We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Part of Our Trip”
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Manali Resort
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Part of Our Trip”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

There is no other place like Baan Manali - the combination of the quiet atmosphere, gorgeous view, beautiful pampering bugalows and the sweet owners - made our experience there wonderful and we did not want to leave!
We found Baan Manali by chance, spent there five nights, and still could not stop admring the place for a second. The bungalows are a 5 star standard, there is amazing attention for details in all regarding comfort, service and decoration. It is also located in a comfortable 7 minute walk from Thong Sala pier and town, where there is a great market and all the neccesary services.
In short - do not miss this place !!

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gili m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    100
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
57
231
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My first impression at reception was just "Wow". The setting for Baan Manali is absolutely stunning. Facing out onto a lagoon with a stretch of white sand beach. Beautiful and relaxing even just to look at! It's about a 15 minute walk to the main village, and there are shops and a good massage place along the way, as well as an English pub called The Mason's Arms, who very nicely showed an Irish hurling game on tv for us.

The rooms we were in were lovely. Very clean, big bathroom, loads of light and good air-conditioning. There was a hammock outside each room, and also more down at the beach. There were very comfortable open sided huts on the grass by the beach where you could just chill out and relax, or head down to the sand and lie out there. The water is shallow, but you can still swim there in the late afternoon when the tide is back in.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and there was a good range of choices. We had pancakes a few days and they were tasty, if a little bit on the cool side. We got lunch when we arrived and I didn't really enjoy the chicken and rice I got, it was too greasy for me.

The place seemed family friendly, there were children's toys around, and some very friendly kittens running around, which is a big plus for me!

It's an ideal place to just unwind. Not the best location for anybody looking for mad nightlife, but I was very happy here, and would return in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookworm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here beginning of July 2012 for 4 nigths. We were aware that this was the start of the 'rainy' season. Whilst we were here it rained every day at approx 3.30pm, it was like a tropical storm for the first hour, heavy rain and very windy. Then it calmed down to just rain, but remained warm. Even with this weather, the place still looked beautiful, and the wind kept the mosquitoes away!
Location- It is about a 15minute road walk to the town centre and pier area.
This resort is set at the end of a lovely, clean stretch of beach, and there area is a quiet and tranquil.
Accomodation- the room was lovely and clean, had modern decor, and was warming. The bed was comfortable, and the air con was excellent. The bungalows have their own private decking, with hammock, which was lovely to relax in, and take in the view of the coconut trees and lushous green grass which they are set in. The bungalows are situated in such a way, that they provide privacy from the neighbouring bungalow.
Food-It was more expensive that the neighbouring establishments, but worth it as it tasted excellent, and there was a good selection.
The Beach- It was private, and the sea is more for paddling in, not swimming. This is due to it being shallow, and there was lots of sea weed.
We hired a kayak from the reception, and kayaked over to the deserted island opposite.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We have noticed the comments about the male owner. Yes he seems quiet, and keeps himself to himself, and very chilled out. He let us get on with our holiday, but when we had a problem with the sink, he fixed it immediately, and was happy to help.
We would thoroughly recommend it here, if you would like to stay somewhere with a relaxing, and chilled out atmosphere. It would appeal to couples and familes as opposed to those looking for the full moon party and nightlife.
If you fancied a change of pace, a couple of resorts along the beach there are other bungalow resorts offering music, table tennis etc.
in short, we found this place to be a little slice of paradise for our holiday!

Room Tip: bungalows all have a good view of the sea, enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at Baan Manali at the beginning of February this year for 8 night, during the full moon party.
The location of the resort is excellent, only 5 minutes from the main pier, but very peaceful area. It is more or less the central most part of the island, so if you are looking for explore the island it is recommended to stay near Thong Sala. It is higly recommended to rent a scooter (~ 200 Baht / day) and you can get anywhere on Koh Phangan in 15-20 min.
If you are looking for the full moon party at Haad Rin beach, its only 100 Baht per person to take the minivan.
The resort itself has ~ 10-12 bungalows, all with seaview because of the "V" layout. The bungalows are simply, but nicely decorated with A/C and free wifi.
The owners are a french guy and his israeli wife. You can feel the french impact in the restaurant, they have delicious cuisine. The restaurant might be little bit more expensive than the cheapest one in the "city", but it is worth the money.
Some reviews mentioned that the male owner was rude. Well its true that he is not someone who always tries to chat with you, but his wife and the local staff was very nice.
All together its a nice and quiet place (if your are looking for party all the day, don't go there), with good food and excellent location if you want to look around on the island. I would recommend to stay here if you are looking for a little bit of everything what you can get at Koh Phangan - beaches, food, nature, relax and parties.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in Baan Manali Resort at the end of june/ beginning of July 2012. We would have stayed longer if they would have had rooms. This place is a haven of peace, you can just sit in the hammock all day and relax in the refreshing breeze. What distinguishes it from most other places is the low amount of bungalows on the rather large plot of land. Most other resorts would put two or three times the amount of bungalows on the same area.

The resort is located just outside Thongsala town, at the beginning of a very nice beach which stretches north for kilometers. However you will think you are in the most secluded spot in Koh Phangan.

Bungalows are excellent value for money, very clean, comfy beds and the interior has a nice touch to it. A small safe is available as well. On your veranda you can choose between deckchair and hammock.

The restaurant is very good and not expensive at all as you would expect from a hotel restaurant. Given the larger serving size than usual the prices are very affordable. Breakfast is excellent, you can choose between fruits and muesli, eggs or omelette any style, delicious french pancakes and homemade bread with homemade marmalade.

You can rent kayaks and explore some small island directly opposite the resort. As a day trip we can recommend a trip to the Ang Thong National Marine Park with Orion tours, which can be booked directly through the hotel.

Staff is very nice and helpful. As for the owner (re the previous review) he might not have a Thai like smile on his face all day, but he is a very calm and nice guy and was actually very helpful in arranging trips and renting a scooter. We got along with him very well and he told us a lot about his family, himself and living in Thailand. His wife is great too and she has put a lot of effort into making the place cozy and stylish.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanswu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked this stay based on really good reviews, and we did in fact have a really great stay. The rooms were individual bungalows spread out across serene gardens with coconut trees, and each bungalow had a hammock so you could relax while listening to the ocean. The restaurant serves good food, and really great freshly made shakes. The Thai staff is also very kind and accommodating, but we did feel very uncomfortable with the French owner of the hotel. He did not seem to be able to muster up a smile at any point during our stay, and it felt like we were constantly bothering him when we asked about anything or entered the restaurant (which is also the reception). His wife was very nice, but we have honestly never experienced someone so rude and uncaring, and I think this really brought down our experience of this hotel from a five star stay to a three, perhaps even two and a half star experience. I mean when you're paying money to stay somewhere you shouldn't feel uncomfortable asking for a cup of coffee at breakfast. He was our waiter one day at breakfast, as there was a lack of staff, and when he came over to ask us what we wanted he simply said "Tell me." And then he stood there with a stone face looking at us. Honestly, I thought this was a very rude, and strange way of asking your guests what they would like to eat for breakfast. I also fell one day and asked if he had any antiseptic or a first aid kit, and again I got a rude answer that I could go to the pharmacy. All in all a wonderful place, but the owner could do with a course or two in hospitality.

Also if you order anything extra with breakfast, like juice, you will be billed for it. Which would be fine but breakfast was included in the price and I have never experienced a place where you get billed for a glass of juice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Quite simply Baan Manali ticked all the boxes for what we wanted in Ko Phangan if not anywhere I've stayed whilst traveling. Excellent spacious and tastefully designed bungalows nestled within an extremely well kept but natural looking garden which sits literally metres from the beach easily fitting the bill for anyone looking for a little paradise away from the mayhem of Haad Rin.

Family run by a French/Israeli couple with a small team of locals who help maintain a great level of service. Their chef, Carl?, is absolutely brilliant. We rarely ate out because there was so much to try, with the menu reflecting the cultures of the owners and their team.

It's a 10 minute walk to Thong Sala and then about 15 mins by cab to Haad Rin but that was just never a problem.

The place just has so much character, even down to Jimmy the dog who's owned by a neighbour but spends most of his time getting to know the guests. Coolest dog on Ko Phangan. No wonder he pretty much lives at Baan Manali, paradise!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrstott87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.6 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
5.8 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
6.5 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Property: Baan Manali Resort
Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing