable especially Rico, the reception staff!!! Becides the cute local kids, Rico made our holiday!!
If your looking for a nice relaxing resort style holiday stay here!

Room Tip: be aware you may have to climb a few stairs, but its not THAT bad
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyssa189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews