We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back”
Review of Dewshore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dewshore Resort
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed here for three nights. Although my bungalow was very nice and right on the beach, I did not enjoy my stay. In three nights/four days, I did not see a staff member smile once. I would say hello in both Thai and English and barely got an acknowledgement. When I asked for an extra towel for the beach on the first day, I was told there were two (bath) towels in my room. My room was not cleaned once during my stay and I had to ask for a second roll of toilet paper when I ran out on the third day. I used bottled water for everything so my garbage was overflowing with trash and empty bottles since the room was not cleaned. I hoped to take a nap in the hammocks on the beach in the afternoon but the children of the staff were running around and playing every afternoon. I don't mind kids, but when trying to relax I would have preferred to not have them underfoot or in the pool with me every day.

You can't really swim on this part of Koh Phangan since the water is so shallow. Be careful when walking in the water. The rocks and coral are very sharp! There is nothing along the road in this area of Ban Tai except some other guest houses on the beach, a mini mart, and a few restaurants/bars. I took a taxi to Thong Sala one night and wasn't impressed with that part of the island either. I went to Koh Samui for one night after Koh Phangan and wish I had stayed in Samui during my whole visit instead.

I would not recommend Dew Shore unless you like surly staff, a boiling hot pool, and an un-swimmable beach.

Room Tip: R5 and R6 are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GF_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surasak K, Owner at Dewshore Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We are sorry to hear that you found us unfriendly after all the special requests that we happily met for you. We enjoy welcoming people from all over the world and have many returning customers that we count as our friends.

There is a sticker system if you wish your room to be cleaned please set it to green, as you left yours on red for your stay we did not interrupt your privacy and come to clean the room. You can just set it to green or simply mention it to any member of staff and we will happily clean your room.

At your time of stay it was the school holidays and there were other families staying with children. Please note that the resort have only one child here. The hammocks and pool are generally quite empty. (Every outside pool will heat up in the sun, we have never had a complaint that it is too hot). Depending on the time of year and month the swimming conditions in the sea can vary.

Yes, if you prefer wall to wall commercialism then Samui is preferable, Part of Koh Phangan's charm is that it is still fairly undeveloped. There is plenty to do here and the resort is ideally located for those who wish to trip out further afield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    36
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
25
51
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sarahlou29
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Loved this place. Right on the beach, so chilled and away from the madness of the Full Moon Party. Could've stayed here forever!
We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms which were ok, nothing special. Could do with a lick of paint that's all. Outside of the rooms definitely made up for it.
Great food too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlou29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

At September 2012 we stayed here for the third time. It´s our 6.th trip to Thailand and one thing is true: Dew Shore is one of the best places to have a pleasant time on Koh Phangan.The bungalows are new and very clean with AC and refrigerator. The swimming pool is top integrated in the area and invites you to spend a lot of relaxing time inside. Aung and Porn, the owner of the resort are very helpful and friendly. When you´ll do something special like fishing with original Thai fisherman or so on, tell it to Aung an the trip get´s true.Oh yes, the fresh food cooked by the family is really excellent. Ask especially for a Red Snapper in the morning and you will get in the evening the best fish (try it with the homemade Thai curry!!) you have ever eaten !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I actually stayed at this resort in August 2010 and have been meaning to sort myself out and write a review since. This resort is brilliant and we had a fantastic stay here. The Thai family that own the resort and so friendly and helpful, they really couldn't do enough for us. Value for money is excellent and with the bungalow we had, breakfast was included. This was anything you wanted from the breakfast menu up to a certain amount (I had pancakes and milkshakes/hot sandwiches & drink) The cabins are beautiful. We stayed in one right by the sea that has stunning views across to Koh Samui. The tide moves in and out so quickly it is fascinating to watch, as are the tropical storms! Swimming pool is well maintained. As this resort is family run and small, everything is cooked fresh and by the family. The Thai curries were some of the best I had in Thailand. You can walk from the resort onto the dust road which has small convienience shops, some selling cans Chang for as cheap as 11p. You can also walk down the road to a restaurant that has sea food which was lovely. The family also told us how to flag down a taxi to get to Haad Rin which is the main town and where the full moon party is. Stunning ride over the hilltops - just fairly bumpy so hold on tight. Obviously I came here 2 years ago so things may have changed, but I doubt it. Thai life is so relaxed I imagine it is just as perfect now as it was then.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and go for the huts right by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravellingNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hi all,

i normally dont write reviews but after spending a week there in Feb 2011 i have felt compelled to write something after looking back at my old photos.

I stayed at Dew Shore for the full moon party with two friends and it was awesome. they were so accommodating to our requests that we felt like family. it was the BEST place i stayed in thailand. i enjoyed it sooo much at one point i actually had forgotten what day and time it was!

Kiel behind the bar (i think thats how you spell it) was the best barman IN THE WORLD. oh and the accommodation although it is a but rustic, is absolutely exceptional. even when the weather was bad, the quietness and tranquility really relaxes you. yo can just sit in your bungalow having a singah and listening to the waves lap against the rock wall of the beach.

the only bad thing that i had to come across was having to leave. i plan on going back soon and i am taking my girlfriend with me.

if you dont mind the 15 minute walk up the road to the local 7eleven then you will never run out of anything or just buy it from the kitchen.

im not sure if the owners will ever read this but i thank them for accommodating me and my two friends in February 2011 and giving me an experience that i will never ever forget.

Room Tip: The best room by far is R5. i cant remember if it was ac or fan or not but being next to the water i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Lovely and helpful from the first email. Gave me low season prices instead of peak, he said because they were quiet but everywhere was getting booked! Offered free pick up from another resort, but when asked they couldn’t do because the van was out! Did give us a free drop off at pier though.

Bizarre when we got there, no greeting, just someone came took the bags showed us the room that was it! Nothing about the place, taking of passports nothing! Seemed very odd, but the place is just so laid back I think it’s just a symptom!

Staff are lovely, beach isn’t great but when we were here it was really really quiet, no more than a dozen people ever around the pool. Nice pool with Jacuzzi. Only slightly annoying by early evening that staff children come in with no regard to paying customers in or around the pool! Soaking you etc. Loads of sunbeds, don’t what it would be like busy but fantastic quiet!

Food is good, although breakfast isn’t great but we didn’t have good breakfast anywhere really. Have the garlic and pepper mixes. No ice cream here though! Bit of a downer with a child and quite a surprise, but a short walk (turn left) out of the resort and you can get some.

The rooms are big, very clean and new. Only thing that lets it down is that the bathroom is small, odd design when the room is so big they could have made the bathroom bigger. Also the shower is set far too low so you can’t stand under it.

No beach towels here which for the price and type of resort is a surprise, but you get towels changed every day if you want. Our 4 year old got his own towel too which isn’t the case in every place!

Fair enough comments aboutthe towels and sheet (although we didn't have holes or ants), didn't think about that not getting changed! Yes compared with properties of similar price I did expect beach towels, also the standard of everything else it was a surprise that they didn't have them, they should, it would make a lot of difference.

If you have washing here get it ironed. When we got the washing back it was really screwed up which didn’t happen in other places.

Bar next to the pool which plays music too loud! Quite unnecessary, no-one was round the bar and only a few people round the pool. One evening I did ask them to turn it down so my son could get to sleep and he did with no problem. Service at the bar is incredibly slow, I’ve never seen anyone get drinks and pour so slowly in my life!

The place really grows on you, I loved it. We stayed at 5 places, if we’d known what we do now we would have spent longer here and dropped Cookies without a doubt.

3% charge on credit card payments when at resort.

Room Tip: You cannot beat the view out of R5, the room at the end, sit at the big window lying back and just l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheComplainingCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DewShoreBungalows, Public Relations Manager at Dewshore Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your great comments we offer our apologies regarding your laundry and this has been addressed although I am certain is an isolated incident. Extra towels are also available at reception, please don't hesitate to ask for anything extra you may require to make your stay with us complete. Kind Reagards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed in the Dew Shore Bungalow several times when i visited Koh Phangan. Its located directly by the Beach, has a nice Pool and well maintained Garden. I love the Flowers all around and the tidiness of the whole place. The rooms are very nice with dark wooden Floors (Teak?) with a big Bed, high ceiling and a nice terrace in front. The owners are a local family and have always been very friendly and welcoming. Most of the time i also rent a motorcycle right there as it is a good value service. I can fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ders2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.1 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#45 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Morning Star Resort
Morning Star Resort
#74 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Awe Resort
Awe Resort
#82 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sea Love Bungalows
Sea Love Bungalows
#23 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
738 reviews
4.7 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#13 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewshore Resort

Property: Dewshore Resort
Address: 99/1 Moo1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dewshore Resort is a family-run resort. It has large spacious bungalows and a beautiful swimming pool. The place is easy to reach from Thongsala and Haadrin. Beautiful views to Koh Samui over the beach. Free high speed Wifi and great local cooked food at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dewshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dew Shore Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing