We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lelax Beach Resrot
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disgusting.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were booked into a different resort on the other side of the island, however on arrival to Koh Pangan a man approached us saying he could take us to our resort for 50 baht so we agreed. He took us to power resort where we were told the were no taxis and had to stay there for the night as it is in the middle of NOWHERE. I have never been so disgusted in my life. The pool was green, stank horrendous and the head receptionist was rude and aggressive, my friend thought she was a ladyboy. We were charged 1000 baht for a disgusting concrete hut as we intended to leave in the morning. The window didn't lock, it stank of excrement and urine, no wifi, filthy grounds, awful staff and needless to say we didn't try the food. I looked at three other huts and they were all the same. Holes In the walls and roof and wet bedding. We left them with our 1000 baht and went to check out at reception to find everyone else checking out. One American lad was shouting at them how disgusting is was. DO NOT STAY HERE. We also took two girls with us who had just arrived after explaining to them. We found a place for the same amount that was wonderful further down the coast. If this review stops one person staying here then it will be worth it. I repeat DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    40
    50
    45
    124
See reviews for
8
77
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The power beach resort isnt a very nice place to go to, it has a nice pool but the staff are very rude and ignorent, the staff dumped all the rubbish in the water that was full many dangerous thing expecially if you have little kids running around. the only nice staff member was the bar guy, he was lovley he always had a smile on his face! the rest of the staff where horribe.. while at breakfast/lunch/dinner their wasnt many people around maybe 2 other couples, we had to get up and order our food, our food took atleast 2 hours to make, but the food is very nice.. our shower and toilet hardly worked i do not recomend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raychel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at koh phangan as usual you get all the touts to bring you to their hotels.we decided on this one and when we arrived they were very friendly and welcoming and we managed to get some discount from a deluxe room with air con.we checked out the cheaper rooms that were 500 baht with fan and 800 with air co. And they looked clean and comfortable but we decided to treat our selves to a 1200 baht deluxe which was right on the beach and is quality.the hotel in itself does need a refurbishment a little bit but remember your paying £10 a night you would pay three or four times the price in the uk.the hotel is fine and the location is good.iv read reviews that they had to walk very far to get to a 7/11,bless them,there are plenty of bars and restaurants to the right and left of the main road of the hotel which is a 5 minute walk,so don't come here and be a tight b*****d and live of 7/11 toasties.the food in the hotel is like a pound more than on the main road,if you can't afford an extra pound don't go travelling and live of toasties.the staff are really friendly and the bar at the hotel plays some quality music and the barman guy is a laugh and it has a very good atmosphere.they play football on a huge projector screen and have free pool tables and 2 swimming pools.unfortunately you do get cockroaches in Thailand so you have to deal with it!! its not the UK were u get the odd fly in the house.we had one in our room and sprayed it when I asked reception for some bug spray.

Overall the hotel is fine with what you pay.Yes could look nicer but it's sat right on the beach and after five minutes of watching the beautiful sunset you forget about what the place may look like!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for one night, people at the pier recommended this place for me and my friend since we hadn't booked anything beforehand. The pictures of the place look fantastic, but when we got there, it was like a completely different hotel. It was completely empty, for starters, and when we wanted to go get something to eat, we had to walk a really long way before we even found a 7/11. It's in the middle of nowhere, even though right next to beach. That was the one thing we did like. The room had a fan that did nothing to cool the air and you could almost see the sky through the toilet roof. I don't know what the place is like when it's full, but during our stay it was dead. I wouldn't bother staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the more expensive rooms, they should be a better quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

For a start we didn't book to stay here ourselves, it was booked through tiger travel which I wouldn't recommend either! But that's for another review! Getting back to "the power beach" I'd read the reviews on here before we arrived and must admit I was slightly skeptical, but no this place lived up to them on every level! The staff are so rude, the food is awful as are the prices! But to get on to the rooms we were slightly lucky we had air con that worked, on the downsides it was infested cockroach's! I spent the first night duck taping the gaps in the doors and the bathroom! Which helped a lot. But this place is just terrible! Please anyone that's booked in here cancel it! They don't deserve your money! And it will better spent elsewhere. Just stay away on all costs!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

From outside my small hut looked decent, but when I entered it was another story! Holes and cracks in the roof letting in all types of creepy crawleys. Thought that I had been locking the door every time I went out, only to realise 3 days into my stay that the lock could be opened with a little bit of force! Food is bad at the restaurant, staff were ok but could be rude, which is unlike most thai people. The location is good, not to far from the full moon party etc, but a little quieter. Beach and bar are fantastic but this plus point is minor compared to all the negatives! I need up going to the nomad hostel up the road which is a great place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 83Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 days only because we did not have any accommodation booked in advance and we got caught at the pier by talkative guy with nice pictures saying that this would be the best deal in the highest season. Place is nice right on the beach, staff is rude not answering questions, we got the "better" cottage with air con in right on the sea shore (the only good thing here) but everything else is bad... Luckily we stayed only 2 nights. If you do not have to do not go here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#62 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#77 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
6.4 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#40 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lelax Beach Resrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lelax Beach Resrot

Property: The Lelax Beach Resrot
Address: 145/10 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Subdistrict, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Power Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lelax Beach Resrot 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lelax Beach Resrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing