We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phanang beach resort review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We loved it here, nicely presented resort right on the beach with white sands, palm trees , the whole package.

Food was excellent and Andy, Daci and Adam were accomodating and helpful towards us over both the full moon and half moon events (despite us breaking something accidently in one of the rooms) Only problem I had was the moquitos and the unfortunate freak weather, but otherwise this is a lovely resort that i'm sure would please most. If some people had anything short of a lovely stay here then thats a shame and perhaps a bit unfortunate. Personally I wish we were back there, we will defo be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

great review, thank you so much , our pleasure to have you back in the near future even if you break things lol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

though the pictures look great and it is situated next to the beach, we had a horrible time there. the place is dirty, there was no window and no closet in the room. we had to take cold showers and once we decided to check out earlier due to the conditions we have been refused to get back our pre payment for the rest of the time.your dog is getting a better attitude than we had there

Room Tip: simply, don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yfarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

thank you for giving me the opportunity to reply to this review as we where expecting it, i would just like to explain that unfortunately from the moment you walked into the reception area of the resort and was being very rude to the receptionist ,on the check in policy it clearlystates that bookings must be paid for on arrival? this you was unwilling to do? to help the situation the receptionist then explained it was possible to leave a small deposit so you could check in and still you didnt want to do this, the owner was called ,by your request (my partner) and she explained that this was right and it was company policy and the receptionist was only doing what she does with all of the other happy guests whome check in ,once you started to raise your voices at the poor receptionist this isnt very polite ,the following day the same happened with the waitress? raising your voices ,i would like to explain that all of our staff are trained to a high standard but please understand this,they are here to serve you and NOT your servants ,i myself was called to explain to you both when you decided to check out early, as stated in the check in policy that bookings over the full moon period are not refundable due to the high demand for rooms running up to the party, other times this is not a problem and a refund would have been given ,the rooms are clean ,you also mention that there where no windows? this unfortunately is not true as the budget room that you booked has a full front glass window and a rear window allowing a lot of light ,also you mentioned that the shower was cold? this is true ,the 2 budget rooms we have do come with a cold shower but again this is explained in the room description prior to booking the room ,so in conclusion ,i am unhappy that you did not enjoy your time with us at phangan beach but please understand when you treat people like dogs just remember they are only doing their jobs and shouldnt be treated in this way as im sure you do not do in your country of origin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Unfortunately, we stayed at this Resort for only three nights, but it was simply amazing and I will definitely go back there. The Bungalows are simply cute and when you go out of them you stand in the middle of a private beach with an incredible sea view. The Bungalow and the Pool where clean, only the Bathroom was a little bit "out-dated", but at least it was clean.
The food tasted good and you can enjoy it at the beach. The staff was very kind and helpful and the atmosphere there was nothing but comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

thanks guys , so happy you enjoyed your time here at pbr , makes all the hard work worth while

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I don't normally write reviews for anything but it would be rude not to let the world know about this place! Hard to say all the things that make the resort special.I visited here over 3 years ago and although it's a top resort it also has that social hostel vibe...the owners Andy and Dacuk make sure everyone feels welcome and have things setup in such a way that you could arrive on your own and still be heading out with a group of friends every night!

I returned recently and found that things had only become better. Now there is a sweet pool to chill and recover beside. It's easy to come here and just relax by the pool or the beach bar drinking singhas and eating great food but if you want the craziness then no worries, there will always be something arranged to make sure you get there. Particularly as Adam, the man who seems to do everything from manage the bar to repairs to organising party buses, is always there to help.

I can't speak highly enough of PBR. I've been twice, I've stayed weeks more than intended, I've met friends for life, I've woken up on every hammock available at the resort despite having a room, and I've lost more memories of nights out than is safe...so will I be back?? Absolutely!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, modern and comfortable...basically depending on budget you can get the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

always a pleasure to have return guests , so happy you where happy with all the new changes , hopefully see you again for your 3rd visit very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed in Koh Phangan beach resort for five nights over the full moon party.
Resort was great value for money - rooms were good for price.
Pool and surrounding areas very clean and food was nice - although slightly more expensive then surrounding restaurants.
On our last night the bar man, Adam, had left to go home for England for four weeks. After this it seemed as though the service was just awful, waited at the restaurant bar for ages for someone to acknowledge me and the staff were constantly sitting out the back talking to each other.
Because Adam wasn't there the beach bar was shut and there was no music and no atmosphere. When I asked the restaurant bar staff for a vodka and lemonade they said sorry the only drink I can have is a beer because "Adam has gone to England".
It's a shame as the rest of the time was great but I don't feel like anyone going to visit the resort over the following four weeks will feel the same if that's how it was going to be.
Overall though - good experience and great value for money. Would go back (if Adam was there!)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylamcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

thank you for taking time to write a review for the resort,it means a lot to us to gain your feedback and helps us adjust things when needed to suit the guests needs in the future,we all at phangan beach are happy that your overall stay with us went well and you enjoyed it, i have noted to my staff the comments of not being at the front counter and i apologise for this ,regarding the comments of the bar? after full moon things always slow down a little ,the guests we have for the full moon party are not always the same as the guests away from the parties, adams departure to the uk was timed for this exact reason, 1. the wet season was quickly approaching and we needed to do some maintainence on the bar and also with the weather not being so great with the wet weather it is not a big attraction to sit outside when it is raining ,the bar is open if adam is here or not if the weather permits ,i have also spoken to the waitresses regarding the lack of communication when you asked for a cocktail and this has now been addressed and rectified ,hopefully we will see you again in the future ,safe travels and again thank you for your input

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay food was very nice staff were friendly and helpful.Not going to lie we did experience the wildlife in our rooms but I expected that in a tropical country and I didn't see it as an issue. Also the rooms had nice comfy beds and room sizes are decent. The owners of the resort have turned the resort around and done an amazing job big up PBR!Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

thank you for your great review, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we are always improving things at the resort and one thing we have changed is food and beverages in the rooms, this has drastically reduced all the natural critters you would find on a tropical island ,im sure you would agree when you come back , some amazing changes since the last visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at this resort in August 2013 as we wanted to go to the Full Moon Party (the hotel transfers were brilliant btw) but it our experience was nothing like most of the reviews on this page. This was one of the most expensive rooms we stayed in during our trip around Thailand and it was the most minimal of them all. I understand that for the period we stayed prices are inflated but we didn't even have hot water. We had paid 500 baht for rooms that had air con, breakfast, wi-fi, fridge, power shower etc but on this occasion all we had was a fan that sounded like a Chinook helicopter. We didn't need all of these facilities obviously but the for the price we paid we thought they would be as standard. Also we asked for our room to be cleaned half way through our 5 night stay and instead of getting new bedding, towels etc our bed was just made up with no new bedding, and was even dirtier than before with there now being dirty footprints on the pillow cases. When we went to ask for clean pillow cases, we were just handed them to put on ourselves and the guy on reception just smiled and said 'they must have dropped them'. Everyone says that Adam is an 'amazing guy', but when we asked for anything like taxis or wanted to order food it seemed like it was a burden, especially when he had to stop talking to large groups of lads to help other guests. A great location though, just don't expect your stay to be as perfect as everyone makes out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

thank you for taking your time to write a review, your opinions are important to us, i have looked into the comments left and would like to apologise .at the end of july had a change in staff within our house keeping department ,2 of the new staff where on trial and seems that we made the right decision not to employ them as per your comments, at phangan beach resort we are commited to cleanliness and this is our top priority and unfortunately this was not kept up to our high expectations with the new staff members so we had to let them go ,we now have a new house keeping system to avoid this from ever happening again,regarding our room prices ? we keep a tight check on room costs on a regular basis ,our rooms are not expensive by any means, there are dorm rooms on koh phangan who are charging 1200 to 1500 baht per night to share a room with 15 other guests ,our prices are much cheaper than this as you can get your very own private bungalow 20 meters from the ocean for less than 1000 baht for 2 people ,we do have 2 budget rooms for the traveller on a tight budget and the prices of these start from 250 baht per person ,i have also spoken to adam and asked him to be a little more attentive while talking to other guests in case other guests are waiting for information ,again i apologise for the house keeping matter and i am very happy that we have now solved this brief issue .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
249 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#24 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
774 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
164 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Address: 111 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £10 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing