We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yellow water from shower and tap. Dirty rooms. Gave our friends room away and no refund offered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Haad Yao Villas
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yellow water from shower and tap. Dirty rooms. Gave our friends room away and no refund offered!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

1. Slow service from reception
2. They gave our friends room away even when they had paid in advance! The girls had to sleep in our room on hard camper beds. No discount was offered only a free basic breakfast for 1 morning.
3. The girls slept in our room for 2 nights with no refund or discount.
4. Very very hard beds.
5. Dirty restaurant.
6. Dirty swimming pool
7. yellow water coming from shower and tap, which made me sick one morning.

but amazing location- 2min walk from lovely beach and chilled bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    13
    4
    19
See reviews for
12
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I'm not the biggest outdoorsy person, so at this point of my trip, I just wanted to be comfortable. The room was large. I had the superior villa with sea view. It had a nice view, but the majority not ocean. Mostly the vegetation around, the pool and a little ocean. The beach looked nice, but I didnt swim there. The staff was amazing. They picked us up from the pier, then the same day we mentioned going to town and they offered another ride since they were going that direction. There was a locker with a key in reception where we could leave our valuables. Breakfast was good and made to order. Decent location. They had scooters to rent, which was an awesome experience. NIce patio

The netting for the mosquitos was gross. It had spots on it, so we took it off and put it on the floor. But surprisingly the mosquitos there were not so bad. Didnt love the bathroom. The water pressure was good, but there were holes in the tub and floor, I believe to drain water, but i felt like something might crawl out (I said I was super outdoorsy:). They didnt provide many toiletries. There was one small bottle of something that had no name, so we just used it as hand soap. No shampoo or conditioner or labeled soap. There was a spot of one of the towels and the hammock on the patio, but it was molded-looking and dirty.I would recommend this place it you want an outdoorsy place to stay. But, after driving around the island, I thought Had Rin had the most amazing beach...but that's where the loud parties are, so it depends on the time you go.

Koh Phanang is awesome! Rent a scooter if you feel comfortable, was amazing to scoot around the island

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liyah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We ended up at this hotel having arrived at the pier and finding a man sitting in a car with the hotels name on it! I had seen this hotel on the website and we decided to go and have a look.
The man charged us £10 to get there which was a little expensive seen as we ended up staying at their hotel, alot of hotels do free pick ups.

When we arrived at the hotel the man showed us a villa by the pool, well it was amazing. Lovely wood, a massive balcony, living room, huge bed, sofa in the room, fridge, tea making facilities, hair dryer. It really was nice.
The man charged us £25 a night 1000 baht. I was pleased with this price as i had seen it for more on the internet.

We stayed for 3 nights, during our stay there was only two other couples there, which we hardly saw.
The pool was amazing, we were the only ones using it during the hours of 8-4pm and after 4pm some thai children would use the pool, but this was no problem they were very sweet.

The hotel itself is only a few minutes walk to the beach, which is lovely.

We got a motorbike out and really enjoyed exploring the island.
There is not alot of choice near the hotel for food, so having the bike just gave us access to all the markets near the main pier.

I would definately recommend this and if we return to thailand then this hotel will be on the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This resort has nice large rooms surrounded by a pretty well kept garden. The staff are friendly and although their English is not too good they are very helpful. The room itself is a spacious wooden cabin with a rather unusual bathroom. Part of the bathroom is open above (has no roof), but we found this quite charming. Unfortunately there were a lot of ants in the bathroom and the toilet was leaking. The shower was also almost coming off the wall. The bathrooms could definitely do with an update.
No complaints about the room itself, which was clean and nicely furnished.
The resort is not on the beach itself, but only a few minutes walk away. The beach is clean, with lots of nice restaurants mainly specialising in Thai food. Unfortunately this is not a good swimming beach as there are too many sharp rocks in the water. However the resort does have a beautiful swimming pool, with a small kiddies paddling pool attached.
Overall the resort is not bad value if you are on a budget, as the daily rate includes breakfast as well.
With a little TLC this resort could be improved greatly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool area. These rooms overlook the pool and are on level ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've rated the resort average down to the fact that it needs a little TLC. The handles on doors were coming off, the loo flush handle was broken, the shower mounting was hanging loose and there were cracked floor tiles. Now the good bits, I was bitten less in this resort than any other due to the mozzy net. The aircon was quiet and very cool. The staff were very helpful, arranging a great motorbike for us, letting us use the internet til late etc. I also overheard the guy who runs the place offering to get fresh crab, prawns, seafood for guests to be cooked as they like, which is a nice touch if you don't fancy walking out at night. The swimming pool is stunning, in its own little jungle and you are stones throw from a super beach. Pick up and return to ferry terminal was 300 baht. Its a bit rough and ready but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: Pool side villas are great, the hillside rooms have lots of little steps up to them, not for the eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumble36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I'm writing this as of my stay right now and I usually don't write bad reviews but this resort does not justify the photos at all. The rooms are in real bad shape. They seem like they've not been taken care of. All you get everyday is a clean bed. As like many jungle themed resorts, expect many mozzies, most as big as fly. And there's not much ocean view in their ocean view rooms as there're many tall trees. Won't really recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonwltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I really liked this hotel. It is super close to the beach (which is an amazing beach), the rooms are cabins which are large and well equipped, the beds are comfy and they are air conditioned. I was staying with friends who had been there before and they said the service was better the last time but all in all it was really good, and for the money (haggle you will get a much better rate) we couldn't complain. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rankbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#150 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#61 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#57 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#61 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
J.B. Hut Bungalows
J.B. Hut Bungalows
#25 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#42 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Yao Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Yao Villas

Property: Baan Haad Yao Villas
Address: 56/16 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 370 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Haad Yao Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Haad Yao Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Yao Villas Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing