We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest place we stayed in Thailand. Would recommend.”
Review of Sabaii Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabaii Bay Resort
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Nicest place we stayed in Thailand. Would recommend.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed in Sabaii Bay in May 2013 when the Half moon party was on. We really enjoyed our time there. The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful with everything (spoke english well too). When we arrived on the island we were picked up from the wharf and dropped off when we left again. It is located very close to everything including where the party was at, and they'll take you out there too. We also hired scooters from them which was fun for riding around the island.

The room we stayed in was right on the beach (i think it was the honeymoon suite), with beautiful views, next to the nicest pool I have ever swam in. The food there is also very good. Nice restaurant. The whole place has a very relaxed atmosphere, and looks really nice too. Probably was a bit more expensive than other places you could stay, but I think it is worth it.

Overall: Nicest place we stayed in Thailand and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: We got the honeymoon suite, because it was right on the water. Probably cost a bit more, but definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgeStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    61
    38
    22
    30
See reviews for
24
90
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castelletto sopra Ticino, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Returning to Koh Phangan for my third visit to my favorite island we came across Pai and Mai, the lovely young couple who run Sabaii Bay. They were extremely warm and welcoming and throughout our stay went out of their way to help us - even picking us when we decided to try somewhere else on the other side of the island and missed Sabaii Bay so much it we came back! They also dropped us off for the full moon! In addition the front of house guy, Paul, was fantastic! We were like old friend by the end of our stay.

The accommodation was absolutely fantastic - relatively new and very clean individual buildings, beautifully decorated and very clean. Also after staying for a few nights we were kindly offered a very good discount on the rooms!

All in all my experience here was fantastic and I could not recommend Sabaii Bay more highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I went to Sabaii Bay Resort and they will DEFINITELY not come clean the room unless you ask them to. When they do come clean they do not use strong cleaning products, in fact the only thing they do is spray the bathroom down with the water hose. It basically left me itching at night. The place could be run well if the owners werent so busy with their lackadaisical maniacal scam to extort money out of customers. I came with six friends and they overcharged each of us for the motor scooters saying we "scatched" them. Although no damage was incurred we all had to pay close to 100$ usd before we could get our passports back. The way i figure it, is if they pull this same scam on 10 people the bikes are paid for. The place was full of dogs and cats lurking in the dark, although all were friendly, who the hell wants to lounge by the pool with dogs and cats parlaying about? The bungalows they had us in were covered with Lizards every night and when we askked to move to the newest "hotel" rooms they had. The management came into the room and didnt greet us, pulled our sheets off our beds and was emotional because we asked them to do some actual work. The staff will not come get you toilet paper, towels or clean your room unless you specifically ask because it will interfere with their lackadaisical lives. The prices are well above the price of what the hostel environment they portray . The management has security cameras on all of their assets such as the pool, and motorscooters, yet none are located on the rooms in case of a breaking. They videotaped some backpackers having sex in the pool, yet the pool was not cleaned or sectioned off at night to prevent the same tackyness. The whole place was tacky, overpriced and a filthy mess. Go to Thong Pan Noi instead and live in luxury compared to the trifling charade which is Sabaii Bay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. They will take your passport to extort money out of you when you check out. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SadExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

There were four of us looking into booking a room for the fullmoon period. We booked a room where we stayed for 5 nights (because we had to) it came to 10,000 baht. We thought that. Was pretty good 670 each over the fullmoon. We seen pictures and were pretty excited about our find.
We arrived and they met us at the pier to take us to the hotel which was nice the owner was a bit of a crazy driver especially with people in the back of his truck - but hey it's Thailand.
The room wasn't terribly great. The ac felt like it didn't work at all, so the four of us would wake up sweating and grumpy but the bathrooms were alright we did think for the price we were paying there should have been at least a fridge in the room. The staff were friendly at first but we especially liked the bartender jayjay. But on that note the booze is expensive buy your own and drink in your room!
They don't have a great system when it comes to bills. Four people in one room and they put every meal "on the tab" and didn't do separate ones. Not only did I have to go through 5 days of food between 4 people I had to go on the menu and figure out the prices myself... Then when I was dealing with it with the nice thai owner her husband would come over be be like " what are they making you do hunny? they better give you a good tip" who even says that when its their system that's bad? The pool area was beautiful I'm sure the other rooms are nice as well. We just expected a bit better. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We initially stayed here for 5 nights but ended up coming back for another week because we liked it so much. We were given a standard air con bungalow which was supposed to be 1000 baht but we got it discounted to 850 by the lovely Thai woman who owns the resort which her Swedish husband. The staff were all lovely and we made friends with the barman Jay Jay and the other staff members who we went on a number of nights out with. The pool is stunning and the views of Koh Samui from the beach are spectacular. The food is ridiculously overpriced but the resort is within walking distance of a few decent Thai restaurants on the main road. The only negatives were that our room wasnt cleaned for 6 days- bin was overflowing, and there were a few power cuts. There was also a hornet living outside our room but these things didnt bother us at all. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjones890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The rooms aren't terribly brilliant - we did not get our room cleaned in our 5 day stay but such amenities are effectively unnecessary in Ko Pha Ngan as you'll spend most of your day outside anyway.
That said, the friendliness of the staff overrides the previous point by large. They are friendly and not by rote. We hung out with the bar staff at one of the parties and they bought us, the Western tourists, drinks and buckets.
The pool is excellent. The food is very, very, very expensive but very, very, very good quality too. Location is alright - you have to pay 100 baht to travel to Haad Rin/Ban Tai wherever you get the taxi from (from the port or from Sabai Bay) so it is not such an issue.
Definitely recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skahn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very beautiful location. Rooms are good but we were there for 3 nights and they didn't clean our room once, was a little bit sandy in there, bins were full and no toilet paper. Breakfast not included which is a shame cause it's a bit pricey. Ate breakfast at the hotel since the main road is quite far away from the hotel. Very bumpy to get to the hotel! Had dinner there once, because of the price, ridiculous prices compared to the main road. I ordered a salad and it was swimming in oil, not edible.

Added food and drinks on our bill that we didn't have. Happened everyday so check your bills !

Saw mother of owner lash out on a dog. Intended to scare and hurt. NOT OK! Also saw owners sisters son treat the dogs the same way. Love animals so that was a shame !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.8 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#47 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#12 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Villa Beach Resort
First Villa Beach Resort
#8 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#68 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabaii Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabaii Bay Resort

Property: Sabaii Bay Resort
Address: Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabaii Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sabaii Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing