We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a beautiful location”
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Manali Resort
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a such a great time staying here. We booked for 2 days and immediatley extended our stay for an extra night when we got here. The bungalows are unobtrusively placed in a stunning tropical location. Our bungalow was only a few metres from the beach with such a nice view to wake up to - a mixture of a nice seaview with pleasent tropical vegetation.

The bungalow itself had a good sized terrace with a hammock and deck chairs to relax in. Inside the room is very clean, modern and comfortable. For the price you pay to stay here, this place really is a bargain.

It is a short 10 minute walk to Thong sala where more shops and restaurants can be found along with a great night time food market where you could get great food for next to nothing. This place maybe a little too quiet if you are on the island for partying etc. But if you are after a relaxing break then this place is perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a stones throw from the beach with a great sea view, but a couple are really close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevo76uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a really nice place to stay if all you're looking for is to relax in a hammock. Bungalows were clean and a decent size. Free wifi throughout. The location isn't that great as it's a bit of a walk to get to any shops that are worth going in to. But there is a really great British pub just around the corner that is definitely worth a visit. The beach is a bit scruffy looking and the water isn't too nice to swim in but that's no fault of the hotel as most of Koh Phangan's beaches seem to be like that. The hotel owners seemed nice enough. Sometimes felt like the staff were a bit rude, struggling to speak English when the owners weren't there and then had perfect English when they were. Never really used the hotel restaurant mainly for the reason above but it's also quite expensive. Two pieces of toast cost 70 Baht! It might be homemade but it's still only hot bread. You can hire kayaks etc for a reasonable price which was good. Nice sunsets and all that but can't help thinking this place is a little over rated. Nice enough but the area was a bit too quiet for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thistle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had an amazing stay at Baan Manali. The location is simply stunning with fantastic views from our room. It is an ideal place to explore Koh Phangan as it is walking distance to the town of Tong Sala and only 15 minutes away from the venue for the Full Moon Party. The room itself is simple but well equipped with a large balcony to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The owner and his wife are a very friendly and welcoming couple and they are always on hand to provide helpful advice. The restaurant served some of the best food we have ever eaten in Thailand and the breakfasts were superb. Baan Manali is a peaceful and tranquil resort and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked this after reading some good reviews - its is an amazing little place close to the port , but don't let that put you off. The location is truly peaceful within a stunning little cove - all the bungalows have a view of the ocean and a hammock to lay and take it in!! The owners are really relaxed and friendly and the food is some of the best we had. They have kayaks to hire and you can easily paddle to the isolated island in front of the resort or down the coast to some of the other bays. This place was really special!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixonnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Place is very nice and quite!
Bungalow are very cleaned and all with seaview.
Despite the fact that during August the water level on the beach is very low, the beach is great and far from any chaos.
Staff is really friendly and we enjoied the food in the small restaurant.

Strongly reccomended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxolino76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Me and my girlfriend spent just short of a week here in March 2010. We found the rooms great, they were clean, the setting was great in a very quiet area. Breakfast was simple but good and the wifi could be picked up in the rooms.

If you stay here turn right onto the beach and take a long walk down the beach around the headland, some better beaches and a few places for a drink and a it of lunch.

Would definitely go back if i was visiting the island again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights. Very nice and helpfull staff. After a day of discovering the island the Baan Manali resort is a quiet and peaceful place to come back to. Enjoy the view when you wake up in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miertjemiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
723 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
6.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
552 reviews
2.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £25 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing