We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad management/staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Bad management/staff”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We arrived around 9:00pm, and had to find someone to check us in as the management were at the bar. We had been travelling all day without the chance to eat, but unfortunately their restaurant was closed even though it's supposed to remain open until 10pm. We did not mind this so much, but when we asked her where we could go to eat (You are not allowed to bring food into the resort, and it is a bit of walk out to the street), she basically just told us to "walk out and find some place." Really unhelpful since we were not familiar with Koh Phangnan at all. She could have at least told us that the few restaurants there were out on the street stop serving food at 10pm (which, by the time we checked into our rooms and walked out to the street, it was 10). We had to walk for ages and ask many bars trying to find just one place that still sells food. It was a really crappy start to our stay.

The next night after some small talk with english bartender, we ordered two cocktails. He put it on our room tab then grabbed a beer for himself and said "a beer for myself?" We didn't feel like we could say no, and he added it to our room tab. We found it really rude and unprofessional.

Unfortunately the staff really gave a really bad vibe to this resort. The restaurant food was not very good for the prices and also considering it's difficult to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
unrealistic review but thank you for your time writing nonsense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    117
    32
    33
    42
See reviews for
25
175
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at PBR for 4 night in a fan room. The resort is right on the beach and the staff are all very nice. The restaurant serves great food and we ate here every night. We met a friend at power beach resort just up the road from phangan beach resort, their resort was dreadful and I couldn't believe it was more expensive too! If you are going to phangan, this place will put a smile in your face and leave you with some money in your pocket!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
so happy you enjoyed your stay , I will pass on all of your kind comments to the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This may be my favorite place I stayed while traveling all through Thailand, you truly get treated like family here! The beach is really nice and chill with a kite boarding school on it and a spa right next door where you can get massages while looking at the ocean. Its a quick taxi over to Had Riin for 100baht too. Adam the bartender is one crazy motherf***er and probably the coolest person I've ever met. He knows where to go out and party on the island, take his advice he wont steer you in the wrong direction. Dace, one of the owners is the sweetest lady and really cares about the guests. Had such a great and memorable experience here!! Love the Phangan Beach Resort, I will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
wonderful review, it is our pleasure to read such positive comments and I will pass on your comments to our wonderful staff who work so very hard, look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Great place, good price, on the beach.

Kite school is on the beach if you are in to kiting, or want to try it for the first time, they serve good food, beach bar, 5 minutes to the night market, best place to eat dinner.

Would go again, paid about 45$cad per night

Enjoy

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I couldn't get a room as they were fully booked so I stayed nearby. I did eat breakfast here every morning and usually dinner for during my one week (the best one our group had out of all our stays in Thailand. it's that good, decent coffee, REAL fresh orange juice, basically all of it really, really good.)The place looks great with a lovely pool and manicured gardens and it pays attention to little details which the other places in the area I've been in don't. If I return to this beach this resort will be my first choice for accommodation (and food!)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
thank you so much for your review, we sometimes get negative comments regarding our food in the restaurant, especially regarding pricing, we monitor our prices regularly and are very competitive, ok it is more expensive than the night market for sure but we only use quality products ensuring a quality meal in an amazing setting, so glad you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very good resort ,clean tidy a great view from our beach bungalow.Great value for money people forget it is only three star.Owners very keen to please Adam behind bar a real star.One problem I had no kettle in room being an early riser no where to get tea or coffee, Andy said he might address the suituation .Pool fantastic only good things to say .You pay for what you get great value for money, food and drink i found very reasonable for a hotel.All in all great holiday would return.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room with ac, worth extra for view alone and ac a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
thank you so very much for your kind words, we do take action regarding customers comments and since your departure we started to open the beach side restaurant 1 hour earlier so guests can get their early bird drinks and food , its always good to listen and take action to your guests requests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Overall this place was very nice and relaxing. Words like amazing and perfection are not something I throw around easily & I can't say they apply to this place. That doesn't mean it was bad as it wasn't, I just want to provide an accurate review & I think a lot of people are easily pleased. First, note that although it's called a resort, it really isn't if you have been to resorts around the world. I would honestly say it is more like an upscale backpackers but on a great part of the beach with good facilities. Most places in Asia are called resorts anyway. They don't help you with your bags at all & one of the first things you are told is that they don't allow food and drink from others places. I think this is a little strict considering this isn't a resort by any means & they don't seem to apply this same strictness to the customer service they offer. We stayed in a wooden bungalow right in the beach. Location was perfect as bungalow B5 was the last one furthest away from the pool and most quiet. The bungalows are basic and there isn't much room at all. The bathroom is attached to the bungalow and is just a shower over the toilet. Mosquitos come in easily in the bathroom as it is open around the sides of the roof. The restaurant food is average with average service and prices far too high. The pool area is really great and relaxing and the bar is perfectly positioned on the beach. There are hammocks and sun beds on the beach in front of the bungalows but the problem is people from other places seem to just walk along and use them all day. Seeing as the staff are so strict about food I would expect they monitor this so the beach can be used for resort guests but they don't bother. A couple of times it was hard to use the beach in front of our bungalow or relax as there were families from other areas sitting themselves in front and loudly chatting all day. In saying this, the beach is really nice. Wifi only works in the restaurant. The laundry service is way too expensive at 70 baht for express service when just in front of the driveway for the resort I put laundry in for 1.5kg for 40 baht for 3hr express! I would recommend people stay here but it is over priced for the service that's provided which I would say in my time here was lacking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
thank you for your review, it means a lot to us and helps us review our own policies to our guests expectations,if i may i would like to try and clear some of the more negative points in your review if possible. regarding the food and drinks policy ? we do ask our guests not to bring in food and drinks from outside to the resort for more than one reason, the first being obviously that the restaurant and bar would suffer if every body wanted to bring their own drinks in ,we keep our prices at a minimum to allow every body to enjoy the restaurant and bar, compared to say the street market then i agree we are more expensive but compared to 80 % of the other resorts on ban tai beach we are very competative, especially our beach bar specials and our theme nights where you can eat as much mexican as you like for around 3$ or our indian evenings or beach bbqs ,we are very much customer focused in this area , as a once global traveller myself in my earlier years i also understand the term resort, true we are not disney world resort or one of the other larger corporates but as you understand the term resort is a word used openly in asia to describe a small hote/lodging ect . laundry service is priced accordingly to the island , the laundry you mentioned is an old lady with no overheads and does it as a hobby really so i would expect this to be a much lower price but i also understand that the quality is not up to our laundry standard. the last point i would like to try and clear is the comment of other people on the beach using the chairs and hammocks ect? ,in thailand all beaches are public ,they are owner by the king of thailand and it is not allowed to stop people walking on public property ,the same policy applies to those from other resorts regarding food and beverages but it is a very difficult thing to control and most people who do use the beds and hammocks are using them to rest during their walks along our beautiful coastline ,we all at phangan beach resort are very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay at the resort and would love to meet you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
234 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#22 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
158 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Property: Phangan Beach Resort
Address: 111 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing