We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so smiley,overpriced not a beach resort! Go elsewhere!”
Review of Haadsalad Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haadsalad Resort
Ranked #73 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so smiley,overpriced not a beach resort! Go elsewhere!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfrien and I have booked a double room/bungalow for 10 days over Christmas and new year at Smile Beach Resort. Despite the bad reviews we thought we'll give it a go as the description from the from the management was perfect:
1) "We have Internet cafe and wi-fi"
2) "1-2 minutes walk to beautiful and secluded beach"
3) "You can enjoy to playing pool table, DVD player and game, to watching television (sport & movie) and relax to the sound of music in the seathing area" 4)"Prices are quite reasonable for such surroundings and our friendly services. That makes you feel welcome"
Really????
1) Internet cafe and wifi? Forgot to mention that ITS NOT FREE. They charge double the price for to use their computers in comparison with prices elsewhere.
If you want to pay for wifi it's a rip off. Double the price comparing with other internet cafes. First place in Southeast Asia where you have to pay for wifi! They have this deal that if you eat at their restaurant then you get coupon for free minutes but have to spend minimum of 100B. For each 100B it's a 1minute for free.
2) don't know how fast they walk but it's not 1-2 min walk,even if it is for some they don't say that you are walking to a very small strip of sand that you have to lay next to eachother like sardins. Beautiful each? they havent see beautiful beaches in their life! Everything like hotels,bars,massage places are build up so close to the sea that there is very little beach left. When the tide goes out the beach is risonable size but that's after the sunset!
3) yet again they forgot to mention that if you want to enjoy playing pool table you have to PAY FOR IT (unless you eat at their restaurant then you get a coupon for free game).
Playing games and watching TV at the seating area? Have been there 10 days and only people who are using the seating area and watch TV are the staff when they are bored. It seems like hotel guests are not allowed to sit there,looks more like staff area only.
4) reasonable prices? for such surroundings? friendly services? That makes you feel welcome?

Overpriced for a room where are full of cockroaches(see picture) Room is only cleaned every 3rd day and that's what they say. Your job is to remember when your room needs cleaning and have to remind them by leaving your room key with them. You also allowed 1 toilet paper a day otherwise you have to pay. I wonder why they are called SMILE beach resort if non of them smile! Never felt welcome especially after we raised concern about the wifi with the skinny owner. There is nothing to do in Haad Salad so renting a scooter is a must. If you want to go to full moon party it's about 40 min drive to haad rin. I would suggest stay in tongsala-more things to do there if you don't want or cant rent a scooter, but still far from the craziness that is going on in haad rin.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND SMILE BEACH RESORT! Waste of money and time! Can get much better for less!
The only good thing about this place is food, cooked from fresh!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvieWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Owner will charge for small almost invisible scatches an absurd amount of money. Also expect running water noises that might disturb your sleep in the bungalows. Guy at reception is obnoxious. Overall bad experince and service

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

No doubts about this place; location is perfect, ambiance is perfect, hygiene is perfect. Just do it! (Just the wifi is a bit of a problem, but the bar at the beach has free wifi so it'll work there) if the full moon party is here you know it's gonna be busy so deal with it, without the party it's very peacefull and quiet. I would recommend it!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here having decided to move to Haad Salad from elsewhere on the island, so we asked at a few resorts to see where we could get a room. We ended up in the smallest ac bungalow here as they didn't have any bigger ones left - it was ok but pretty small, so I'd recommend paying a bit more for a bigger one (we paid 700 baht a night, but for every 2 nights you got a third free so it worked out very cheap). The resort is very quiet & pretty, and although it's not directly on the beach it's only a couple of minutes walk. It's only a few minutes walk from the shops, motorbike hire & taxis. Each bungalow has a covered terrace with a hammock and seating, which was great to sit on during a rainstorm! The bungalow was clean and had a wardrobe with a safe inside, which was useful. My only complaint is that it had a bit of a damp smell at times. Don't know if others were the same. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times, the food was ok and it was cheaper than most other places. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

For the price we paid I cannot complain, we paid around $10 AUD per night and had a small fan room. The weather was good for the most part so we could avoid being in the room. The restaurant was great value compared to the other restaurant in Haad Salad. Internet was 2 Baht per minute which was disappointing but if you were happy eating in their restaurant they gave you 1 minute for every 10 Baht spent. If I were to go back I would pay that little extra and book a better room. Overall nice stay and a good base to see the island. It was full moon party week when we were their so we got a taxi to Hat Rin, 40 min taxi ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyKing91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

5 of us stayed here in late November 2012 for 5 nights in a 5 bed bungalow. It was a bit of a wash out so we ended up spending most of our time in the restaurant/bar at the Smile Beach resort. The owners were very attentive but not intrusive, the drinks selection was great and so was the food! We ate there for every single meal excluding two over the 5 days! We asked for a recommendation on the curries and we were told to have the Myanmar curry, which was outstanding!! Between the 5 of us we must of had it about 6 times, even for breakfast one day!! We asked for the recipe, but they went one step further and the next time we ordered it they took us in to the kitchen to watch and join in with cooking it! When ever we asked for advice they went out of there way to help.
We ended up hiring a 4x4 to look round the island while it was pouring down with rain! The bungalow isn't amazing but it is well worth the price we paid!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This resort is located on one of the most beautiful beaches on Pha Ngan, which, despite its party reputation, is also home to some of the most marvellous feats of nature in the world. Despite this, it is worth renting a motorbike so you can explore the rest of the island. The roads are hilly and, on the east of the island, not fully developed, but it is a rewarding way to see luscious jungle, magnificent waterfalls and stunning beaches. Hat Salad is also somewhat lacking in essential services so it is worth travelling farther afield.

The resort itself was okay. It was the cheapest place we could find, as we booked last minute for the Full Moon night and a week beyond. We booked the cheapest room which came to 500B per night. The room was clean and functional and the bed was quite comfortable. However, the room came without a window, so we had to leave the door open whenever we were there during the day. This was not possible at night, of course, due to bugs. Thus, the room became very hot overnight.

This resort was no exception to the bizarre south east Asian architectural tradition whereby bathrooms seldom have any windows and often not even any kind of ventilation. But, hey ho, the room was actually quite good for me, and fan rooms will often get hot in the summer season.

The restaurant was very good value in the resort, however it was unfortunate that we had to come into close contact with the Burmese staff regularly by perusing it. They were quite rude and we made it clear we were unhappy with their attitude. They improved thereafter to a small extent. It was also a major effort for us to have our room cleaned once halfway through our week long stay, despite their instructions indicating that they clean the room every three days. We had it cleaned eventually.

Overall, this wasn't a terrible place to stay but I would advise caution. I actually quite liked the room which seemed quite new, modern and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#4 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Way Bungalows
My Way Bungalows
#76 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Bungalow
Rose Bungalow
#47 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadsalad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadsalad Resort

Property: Haadsalad Resort
Address: 64/31 Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Smilebeach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Haadsalad Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
haadsalad Resort is a beautiful, quiet and perfect place to relax for your Special holiday with our friendly services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Haadsalad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing