We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Longtail Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlight Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo Bungalows(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
254
100
23
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
100
23
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conenglish ladykoh phanganthong nai panlow seasonthai foodrestaurants and barsstayed here for nightsother guestsmosquito netpeace and quietper nightamazing foodfull moon partyfanbungalowhuts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The beach is quite nice. Several fishing boats anchored just off the resort's beach, but if you walk a few minutes up the beach, there are some nice areas to sit in the gentle waves.

In August, the heat was brutal, 93F, felt like 110F. And don't forget the bug spray. I did, and the mosquitoes were unbearable. The bungalows are very basic. What you get for about $20/night is a hard bed, a fan (for $10 more, they'll turn on the AC), and hot water in the shower. You don't get soap, and if you want more than one roll of toilet paper, you'll have to buy it at the reception desk. I think there was maid service, but only every third day. And there's a nice hammock on the patio.

The common area/restaurant was quite okay if the mosquitoes left you alone. I loved the mango juice, and the yogurt with fresh fruit. I'd eat yogurt every day if I could get it the way I did in Koh Phangan.There are plenty of places to dine up the beach, but they are all pretty much the same, with slight variations on the menu.

When you want to go back to the ferry, or some other part of the island, you have to pay 200 Baht per person for the shared taxi to Thong Sala. Technically that's a rip-off, but the price is still quite affordable and noone's going to argue.

Room Tip: I don't think it really mattered to have the bungalow right at the beach. You were then next to the restaurant, and had little privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my partner spent 3 nights at the Longtail beach resort on the last week of August. The resort was exactly what we were looking for: quiet, simple and good value for money. We had a bungalow with aircon a few steps from one of the nicest beaches in the island for less than £20 a night. The bungalows are basic but have mosquito nets and hammocks on the veranda and the restaurant offers a selection of Thai and Western dishes, as well as fresh fruit juices and cocktails. The area is pretty quiet and hard to get to, and other than a few trekking routes there isn't much to do, but it's perfect to unwind for a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolavulkano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Thong Nai Pan Yai is maybe the most beautiful beach on Koh Phangan. We both loved it a LOT. Longtail is situated on the south end of the beach and is a very nice little resort with a cosy restaurant. We had the only seafront bungalow since we made a reservation in advance because it is our honeymoon. On arrival we were congratulated on our marriage and were presented with two fresh young coconuts. Nice gesture.

Other than this first warm welcome, the staff was a bit bored and uninterested. We didn't see them smiling a lot. Food in the restaurant is not very authentic Thai, but not bad either. Just a bit bland. But, I must admit we are food-snobs and we love spicy really authentic Thai food.
Breakfast was good, I can recommend the French Toast.

Unfortunately all resort bars seem to close at 10 PM nowadays. Impossible to get a Singha after 10 to just sit and chill till late...

Bungalow was simple but nice. Smart bathroom, hot water. Airco works very well. Bed was rock hard, as all beds in Thailand seem to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Bungalows are very basic and modest but if you're just looking for a place to crash, this is the perfect choice. Laid back atmosphere and a really, really nice restaurant where you can hang out with fellow travellers. Also the food is amazing!

The resort is located at the far south end of the beach. Not the best place to swim so you should walk more to the middle of the beach. Service was really good and friendly. No wifi in the rooms but the restaurant/reception area offers a proper signal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gusse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just 2 nights on a quick stop between tao n samui

The hotel was very reasonable for around £20 for a beach bungalow with aircon

The rooms are clean but be prepared to get bit as you are in the jungle part

The hotel is located in a very quite bay and if your after nightlife then I would avoid as its quite by 11 but great if you have kids as beach is quite

Not much in way of shopping etc but a few nice restaurants n the food in the hotel is great

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshlee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews