We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place but restaurant not special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longtail Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Thong Nai Pan Yai is maybe the most beautiful beach on Koh Phangan. We both loved it a LOT. Longtail is situated on the south end of the beach and is a very nice little resort with a cosy restaurant. We had the only seafront bungalow since we made a reservation in advance because it is our honeymoon. On arrival we were congratulated on our marriage and were presented with two fresh young coconuts. Nice gesture.

Other than this first warm welcome, the staff was a bit bored and uninterested. We didn't see them smiling a lot. Food in the restaurant is not very authentic Thai, but not bad either. Just a bit bland. But, I must admit we are food-snobs and we love spicy really authentic Thai food.
Breakfast was good, I can recommend the French Toast.

Unfortunately all resort bars seem to close at 10 PM nowadays. Impossible to get a Singha after 10 to just sit and chill till late...

Bungalow was simple but nice. Smart bathroom, hot water. Airco works very well. Bed was rock hard, as all beds in Thailand seem to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Bungalows are very basic and modest but if you're just looking for a place to crash, this is the perfect choice. Laid back atmosphere and a really, really nice restaurant where you can hang out with fellow travellers. Also the food is amazing!

The resort is located at the far south end of the beach. Not the best place to swim so you should walk more to the middle of the beach. Service was really good and friendly. No wifi in the rooms but the restaurant/reception area offers a proper signal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gusse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just 2 nights on a quick stop between tao n samui

The hotel was very reasonable for around £20 for a beach bungalow with aircon

The rooms are clean but be prepared to get bit as you are in the jungle part

The hotel is located in a very quite bay and if your after nightlife then I would avoid as its quite by 11 but great if you have kids as beach is quite

Not much in way of shopping etc but a few nice restaurants n the food in the hotel is great

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshlee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Good accommodation at very reasonable prices, Thailand as it should be! Stayed in an air con bungalow set back off the beach, basic but perfect, hammock on the veranda, clean but snug room. Beach setting is perfect, easy enough to get too, food was speedy and delicious, some of the best we had! Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Longtail for 5 nights in August 2013 when backpacking around Thailand. I cannot recommend this resort enough. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We stayed in bungalow C7 and although it was the most basic, it had everything we could have needed (and as my sister pointed out why pay extra for air con and a hot shower when a cold shower and a fan did the same for a lot cheaper!). The resort itself is at the end of the beach, tucked away so as to be far away from the noise and peaceful yet it is still easy to walk into the town and down the beach to other restaurants. In addition to offering exceptional value for money accommodation, the restaurant at Longtail was fantastic. We experimented with other restaurants along the beach but quickly came to realise that Longtail was not only the best value for money but their food is some of the best I've tasted in all of Thailand. Would particularly recommend their glass noodle seafood salad and the red seafood curry with poached bananas in coconut milk for desert!

Overall a wonderful 6 days in paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraHH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Longtail Beach Resort and I only wish it had been longer. I was a bit apprenhensive about how basic the bungalows would be, and they were pretty basic, but I loved it. The room had just a bed in it, with a bathroom attached at one side. Bed was comfortable and had a mosquito net over it. When I booked, the room was a fan only room, but when we turned up, they had had air conditioning installed in our bungalow which was a bonus. We used it, for a slightly higher price than the original fan only price, and it was the quietest air cond we came across on our trip. It was great.

The location is beautiful, right on Thong Nai Pan Yai beach. The water is flat calm and blue and the beach is sandy and clean.

The restaurant at Longtail is also fantastic. Reasonable prices and a great selection of dishes. We tried lots of different things at breakfast and lunch, and all were delicious.

Longtail really is the best value for money in my opinion. We hope to return next year, for a longer stay - already looking forward to it!! Thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We had one of the most basic rooms and it was just fine, all you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fieryangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Longtail beach resort is a must! The simple life at its best! Me & my husband spent three glorious days here whilst travelling on our honeymoon. Before your stay drop them an email & ask for hut 1, it's by far the best spot right on the beach! Take a good book & relax in the hammock whist watching the day go by! Thangnai beach is beautiful! Paradise with a capital P! If your lucky the manager will even swing by with a free coconut drink freshly picked from the trees! For the price longtail really is excellent!

Room Tip: Beach hut one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
739 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longtail Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longtail Beach Resort

Address: Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Longtail Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longtail Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing