We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad attitude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Bay Bungalows
Reviewed 31 July 2013

stayed here for three nights last week .although the house was ok ,i must say that the staff had a really bad attitude and kind of ruined our stay .
the place is ok and the beach is ok but the next time will pick somwhere else.
not really worth the money we paid

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Bay Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in a lovely bungalow with ocean views. The pool is also very nice. Unfortunately aspects of the room let it down. The bed smelt musty. The refrigerator seal wouldn't stay shut. There was no coffee, tea or drinking water supplied. No soap in the bathroom. The AC was broken although they did come and fix it after a few days. A few times when I requested information or help the staff members often didn't look up from their phones. If you do decided to charge any food to your room make sure you sign off for it. I'm certain we were over charged. The staff need educating in how to treat tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyWhite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was slightly put off by all the reviews I had read before. Unlike some guests before we felt welcome at the Sandy Bay Bungalows. We were greeted with a smile and felt looked after alright. I have to admit compared to what I experienced during my other 4 weeks in Thailand the people at Sandy Bay Bungalows are not the above average friendly people but they are far away from being impolite or rude.
We had a fan room which got quite warm at night, but not too hot to sleep ;) It was clean at arrival and the bathroom spacious.
One minus is that our room wasn't cleaned at all during our 5 day stay and we had to ask for new towels.
We rented a scooter from Sandy Bay Bungalows which was no trouble at all and a fair price.
The pool is definitely beautiful and the beach to die for.
The food at the restaurant was okay but I've had better Thai food in Thailand.
All in all the place was nice and I would stay there again. The price was fair and if you want a place to stay for yourself and not become family with the owners it is a good place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My girlfriend and I have been travelling in Thailand for 2 weeks now and have sampled a variety of different guesthouses/accommodation whilst on our travels. Until now we have not been disappointed at all by our stays.

We booked the Sandy Bay Bungalow from 'Agoda' the day before and were drawn in by this 'resort's' attractive prices for a 'Viewpoint superior' room, and by its perfect location. We got to the resort and checked in to the reception. I did find it odd that the whole family was sitting down having some sort of knitting competition on a table in the lobby. One lady got up and requested a 500- deposit for the room keys, then got one of her male colleges to show us to the room. There were no smiles or welcoming comments, just 'name, passport, deposit, room'. Very Clinical.

We walked up a flight of stairs to our room wich can only be described as a shed on stilts. There was exposed wiring on the outside and underside of the bungalow, there were gaps between the floorboards which allowed you to see the drop below your room, the balcony area was unstable and made of poor quality untreated timber. The fan in the room was almost completely ineffectual and blowed hot air onto only one side of the bed. The toilet was infested by bugs, the use of the toilet was dictated so that you must flush NO paper of any kind down the bowl (toilet paper, tissues, sanitarytowels etc) as this would block it, so you were to throw all soiled items into the bin beside it. The shower smelled of rotten eggs when turned on, and there was no proper bedding provided, just a single stained sheet.

After a quick unenjoyable shower and failed attempt to cool off under the fan, we walked back to the lobby to request an air conditioned room and look for possible alternatives to this hotel. When sat down at a table one of the men asked why we had chosen the table with geese ornaments on it, and warned us that they cost 500- each if broken. Again, this just emphasised the unwelcoming vibe of the people.
After requesting a new room we were told it would be another 800- a night, minimum, and so decided to search for a new hotel instead. Making a quick booking for a different hotel down the road ('Sea Garden 2' - a beautiful hotel as it turned out!) and collecting our bags from our room, we requested our deposit back, handed over the room keys and promptly left. The two women laughed as we went, but this did not phase us as we were just happy to be gone.

Please do not book this place. The location sounds good and the beach looked nice, as people have previously mentioned; but for the hassle of dealing with these people, and the danger of staying in this 'bungalow', it really is not worth the money. Koh Phangan has many other wonderful hotels to be experienced - do not waste your time or money here!

Room Tip: Don't choose a 'superior viewpoint fan' room!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trust91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Sandy Bay has a great location on a beautiful beach. Rooms were nice and clean (we went from a fan room to air con because the other half got too hot in the night). Food was great as well, although the one thing that lets it down was the lady who ran the place. She was a nightmare!

She tried selling us overpriced ferry tickets and became rude when I politely declined and then started telling me I had paid too much for our diving the previous day (which I hadn't). She generally barked at us and I didn't see a smile once.

However, the other men working at the bungalow were lovely. Let me use their phone charger and helped us run for cover with our food when the rain started without warning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monsterwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This place got everything. The beach is white and beautiful. The swimming pool is clean, nice and next to the beach. There is a bar with lounge music. You can watch the sunset from the swimming pool or the romantic bench on the beach, or from the bungalows. All are placed with beautiful view. The bungalows are clean as well and very affordable. The staff is also nice and funny as well.
This place just makes you wanna stay as long as possible.

Room Tip: Some bungalows are placed higher than others so they all have view on the beach. The lowest mean you...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Nice bungalows, they are small but you don't need more space. There is a swimming pool and it's next to the beautiful sea. The staff is very friendly and the food is delicious. There is a cocktail bar and it's also not far from the half moon party. You can get very cheap and good massages at the beach. Watch out for sea urchins when you go nightswimming :) . The location with the beautiful beach is really heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofieStans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#58 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#12 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#154 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#56 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#59 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Bay Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Bungalows

Address: 54/1 Moo 8, Had Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 379 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned Beach resort with private beach, pool and genuine beachfront rooms, majority of rooms not directly on our beach have a sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy Bay Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Bay Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing