We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not one for the bucket list”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lelax Beach Resrot
Ranked #85 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not one for the bucket list”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I think the only way this place gets any business is through travel agents in Bangkok ripping off naive travellers who have just begun their adventure!!

I stayed here with a friend before the full moon party and in fairness, we were picked up from the ferry by a very nice man, our room was ready on arrival, a simple to fine bungalow right on the beach. We went for the deluxe option so had twin beds, a little fridge, air con , a safe and bathroom. Lots of people have complained about bugs but if youre in a bungalow, in Thailand Its par for the course!(having said that when a frog crawled out of the sink it took me by suprise somewhat!!)

The sea isnt deep or nice enough to swim in but theres a little pool if you need a dip. We ate here once, Food was ok but Lots of places a 5min walk away. Its off the main road slightly and probably wouldnt walk it alone in the dark but i didnt feel unsafe.WiFi is available in the reception and restaurant areas.

So far, pretty average. Our upset came all in one day unfortunately. Myself and my friend were escaping the Sun
for a bit when there was a medical emergency
right next to us. We are both medical Professionals so obviously helped (fortunately, because the staff were totally useless). During this, i took off my sunglasses to stop them breaking and so i could see properly, putting them on a table about a foot away. There were no other tourists around apart from the unwell girl and her two friends. Once everything had been sorted, i got up to pick up my sunglasses, needless to say theyd disappeared. I asked the staff for their help and their gormless attitude immediately wound me up even more. There were more staff than tourists in the resort and not one of them seemed to have any initiative. Anyway so i cant blame anyone but i never got my raybans returned. Having had a beer and calmed down, we got ready for the Party. We locked everything away in the safe and gave our key into reception so we didnt lose/get it stolen. When we came back, our key was in an open box at an unmanned reception desk. Our things had been gone through when we got back, and now my friends sunglasses stolen!!

We both live in London and are well aware of muggings, robbery etc and are used to being careful with our belongings. Its Such a shame to have to be on the edge of your seat whilst on holiday but maybe thats how things have become. We wont be rushing back here anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahholiday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    40
    50
    45
    124
See reviews for
8
77
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked this for 3 nights before leaving Australia. Whether it was because we had already paid and they knew that they wouldn´t give us a refund on the room or they didn´t have anything nicer they gave us a really gross bungalow - even though it was one of the midrange ones.

Firstly, there were grotty fingerprints over the walls and around the platform that the mattresses were on. The mattress on the bed was lumpy and had springs poking up, and they didn´t provide a top sheet, and only a small old polyester quilt thing which was barely big enough to cover us.

The was peeling paint on the walls and ceiling, and the ´air-conditioning´ was a small wall mounted fan. There were no flyscreens on the windows, of which only one opened properly, so it was risk getting bitten by mosquitoes or die of suffocation.

The bathroom was super disturbing: It was rendered in that cheap pebble-set-in-concrete stuff that is usually on the outside of government buildings, and was about a foot away from joining the ceiling. This section just had bamboo bars, and of course, no flyscreens. The basin in the sink might have been cool when it was first installed - it was a terracotta flower pot. Only problem is that it had never been cleaned and had mold growing in the bottom of it. The wall around the shower near the floor had moss growing on it.

This place might be ok if you are travelling with no expectations of nice accommodation, and though we were booked for three nights, we only stayed for one, abandoned our money and moved to another resort.

Room Tip: Make sure you inspect your room before handing over any money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Got caught on the peir without a hotel and got shown a nice brochure so thought giving it a go was easier than lugging our backpackers around the island at midday!
Once we got the hotel the price had gone up by 500B per night and we had to book for at least 2 nights (different to what we told at the pier).
The room was okay but the aircon mad the room an ice box or just turned off within 10 minutes and the shower was no more than a trickle.
Location wise the power beach was around a 15 minute walk to any bars or supermarkets and a 45 minute taxi to the full moon party.
If the price was closer to 500B the power beach would be well worth the money but we paid 1500B per night and had to stay a minium of 2 nights.

Overall you should seriously avoid if on a budget and try your luck somewhere else

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Connor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Got caught at the pier shown pictures of a really nice resort so decided to stay. Got there and looked nothing like it ! bungalow huts with doors that don't close all the way so let's in all sorts of creepy crawlers. Also would come back to what looked like rat droppings all over the bed. Would not recommend !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were booked into a different resort on the other side of the island, however on arrival to Koh Pangan a man approached us saying he could take us to our resort for 50 baht so we agreed. He took us to power resort where we were told the were no taxis and had to stay there for the night as it is in the middle of NOWHERE. I have never been so disgusted in my life. The pool was green, stank horrendous and the head receptionist was rude and aggressive, my friend thought she was a ladyboy. We were charged 1000 baht for a disgusting concrete hut as we intended to leave in the morning. The window didn't lock, it stank of excrement and urine, no wifi, filthy grounds, awful staff and needless to say we didn't try the food. I looked at three other huts and they were all the same. Holes In the walls and roof and wet bedding. We left them with our 1000 baht and went to check out at reception to find everyone else checking out. One American lad was shouting at them how disgusting is was. DO NOT STAY HERE. We also took two girls with us who had just arrived after explaining to them. We found a place for the same amount that was wonderful further down the coast. If this review stops one person staying here then it will be worth it. I repeat DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The power beach resort isnt a very nice place to go to, it has a nice pool but the staff are very rude and ignorent, the staff dumped all the rubbish in the water that was full many dangerous thing expecially if you have little kids running around. the only nice staff member was the bar guy, he was lovley he always had a smile on his face! the rest of the staff where horribe.. while at breakfast/lunch/dinner their wasnt many people around maybe 2 other couples, we had to get up and order our food, our food took atleast 2 hours to make, but the food is very nice.. our shower and toilet hardly worked i do not recomend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raychel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at koh phangan as usual you get all the touts to bring you to their hotels.we decided on this one and when we arrived they were very friendly and welcoming and we managed to get some discount from a deluxe room with air con.we checked out the cheaper rooms that were 500 baht with fan and 800 with air co. And they looked clean and comfortable but we decided to treat our selves to a 1200 baht deluxe which was right on the beach and is quality.the hotel in itself does need a refurbishment a little bit but remember your paying £10 a night you would pay three or four times the price in the uk.the hotel is fine and the location is good.iv read reviews that they had to walk very far to get to a 7/11,bless them,there are plenty of bars and restaurants to the right and left of the main road of the hotel which is a 5 minute walk,so don't come here and be a tight b*****d and live of 7/11 toasties.the food in the hotel is like a pound more than on the main road,if you can't afford an extra pound don't go travelling and live of toasties.the staff are really friendly and the bar at the hotel plays some quality music and the barman guy is a laugh and it has a very good atmosphere.they play football on a huge projector screen and have free pool tables and 2 swimming pools.unfortunately you do get cockroaches in Thailand so you have to deal with it!! its not the UK were u get the odd fly in the house.we had one in our room and sprayed it when I asked reception for some bug spray.

Overall the hotel is fine with what you pay.Yes could look nicer but it's sat right on the beach and after five minutes of watching the beautiful sunset you forget about what the place may look like!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#64 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#76 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#48 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
6.4 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#37 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#28 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lelax Beach Resrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lelax Beach Resrot

Property: The Lelax Beach Resrot
Address: 145/10 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Subdistrict, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Power Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lelax Beach Resrot 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lelax Beach Resrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing