We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely staff, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hut Sun Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hut Sun Bungalows
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“lovely staff, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in one of the wooden fan huts. The hut was small but we only used it for sleeping, it had a mosquito net, hammock and hot water so we were chuffed.you can even use your own lock on these huts. Its right on the beach and theres a great bar down the beach. The staff were really friendly and chatty and the food was amazing. We also rented a scooter which was really new and a good price. There was no fuss. We would have stayed longer but they were fully booked, watch out for the canine flip flop thief!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingwolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    15
    2
    14
See reviews for
8
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hut Sun for about a week in November, and had a wonderful time. We stayed in one of the rooms below the main reception area for 300Baht per night, and although it wasn't a luxury room (no turndown service or AC), it perfectly suited our needs. The woman running things while we were there, Ging, was a really nice woman and we had no problems with the scooter we rented for the whole week--plus the food at the restaurant was good. The beach is just a short walk and is really clean with nice soft sand and at the time we were there it was not crowded at all. Ging was also very helpful in helping us book our travel back to Bangkok and setting up taxis on the island. I would highly recommend this place for anyone on a budget who doesn't need a whole lot of frills :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Hut Sun is a no frills resort, they are decent and hard working people but they can not do high-end. So the new beach facing bungalow is over prices for the facilities it includes and doesn't quite match up to its billing.

The other bungalows are more reasonably priced with a short walk to the sea or resort's restaurant. We have been there as a couple and as a family and enjoyed the hospitality. You need to be clear and simple with your expectations and you will love the quirkiness of the place.

The owner is Ging and she is an astute business woman who enjoys a bargain which could be considered rude but it is her livelihood after all.

The location is quiet especially if you want the madness of Haad Rin but there are many bars/restaurant along the way. A good one is Crave in Haad Yao opposite 7/11. If you like the hardcore trance music, then Pirate's Moon Set party is a short walk along the beach. On a quiet night, they'll play your ipod in return for drinks. the dance floor is on the sand and one over looks the bay.

Room Tip: Number 6 Bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Hi,

2 friends of mine and myself went to Hut Sun last month and we stayed there 3 days.
Place is ok, rooms are good value regarding price (it was at low season though) and location is nice. Except for the mosquitos but this is mother nature's fault..
First negative point: the owner. She is very stressful so don't go there if you want to relax! She keeps speaking to you very fast so she could sell you anything and get anything from you as you just want her to stop talking and stressing you out like this..
Other negatice point: the owner again... We rented 3 scooters and it was dark when we took them. We checked everything and they were taking notes on the contract. However, when we returned the bikes the owner asked for 3000 bahts to one of my friend as she said he had an accident because of some scratches. We did report the scratches on day 1 but apparently they didn't write them down on the contract. Everything was planned to scam us! Careful when you rent a scooter, always double check any scratche and report it on the contract!!! Again, ok place but very bad owner...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jotapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place is fine for the amount you pay. There's no daily clean of your room, it's not in a good location, it says beach view... But it's more like a slither of beach view, and the beach sucks. No biggy though.
The staff are nice enough and te food is a good price, and tastes pretty good.

Don't hire a moped from these guys!! My friend and I watched as they tried to con a couple into paying to replace a panel that had been scratched (apparently by them...) and staff wouldn't give their passports back!

We had a aircon room, and it was nice enough!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Never before have i felt so much anger about a hotel.
All rooms where full but mine.. I got a room in the basement. After seing it I agreed to pay 300 B a night and booked it for 7 days..The room was nothing speciel but it had a shower, toilet and a madres on the floor.
I didnt expect much for the price.. But the nigthmare began after 7 pm.
3 dogs was living just outside my door and everytime someone passed on the road they barked.. All night..
The room temperature was about 45 degrees and only posibility to cool it down was to open windows and door. The fan in the room was very noisy and not and option.
At 2 am other hotelguest was extremely noisy in the restaurant just upstairs.. Staff didnt mind doing anything about it.
The garden in the hotel is a dumping ground.
The following morning I asked to get my money back and got it exept for that one nigth i stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelRefslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We where very close to the sea. We just got there without a booking and had a great time. If you like luxory and warm water, or you don´t like dogs than don´t go there. We loved the sunset and we relaxed a lot when we stayed there. Perfect price and the food was ok, but not the best there is on the Island. Sometimes the staff was very friendly, sometimes a bit moody. Especialy the lady´s. But the boys are superfriendly!! If you walk 10 minutes to the right than you will find a lot off cute and good restaurants. It´s up to you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan84neke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.1 mi away
Phangan Cabana Resort
Phangan Cabana Resort
#61 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Chao Phao Bungalows & Hostel
Haad Chao Phao Bungalows & Hoste...
#183 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Benjamin's Hut
Benjamin's Hut
#10 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#16 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paragon Spa Resort
Paragon Spa Resort
#1 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hut Sun Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hut Sun Bungalows

Property: Hut Sun Bungalows
Address: 48 Moo 8 Chaophao Beach | Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hut Sun Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hut Sun Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hut Sun Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing