We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great location not too great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel great location not too great staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

i arrived with my wife on our honeymoon to salad buri resort. the rooms were pretty comfy. we had the most beautifull view you can ask for. the rooms are up on a clif you need to climb(98 stairs). if your not in good health shape you should only stay at the ground floor.
the resort has 3 very nice pools. with great.the service there was bad. the front desk are a bit rude and not too kind,couple times i came to ask something and i was replied with a very short and with a terrible english, the day before i left i saw a pretty looking guest talking to the guys at the front desk and their english became perfect. my wife saw some of the hotel staff looking at her getting dressed behind the window and when i called the front desk i was replied:"what do you want me to do?" - not the answer you want to hear when your wife is crying and affraid there is a perver working at the hotel she is staying at. the breakfast is very poor.
bad staff treatment but a great facilities.

Room Tip: if you can climb choose hight level rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shachaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    158
    97
    48
    51
See reviews for
107
222
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

don't go there even if this is the last place on earth !
they are LIARS ! and DECEIVING their customers
I booked the hotel through Expedia and arrived there to see that I was already charged for the room
I had to check out early because we had an emergency and we talked to the hotel manager before leaving - she said it is fine by her and the hotel and that we should talk to Expedia for a refund
We've ordered the grand deluxe room and for some reason got a really small room and not the room that we've invited so we had to get a refund also for the room time because we were downgraded without our knowledge and will
after we checked out we asked for our refund and the hotel refused - they just lied to our faces
they tried to say that they have upgraded us (from a 44 squared meters room to a 15 squared meters - very logical)
and refused to come forward and compensate us for all the distress and just kept on lying to us and laugh in our face
I've never encounter such behavior
don't go there even if this is the last place on earth
they are liars ! and deceiving their customers

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel but this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40Orc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Most Value Guest

Dear Our value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel.

As we have talk about this kind of issue via email for several times and I think I have explain to you clearly. However, I feel more than happy to explain this to you again. Lets begin with the first point, the main problem that you have made a complaint is about the refund. So, please try to be open minded and please listen to my reason for the fund, it is the hotel policy and it has been stated clearly in the booking provided by every single agencies who have the contract with us. If you are looking form our site, you will never give a complaint of early check out and get no refund. I will take this opportunity to explain this to you clearly, since you we have received the booking we do block the room for guest, which mean that we have already lost the opportunity to sell this room to others and once the guest arrive we suddenly want to cancel the booking and ask for the money back. How can we do that? If you read clearly about the cancellation policy we did stated clearly that any cancellation made 7 days before your arrival date will be free of charged, but later than that the whole amount will be charged. The rules have been set and we must handle it. Lastly, about the taxi, there is a cost occur in proving any service. These are all details that I would like to explain and hope that you would somehow understand.

Second, you said we are LIARS and I would like to tell you right here that NO WE ARE NOT. We did give you a free upgrade due to there is a problem with the original room that you have booked for and to be honestly the room that we offer you is better, bigger and more expensive than the original room that you have booked for. This is an emergency case and it is the hotel's responsibility to fix the problem, so we did offer a free upgrade. You can look at any agency's websites and you will see that we did really offered you with a better room.

Only one last thing, although, we are not the best hotel, but we do have our own ethic. WE WILL NEVER DOWN GRADE OUR CUSTOMER. Also we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction.

Best Regards
SALAD BURI"S teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Inuvik, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

PROS: most of the rooms have a beautiful view overlooking haad salad. resort as a whole is very nice. the rooms themselves are nice and cozy. in a nice, quiet part of the island. beds were comfy and housekeeping did a great job. CONS: bathroom sink was leaking excessively everywhere and instead of fixing it or giving us a new room i was handed a towel by the front desk (no apology or anything). "free wi-fi" barely worked during the five nights i was there and when it did it was painfully slow (not acceptable for the prices being paid). some of the restaurant staff was brutally overbearing and rude while others seemed to not care at all. also they would just grunt at you and never smile (with the exception of one good waiter!). 3 burnt out light bulbs in room. and THE BIG ONE......rented a scooter off of the company affiliated with the resort and i admit i scratched up the bike a little bit. went to return the bike and was absoutely taken to the cleaners. told me that every little scratch meant they had to charge me for the whole brand new piece at an inflated price no less! since they had my passport there was nothing i could do as i had to leave the island. told me he was giving me a good deal, but it couldnt have been further from the truth! really put a big sore spot on my vacation. if you are going to rent a motorbike DO NOT do it through the hotel, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. According to the internet connection problem, as most of the rooms are located up on the hill, so the connection may not extremely reach. However, now this problem is in process to be fixed. We have bought more signal distribution and put it in front of every room. So, the internet connection is soon going to be much better. In addition, about the motorbike if you have a chance to deal or rent with the out source company, I would guarantee that you will change your words. We would like to welcome you to our place agin and will still offer a special deal for returning guest. Wish you all the best and have a great time

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 wonderful nights here. Well decorated rooms, large spacious bathrooms polite and sociable staff. Great location right on salad beach and just a taxi ride and longtail away from bottle beach. Good food, decent prices and very clean.We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We arrived in Ko Phangan and found that the hotel forgot to send a taxi to pick us up. This was the only negative point worth mentioning! The location is second to none and I think Salad Buri is the best place to stay on Salad bech. Rooms are big and clean with all the conveniences you may need. Breakfast is also good and enjoyable. As for the reviews mentioning long hike to their bangalow I suggest to stay in superior double room which is in the main building, located close to the beach and pool, and at least for us more than adequate. it is also cheaper than bungalow although views from higher huts are stunning.
Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

At hte first sight everything is fine however after you see the real thing. The rooms are a not in front of the sea, so the sea view is not the best, just if you are on the higher levels in the top of the hill. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are huge but not new. The swimmingpool is the best thing in this hotel. In the restaurant you dont find many good options in the menu and the problem is thatthere are plenty of flys alll around... there are lame dogs walking inside the restaurant as some cats appearing. Another negative point about the hotel is that it is so far from the downtown, takes around 45 minutes from there. The last point, but not less important is that we had a big trouble with the room service, my sister left usd 200 hidden in the room and it was stolen, so if you choose to stay there, please always use the safe, even if you think that the value you have is well hidden somewhere.

Room Tip: take the higher levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. In addition, we always warn guest that please put your valuable things in the safety box provided in the room. We have no ability to protect or secure all guests valuable things, so the guests themselves need to protect their own belonging. The safety boxes have been provided in every rooms in our hotel, so please use it. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I cant wait to return to this hotel
it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in all over the world.
Staff are more than accommodating and nothing was to much trouble for them
they even set up a dinning area on the beach for me and my family for my Husbands Birthday.
Its right on the beach and 3 lovely pools
food was very good, the manager takes his speed boat out every day and catches the fish you can eat in the restaurant.
we even hired the speed boat woo hoo

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac831-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
613 reviews
9.5 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Property: Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Buri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing