We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Chills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chills Resort
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed there in december 2011, First of all Robert picked us up at pier in thongsala, very good service... he also helped us to rent a couple of scooters from his friend without any problems.
(although the scooter guy was a bit different) anyway.. Both Robert and his family was very helpful, and also invited us to the jam sessions at his bar.. the bungalows was not so clean inside, a couple of ants and some lizards... who cares?

the seawater pool was full of sand, but it didnt matter! This is the number one chill out place in koh phangan! just take it easy! :)

remember, its located far away from haad rin and thongsala, if you gonna stay here, you have to rent a Scooter!

Overall: definitve worth trying! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked a "deluxe" villa here for 3 nights in feb. all in all it was terrible. The sheets were stained, there was an ant infestation and a lizard in the room. When we complained we were told to "chill out". It's in a very isolated location and staff are not at all friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimear O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohphanganresort, Manager at Chills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

We had a management change at Chills Resort at May 2013.
As we invested a lot to improve your holiday expirience we kindly invite you to have a look at our location next time. We are only isolated from the party life in the south which is a major advantage along all the west coast of the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Robert can careless if you like his place or not.he gets the money up front and no returns. The place is one of the worst on the island..find yourself somewhere else..the pool is a joke. It's dirty. .yes he hangs out and chillis with all his buddy's on the deck. Just what I want on my vacation..no thanks

Room Tip: Anywhere is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lori r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My partner booked a 5 night stay in Chills resort for 24th Jan to 29th Jan through WebSawadee. We paid full amount by 10th of January and were promised that after we paid full amount our booking will be confirmed. We booked for a deluxe bungalow that was really upfront d beach as we saw the room was different from other resort that attracts us. However after a long journey from Bangkok that almost took more than 12 hours we reach Chills Resort and was told that they were fully booked. We didn't get it actually because our agent told us that it was a confirmed booking. After a tired journey i actually told my partner just to follow along n moved to Loyfa Natural Resort which Chills resort management actually booked for us. The room was much smaller and of course we were so angry with the agent that we decided to email them. To our suprise Chills Resort actually cater for their relatives and the reason is because their relative didn't want to move out n so we were suppose to put up somewhere. I don't think it's fair for us. They also promise to let us stay in their resort for the last 2 days but they kept silent and didn't bother to let us know of the outcome. So if you guys want to book a room with Chills Resort do call them up personally and asked if their relatives is there cause they cater more for their relatives. I will never recommend this resort to anyone due to their bad service and the way they solve it. However you can check out Loyfa Natural Resort!! They are 100 times better then Chills Resort. I hope the caucasian owner is reading this because he wasn't of any help either!

Room Tip: Try out their neighbour Loyfa Natural Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank kysha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The leaking pipe under the basin splashed out a lot of water on the legs and feet. Also the toilet tank was constantly noisy with its running water. Even if we told the Dutch owner, he didn´t do anyting about it. Just said "yeah, yeah, I will fix it" And nothing happened. Also the room was very hot so we needed to have the window open during the night. But there was no mosqito net so we got some bites. Finally it´s expensive for what you get on the rest of the island. Even the restaurant is overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karmabalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in Chills Resort for the New Year's period for a week.

It is located in Srithanu beach which is about 15 minute taxi ride from Thongsala Pier (cost about 150 baht per person). Had Rin beach is 20 minute taxi ride away and will cost 200-250 baht per person).

It's a very nice chilled out place (as the name indicates) and every room has spectacular views of the sunset over the sea. They serve great food although slightly more expensive than you would find in restaurants nearby.

One thing I didn't like and felt it should have been indicated in their web page was that you have to go down a very steep hill to get to the resort. Often taxis didn't drive down there so we had to walk up the hill to get to the taxi. I am not unfit but climbing up the hill was a bit of a drag on the hot days. I can imagine that it would be a bit of an issue for the elderly or parents with small children.

There were a few power cuts during our stay and a few times we had no water, but hey, it's Thailand, you expect those kind of things.

I wouldn't stay there if you are in Koh Phangan for Full Moon Party, because going to and back from Had Rin is time consuming and gets a bit expensive. We did mostly diving so we were fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed at Chills for 10 days in October - it's set on a beautiful isolated cove overlooking the sea with wonderful sunset views. The food is top notch and the management very attentive to all needs. It's a relaxed, beautiful place with a homely feel. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slinkyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.5 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
304 reviews
5.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#49 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#15 of 394 in Ko Pha Ngan
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Sea Resort
Grand Sea Resort
#66 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chills Resort

Address: 14/12 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £18 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful bay, with private beach. Only 15 minutes from the main town Thongsala, and a short distance from the village of Sreethanu. All the rooms and bungalows have sea view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing