We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but not great for honeymoon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Starlight Resort
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay but not great for honeymoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I booked one night at Starlight Bungalows at short notice during our honeymoon. We didn't realise that it was the night of the full moon party and most places down south were either fully booked or had a minimum stay of 3-5 nights.

So we panic booked without reading enough reviews I think! It wasn't great for me personally...

Firstly, it's pretty much the opposite side of the island to where all the action is - sadly we didn't know this in advance. So we had to endure (or survive) a terrifying taxi ride through Koh Phangan to get there - about 40 minutes long! Our bad.

Upon arrival, the women on reception weren't very approachable and we had to pay a key deposit of 500BHT, which was unexpected but fair enough. Also, there were cockroaches in our room - and I'm pretty sure we had one of the nicest rooms available. I know you should expect some form of wildlife when staying in Thailand but out of the nine hotels we stayed in, only two had cockroaches... so there must be some way of keeping them out!

That being said, the resort was peaceful and the pool looked nice. I'd actually had food poisoning the night before coming to Starlight so slept most of the day we were there, and didn't go into the pool unfortunately.

The room was clean enough but we had to spray bug killer everywhere after finding the cockroaches - along the gaps in the doors and in the bathroom walls (the bricks have holes in them).

We had a lovely seafood dinner at one of the beach restaurants nearby. The resort is pretty much on the beach and was very quiet when we stayed. We had to miss the full moon party sadly :( However, the resort can arrange shuttle bus transport and tickets, which is a plus.

Overall, not too bad: good location with restaurants and beach nearby and two big comfy beds, but if you're squeamish like me then maybe avoid! It wasn't bad value for the price we paid though.

I wouldn't, but my husband would probably stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    46
    34
    14
    16
See reviews for
29
57
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The hotel, pool, and beach in my opinion is one of the best on the island. I would be singing praise from the roof had it not have been for the Key Deposit.

We were asked to pay 500 Baht as a deposit for our key (rather expensive for a key in my opinion). When we checked out we completely forgot about the deposit. I find it hard to believe as a receptionist she forgot as well given everyone has to pay this deposit and expects it back.

Its my fault, but a little integrity would go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Starlight is by far the nicest place along the beach and its pretty much the only place with a pool. Rooms reasonable, however the bathroom slightly dodgy and felt a bit dirty. Main issue was the staff. 'Lady' in reception potentially the rudest person I've ever experienced in a hotel or hostel. Extremely unhelpful and made us feel unwelcome. Tried to charge us 1000b for something that was already broken before we arrived as we were leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights with my boyfriend. Our original plan was to only stay for a few days and then move on to Koh Tao, but we ended up extending our stay as the beach was incredible, and the hotels on Koh Tao way more expensive. We were on a budget, so we paid 500bt a night for a room with a fan. Unfortunately with this option, there's no TV or fridge. Just the bedroom and a great en suite. Probably the best we used in Thailand!

The resort in general is quiet at this time of year, only 2 or 3 other couples staying at this hotel, so there was plenty of room round the pool. The pool and surroundings were always clean, and the beds were comfy. There is no on site restaurant or cafe, but there are plenty down the beach to choose from, or its a 5 min walk to the 7/11 which we did most days. You can buy drinks, toiletries and souvenirs from the little market they have on site. (i think a chang was 40bt and a leo 45) Receptionist wasn't the friendliest, she was not budging on price! But she did book our ferry and transport for us which was convenient.

The beach is beautiful, there are a few stray dogs, but they are so friendly and inquisitive, never threatening! It's a lovely walk down at sunset, and there are a few bars to choose from, and some hotel beach restaurants. It's a half hour walk (granted its on the main road! so do it in daylight!!)to the next bay which has a few more upmarket restaurants and hotels, worth a visit.Definitely get a taxi back. No streetlights on the main road!

Overall fab budget stay on a paradise beach worthy of much more expensive hotels!

Room Tip: Fan room 500bt in the block of rooms on 1st floor - perfect for us, next step up to have air con was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c00kie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanagawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I asked a pickup by email. Strangely Phangan info (must be the famous booklet publisher) responded it. I did not understand what was happening. Anyway, it seemed they were kind to contact the hotel. In the long run, I could get a pickup from the hotel. At checkout, I saw the reception lady touched a tablet. So if you want a pickup by email, it would be better to contact by email before reserving. Or calling might work.
At check in, I had to deposit 500B.
Free wifi was available at poolside.
The swimming pool looked good, but water was very warm. I was uncomfortable with warm water, as I had hot days.
The cheapest fan room was very spacious and clean, but heated. I do not know what was the reason, but it might come from a concrete building. I could use a hot water in the bathroom.
Cleaning staffs were good. I assume they clean room everyday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nagaokagetora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at Starlight for 8 nights, 3 girls in total. We shared a bungalow room which was nice as it was quiet and fit the 3 of us perfectly. The room had two double beds, a ceiling fan, air con, tv, small mini bar fridge, a small closet/wardrobe - big enough to hide away two backpacks.
That being said the room was quite small but we didn't mind too much as we weren’t there to laze around in the room all day. The main light in our room had a mind of its own, it would never switch on, sometimes would come on its own and flicker. We did report this to the reception twice but it was not fixed. We got used to living with daylight only. If you are tall you will find the beds to be quite short, I am 5ft’4 and found that my toes almost overhung the bed. The pillows were hard. Not for my liking.
The hotel is situated right on the beach, and everything you need is in walking distance. There is a convenience store on the hotel ground which stocks everything you will require, food, drinks, alcohol, clothing, shoes, sunscreen etc.
The pool is lovely, looks out onto the beach. A downfall about the pool is that other guests were leaving their belongings on the sun beds reserving them for the day, there is only 15 chairs at most around the pool and it was quite frustrating when you would go down there for a tanning session only to find that families had taken over all the chairs. Even at 8am.
Yes, there are a lot of stray dogs roaming the hotel grounds/beaches. As harmless as they are, they are just after a belly tickle and will probably sit by you as you soak up those sun rays but will quickly move onto the next person.
The WIFI is free but can only be accessed from the swimming pool areas. If your room is directly next to the pool I am sure you would be able to pick it up. Often it wouldn't work but I was able to log into the restaurants next door from the pool area as a backup ;)
The staff that looks after the hotel grounds did an immaculate job, I never saw them not working, same with the housekeeper. As for the two ladies who worked the reception/tour desk a smile wouldn't have hurt.
No café or restaurant on the hotel grounds. I do recommend going next door to Nice Beach Bungalows as they were always great on service and a very diverse menu.
In my opinion the location isn’t ideal as we would spend most nights in Haad Rin which is approx a bumpy, windy 45 min journey. It got quite pricey heading in there nearly every night. From a families, couples point of view this hotel is fantastic. Everything you need is at your doorstep. A relaxing quite retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the pool will have WIFI access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassjll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

To start with the positives the beach is very nice, although it does have several stray dogs so not for anyone who is uneasy around dogs. The pool is also very nice, large enough to swim lengths and with a lovely view out to sea. The rooms are big and airy and clean. Unfortunately that is where the positives stop.

We had emailed to book a transfer from the harbour to the hotel and as another reviewer has mentioned they failed to turn up. Luckily we managed to get on the taxi that was coming to this beach but it cost 300baht each rather than the 200baht had the hotel arranged the transfer as promised. We did book the return transfer and the resort taxi is a pick-up truck with seats in the back so if you arrive in the rain prepare to get wet.

On our arrival at the resort there was no apology for the fact that the transfer had not been arranged and there are significant language difficulties at the hotel. The staff are mainly Burmese so google translate is no help and the staff definitely did not go to the land of smiles school for customer service! We had booked a fan room and the disappointment just kept coming. The room whilst very large contained nothing but a bed, one bedside table and a fan. There is not a single, hook, shelf or rail to put anything so if you book this room expect to live out of your case or off of the floor. The air con rooms seem to have fully fitted wardrobes, desks, tv’s and even tables and chairs on the balcony. The fan rooms also have the most used pillows and bed sheets available, all well worm with mis-matched patterns.

You will be required to pay a key deposit of 500baht on check-in and they will try anything to keep this, bedding will be check for marks so be careful if you plan to go to the full moon as getting the glow paint on the sheets will definitely cost you.

The fan rooms are also sold as ‘sea view’ which is a little extravagant. Depending on where your room is you are going to be looking across up to 10 other balconies to see a snippet of the sea. The balconies are not very private with only a 2 foot high fence separating you from your neighbours.

The pool is lovely but unfortunately it is not nearly suitable for the number of guests staying at the hotel, out of season it is perfect and you will have the whole pool to yourself, however at peak season you will head to the pool at 8:00am and find all the sunbeds already reserved only for them to sit empty for the whole day. There are only 15 sun beds, 11 with mattresses and nothing on the beach at all. There are no toilets at the pool so you have to use your room, which is difficult when the cleaning team keep your room key all day! The hotel does not provide towels for use at the pool or on the beach.

The WIFI only works in the reception and around the pool, whilst it is free it is very slow and occasionally it seemed the router was turned off altogether.

Despite being a 45 minute journey from Thong Sala on very bad roads the hotel seems to attract large families with very young children who play and scream in the pool all day, it also attracts large groups of teenagers who want to sit around the pool drinking all evening waiting for the boats to the various parties in Haad Rin so it is definitely not a resort for anyone looking for peace and quiet.

To have your room cleaned you need to hand your key into reception (usually this is unattended and you need to find staff in the supermarket). Whether your room gets cleaned is luck. One day we handed our key in at 10am and after numerous attempts we got it back at 4.30pm and the room had been swept but no bedding changed.

The young team that clean and garden work incredibly hard keeping the resort looking nice, but the management staff are very disappointing at this resort and customer service is at the very bottom of their priorities.

I would not recommend this hotel at all as there are many other better hotels to choose from which are better value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#14 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#22 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
#63 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#94 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#27 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Resort

Property: Starlight Resort
Address: 6/4 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Starlight Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing