We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great/ Depends what you're after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good but not great/ Depends what you're after”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Overall this place was very nice and relaxing. Words like amazing and perfection are not something I throw around easily & I can't say they apply to this place. That doesn't mean it was bad as it wasn't, I just want to provide an accurate review & I think a lot of people are easily pleased. First, note that although it's called a resort, it really isn't if you have been to resorts around the world. I would honestly say it is more like an upscale backpackers but on a great part of the beach with good facilities. Most places in Asia are called resorts anyway. They don't help you with your bags at all & one of the first things you are told is that they don't allow food and drink from others places. I think this is a little strict considering this isn't a resort by any means & they don't seem to apply this same strictness to the customer service they offer. We stayed in a wooden bungalow right in the beach. Location was perfect as bungalow B5 was the last one furthest away from the pool and most quiet. The bungalows are basic and there isn't much room at all. The bathroom is attached to the bungalow and is just a shower over the toilet. Mosquitos come in easily in the bathroom as it is open around the sides of the roof. The restaurant food is average with average service and prices far too high. The pool area is really great and relaxing and the bar is perfectly positioned on the beach. There are hammocks and sun beds on the beach in front of the bungalows but the problem is people from other places seem to just walk along and use them all day. Seeing as the staff are so strict about food I would expect they monitor this so the beach can be used for resort guests but they don't bother. A couple of times it was hard to use the beach in front of our bungalow or relax as there were families from other areas sitting themselves in front and loudly chatting all day. In saying this, the beach is really nice. Wifi only works in the restaurant. The laundry service is way too expensive at 70 baht for express service when just in front of the driveway for the resort I put laundry in for 1.5kg for 40 baht for 3hr express! I would recommend people stay here but it is over priced for the service that's provided which I would say in my time here was lacking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
thank you for your review, it means a lot to us and helps us review our own policies to our guests expectations,if i may i would like to try and clear some of the more negative points in your review if possible. regarding the food and drinks policy ? we do ask our guests not to bring in food and drinks from outside to the resort for more than one reason, the first being obviously that the restaurant and bar would suffer if every body wanted to bring their own drinks in ,we keep our prices at a minimum to allow every body to enjoy the restaurant and bar, compared to say the street market then i agree we are more expensive but compared to 80 % of the other resorts on ban tai beach we are very competative, especially our beach bar specials and our theme nights where you can eat as much mexican as you like for around 3$ or our indian evenings or beach bbqs ,we are very much customer focused in this area , as a once global traveller myself in my earlier years i also understand the term resort, true we are not disney world resort or one of the other larger corporates but as you understand the term resort is a word used openly in asia to describe a small hote/lodging ect . laundry service is priced accordingly to the island , the laundry you mentioned is an old lady with no overheads and does it as a hobby really so i would expect this to be a much lower price but i also understand that the quality is not up to our laundry standard. the last point i would like to try and clear is the comment of other people on the beach using the chairs and hammocks ect? ,in thailand all beaches are public ,they are owner by the king of thailand and it is not allowed to stop people walking on public property ,the same policy applies to those from other resorts regarding food and beverages but it is a very difficult thing to control and most people who do use the beds and hammocks are using them to rest during their walks along our beautiful coastline ,we all at phangan beach resort are very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay at the resort and would love to meet you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    115
    29
    32
    42
See reviews for
24
172
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I feel a bit bias writing this, as this was my THIRD time staying here in 3 years. The family keep welcoming me back, and I'm always thrilled to return. Phangan Beach Resort is beautiful, and the recent upgrades to the rooms are great. It has a quiet, private beach, a beautiful pool, massages, kite surfing, friendly bar staff (Adam). The food in the restaurant is well priced and tasty, with plenty of variety. They go out of their way to make everyone's experience amazing. They put on great events like Mexican buffet night, which was delicious! I just cannot recommend this place highly enough to anyone. The atmosphere is perfect for relaxing during the day, and you're close enough to find the parties at night! Oh, and don't feed Rocky (the dog) any more, he's getting fat!

Room Tip: Get air con if you can as it's pretty hot, but the fixed ceiling fans are more than adequate if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leaturner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
wonderful review, rest assured I will pass on your comments , a big thank you from all of us at pbr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A beautiful private beach, tasty food at good prices, hammocks to nap in, friendly bar to meet other travellers, comfy beds, service with a smile. All at a super reasonable price. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
amazing review, thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This place is truly a great resort offering great food, excellent staff who only clean the room when you want (this keeps prices down and makes perfect sense to me) once you ask consider it done.

Restaurant is great with free wifi that extends to the beach.

Adam, Andy and the crew absolutley look after you. Especially Adam if you are into the party scene!

Cant talk this place up enough, its not a '5 star' resort by anymeans, but it dosnt pretend to be one. The value for money is exceptional. After staying here I will never stay anywhere else on the island.

Thanks Guys and sorry for taking so long for my review!! Keep it up!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
forgiven lol , great review and well worth the wait, hope to see you again in the near future, your pbr team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and girlfriend had a fantastic stay at PBR. The rooms are perfectly equipped and the resort itself has everything one could want. Andy was great with arranging taxi's to the Half moon party as well as offering advise on anything (what to do about a crashed scooter in our case) . The bar and restaurant are a little more expensive than surrounding spots but well worth it for the atmosphere and convenience. I saw a couple reviews about people getting lectures about how much each piece of furniture costs to replace, we experienced nothing of the sort.
B5 was a great room if you want to be a little away from the bar as the music could be a little loud if you're wanting an early night. Although a tree does obstruct the view of the sunset.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2015
thank you for taking your time to write us a review, it means a lot , so happy you enjoyed your stay , hopefully see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is one man who makes this resort and his name is Tat.

Tat is the coolest mutha in one of the hottest climates. We can all learn from Tat. In Tat we trust.

The location of the resort is great, all the warm-up parties are close and they're better than the main full moon attraction anyway. The staff are really helpful...and fun too. The atmosphere is good, everyone gets along and the vibes are sweet.

Waking up, climbing out of bed and walking straight onto the beach will never get old. Jumping into a hammock for a nap won't either.

Also, TAT.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2015
cheers guys for the great review, means a lot to us all here at pbr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We loved it here, nicely presented resort right on the beach with white sands, palm trees , the whole package.

Food was excellent and Andy, Daci and Adam were accomodating and helpful towards us over both the full moon and half moon events (despite us breaking something accidently in one of the rooms) Only problem I had was the moquitos and the unfortunate freak weather, but otherwise this is a lovely resort that i'm sure would please most. If some people had anything short of a lovely stay here then thats a shame and perhaps a bit unfortunate. Personally I wish we were back there, we will defo be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2015
great review, thank you so much , our pleasure to have you back in the near future even if you break things lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
231 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Property: Phangan Beach Resort
Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing