We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like paradise!”
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Manali Resort
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like paradise!”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We had a fantastic time in this wonderful, quiet and childfriendly retreat!
The most spectacular sunsets and views, friendly staff and wonderful and very complete bungalows.
For us it was a quiet and peaceful peace of heaven. Close to villages and other beaches.
We will definately come back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    103
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
234
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We spent just three lovely days at Baan Manali and wish it could have been longer. I booked over the internet after checking out the reviews on Trip Advisor and YouTube - check out the great kite surfing video.
We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised; Baan Manali consists of just 11 bungalows nestled in a coconut grove. Our bungalow had a beautiful view, wood floors, comfy beds, a big fluffy towel, a hammock and a hot shower! The resort is small and intimate, it is easy to chat with other guests and Leit and Sebastian go out of their way to make you feel at home. We got tips on scooter rentals, restaurants and "The Jam" which provided us with one of our more memorable evening of our entire trip! I discovered the lagoon was a superb place for a morning swim and at sunset we enjoyed a cocktail or two on the lounges over looking the lagoon. It is ideally located, close to Thong Sala - which, despite what the Lonely Planet says, is a great place to hang at night. It's not bursting with charm but covers the basic needs. Cheap food and local atmosphere is plentiful at the night market and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants to chose from. It is also a 5 minute walk from Baan Manali!
Hiring a scooter is an easy way to see much of the island. We hired a 4 x 4 to go to the east side of the island - the roads are non existent in places and if it's raining a scooter will be a rough ride! After 9 days in Koh Phangang and Koh Samui this was our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My partner and I stayed at Baan Manali between Dec 27 2010 to Jan 3 2011. We loved the place. 

We accidentally arrived at Haad Rin pier not Thong Sala in koh phangan and saw the so called "resorts" down there. This made us a little worried about what we would see in Baan Manali.

It was our first time in Thailand and after travelling 12 hours from Melbourne Australia the place was a pleasant surprise. 

Made up of 11 bungalows the place was exactly what we wanted. We didn't care that there was no tv, clock radio, hair dryer, mini fridge, telephone or general toileties (shampoo/conditioner/soap) but I think it's something to keep in mind for those who require it. Although it would have been nice to have a mini fridge as the restuarant/bar is only open between 8am to 11pm. 

The room itself had an airconditioner that cooled the room straight away. We stayed in bungalow 8 and had no problems with the shower or toilet. The  hammock at the front is great for sleeping. The beds were terrible to sleep on but we found that it was like this at all the places we stayed at throughout Thailand including 5star resorts. 

We had specifically chose the place because it was 5min walking distance to thong sala (a little town with a great food market and all the necessary stores including a grocery) and easy travel distance to Haad Rin the location of the full moon party. Plus the description of beach front bungalows. Although all the bungalows were not on the actual beach you could never be more than 100m from it. And I think all would have a great view.

Liet and Sabastian were a great help. They arrange scuba diving for us with a fantastic dive company and also a day tour. Liet was really lovely and any time we asked her questions she was always very helpful and if she didn't know something she would try to find out for us. I asked if I could grab some recipes off her and she was only to happy to help.

Travellers guide
- when travelling to baan manali from thong salad look for the bank of Bangkok located on the corner of the main strip and a side rd. Go down the side rd across the bridge all the way down street and turn left a few hundred meters down you will see a sign for the resort.
- don't pay anymore than 250bht/pp to travel from Haad Rin Pier with your luggage
- haad rin is about 30-40min away depending on traffic. Tuk tuk should only charge 100bht/pp per way from thong salad to haad rin and vice versa back to the resort
- Owners can arrange tuk tuk from resort if your travelling late at night. We paid 150bht/pp to get to haad Rin but might be cheaper if it's quiet . 
- I would not recommend travelling by scooter in the dark to Haad rin, there are no lights and the drivers are crazy plus the hills are pretty steep you don't want to get stuck.
- you should hire a kayak at the resort and kayak around the nearby deserted island, just be careful of the rough water on the far side (a guy we met lost his glasses keys snorkels etc when he turned over his kayak)
- the water in the beach isn't very clear but is still nice to swim in.
- try the selection of thai food at Kokomo. Pat medmamrang yum...
- happy hour drinks are good value
- visit the night food market and try all the food (food ranges from 10bht to 250bht - 40cents to $8 Australian)
- travel around the island either by scooter or atv) 
- check out the different look outs, waterfalls in the island were a Lil bit of a disappointment 
- if you've never gone scuba diving use the guys the owners recommended. You may not see too much with the beach dive but you do see enough to wet your appetite for diving. We go a one on one professional experience. 
- the place is great for those who want to be able to party but not live in it 24hours a day. Plus pictures so look like the resort

Recommendations
- some torch lights along the beach
- mini fridge 
- ability to detach keys (I know it is to stop people leaving electricity within the room on while they are not there but the keys are pretty bulky especially if your going out partying)
- not sure if it's feasible but it would be nice to hire scooter directly from the resort
- maybe ability to pre order breakfast so you could eat it on your front deck at a specific time would add to the resort feel
- a "please make up room" sign in front of your room so that we do not have to ask

Note: the place has only been open for a little over a year and they are still trying to find there feet.

Thanks guys, we had an amazing time. If we ever come back to koh phangan we would definitely stay again. We'll send some picture through once Stefs dad cooks food from the recipes you gave us. 

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAfemaletravellerAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I spent the New Year at Baan Manali with my Partner and another couple.

The first thing you need to consider in staying here is you get what you pay for, the accommodation is very cheap so don't expect all the bells and whistles.

I will start with the positives: The resort is in a beautiful location, you are basically in your own little piece of paradise. It is very peaceful and quiet. The beach is quite stunning and a short walk around the headland is recommended at sunset. The resort is within walking distance to Thong Sala (about 10-15mins) very handy as this is where the pier is located. The bungalows have a beautiful deck out the front, all with hammocks that overlook the beach. The sunset is spectacular. I also definitely recommend taking the Kayaks out to the Island.

Unfortunately that was all that I found positive at this resort. So here are the negatives: To start the beds were rock hard my partner did not sleep at all, the shower was never hot enough it was only ever warm at best and our toilet made weird noises that woke us up every night, we were starting to think the toilet was alive!! The room had no TV, Fridge or minibar, Radio, Clock and in the 5 nights we stayed our room was only cleaned twice. As we didn't pay very much for the accommodation we weren't too upset by all this, the main thing that lets this resort down is the service.

To start when we arrived we felt as if we had walked into someones house. The owner didn't even say hello, we had to say hello to him first. He didn't even get up from his desk or raise a smile. He muttered his way through our check in and then pushed us off to our rooms. We found that throughout the whole stay we weren't welcome there. The female owner was pleasant enough and the restaurant staff were very nice and helpful, however the male owner was very rude and basically ignored us the whole stay.

Every time we wanted to be in the restaurant area we felt uncomfortable, we honestly felt like we were in their living room. The owners have recently had a baby and they had family members staying there with them. We felt like we were intruding on their family holiday. They would always be in the restaurant area talking in french, I never expected him to become my best friend but it can't hurt to acknowledge your guests existence with something as simple as a smile or hello.

Our trip to Koh Phangan felt more like we were staying in France not Thailand so if you are after the real Thai experience don't stay here. If you want cheap accommodation that is quiet and you don't mind basic rooms then this is your place... just make sure you speak French!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2011

we stayed 5 nights in jan 2011 with friends, for the value it is quite good however no bar fridge or tv, which my partner found slightly distressing ( no where to put cold beer!)but i rather enjoyed. the huts are small-ish, will fit 2 suitcases and thats about it, air con and mozzi nets come in useful. the huts were cleaned every second day, no new towels or sheets, just swept and beds made (but for the price what do you expect). i found the owners, how do i say, a bit stand offish, as though we are interrupting their day when we asked questions. The french male never said "hello, how are you" or even welcoming us when we arrived, instead he looked as us to say "what are u doing here" but the wife was a littler warmer at times and a bit more polite. the resort all in all is quite lovely, i really enjoyed lying out in the hammock, reading my book and watching the sunset, it is very peaceful and quiet. a 2minute drive from thongsala, dont pay more than 200-300 bhat for a taxi to the resort when arriving from ferry. we were there for nye, when the owners had their family there staying in huts, we found ourselves feeling a bit like intruders on their family holiday and thus i am torn by the rude service and beautiful resort! but....i think i would go back again :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Everybody needs to visit and stay in baan manali, so beautiful and relex place, and the manegers are very nice pepole. So go all of you and wiil be happy:)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bareket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Visited with one Thai friend but met few other travellers (Brit jack the lad and two beautiful aussie and french women) along the way to the Full Moon party. Stonking & IMENSE company !!

The resort is about 10 mins walk from main shopping centre and pier but might awsell be hundreds of miles - its so peaceful, tranquil and setting is stunning.
Rooms are nice clean and ideal.

They prepare awsome food and nice cocktails.

If ever i go back to Koh Phangan this will be the place i stay. Cant fault it.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiffSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.6 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
616 reviews
5.8 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,416 reviews
6.5 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
6.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Property: Baan Manali Resort
Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing