We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frindly staff and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Frindly staff and clean rooms”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

You get your own personal cottage like room. Good size. Very clean. Breakfast included. We loved it. They were doing construction on the pool area so we only stayed one night. We really needed that dip in the pool after a long day in the sun. But we would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    94
    52
    21
    32
See reviews for
30
135
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Nice spacious rooms, green territory. Helpfull staff. Some rooms were being renovated. Ban Tai is not the best beach on the island, however worth spending couple of nights. Very close to Thong Sala.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Da Kanda! We are in our early 20’s and were there for 7 nights around the new years eve full moon party on ko Phangan. The staff were amazing! They were so friendly and helpful and they were always willing to answer our questions, make recommendations and regularly checked up on how we were doing. While we were there another guest had had a bad fall off a scooter and the hotel staff cleaned and dressed her wounds regularly- I think this just shows what a friendly, helpful bunch they really were.

The rooms were really nice and very clean. The pool was great also and the location right on a really nice stretch of beach was unbeatable. Lying on the deck by the pool & looking out over the water was priceless. It was a peaceful location yet only a few minutes walk into Thongsala which was great. Thongsala had great shopping and lots of yummy food places, the night markets (just a 1 minute walk from resort) are a must see. We also found it no trouble getting a tuk tuk into the full moon party, this only took about 15minutes and usually cost 100B each which we thought wasn’t bad at all. It was even quicker to get to the half moon party. The hotel staff were happy to organise for a tuk tuk to pick us up but they also regularly drove passed the resort. We loved the location and would definitely stay there again if we were going to the full moon party- it is nice to be able to get out of the hussle.

The food at the resort was delicious and very well priced, not resort pricing at all! We ended up eating there lots of times and thoroughly recommend the beach BBQ’s! These were fantastic, tables and chairs were set out on the sand with fairy lights. You picked out what type of fresh seafood you would like from a display and they cook it up for you in delicious spices/sauces, and once again this was also very well priced. The BBQ’s attracted many people from other resorts also.

We would 100% recommend Da Kanda to anyone and would certainly stay there again in a heart beat. We have stayed at a total of 4 resorts in Thailand so far around Ko Samui, Ko Phangan, Phi Phi Island and phuket and Da Kanda was my favourite!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We (myself and 8 friends) stayed at Da Kanda Villas as part of our tour of Thailand. This was our accommodation of choice in Koh Phangan and it certainly came up trumps. The pool side villas were clean and quiet with AC and we felt at home from start to finish. Special thanks to the committed staff and especially Addy who seemed to be a jack of all trades during our stay, always happy to arrange every thing possible and get the BBQ going during the Island wide power cuts. This place is great value for money with local charm. The only thing that wasn't to my liking was the shallow waters off the beach requiring a 300m walk through the shallows before being able to swim in any depth of water. This is however the same for any of the resorts down this particular stretch of coast between Thong Sala and Baan Tai.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaz4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Me and my friend went backpacking around Thailand in November for two weeks. Koh Phangan was our first stop on our adventure - the Full Moon Party. We choose to stay at Da Kanda as it was far enough away from all the madness of Hadd Rin to enjoy the tranquillity of thailand in the day.

The room was lovely, we were set back from the beach towards to road but this made no difference to the stay, the room is simple with the basics - small fridge, air con, hammock on the porch and televison with a range of channels in different languages. The best part of the room was of course the outdoor shower! I've not got a problem with bugs so was no problem sharing the shower with a giant grasshopper, kind of added to the experience.

The swimming pool was fine (no green water like the previous post) and was very refreshing to have a early evening swim in!

The resturant at the hotel was great the food was lovely, apart from one but that was probably down to my personal choice rather than anything else. One evening we went for the catch of the day option - where in the morning you choose from a list what fish you want in the evening and come dinner time the most amazing meal and a very fait portion two! Most memorable meal of the whole trip.

Now too the staff ...they were great, very friendly, spoke fairly good english and helped arrange our day trip (the nature trek - highly recommend!). They also arranged our ferry-coach-ferry trip to Koh Phi Phi, something I was dreading trying to arrange, which included free transfer to Thong Sala pier for the 6am ferry. They even came to our room at 11pm one night when I managed to lock myself out of the bathroom to fix it.

Overall fantastic start to my trip, would happily go back again - such good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

After living 5 years in Thailand we never had such a bad experience!

No shower and the water had funny smell abs color. Our ac was barely working. When we complained we've been told they will check in the morning.

At 1am tge electricity went off at 1am and the room was so hot we could not sleep. Not even emergency lights. Power was restored at 6am. We had sleepless night. In the morning nobody in the lobby.

Pool was sooo warm it felt like bathtub. Restaurant was like home kitchen with fast food thai food only.

This beach in not nice. Pick another location. In fact - go to anothet place on thailand. The whole islabd is full of rip-off places wuth no basic services. Eeach ride on pickup will cost you 100 to 150 thb. No deals to be found.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vladaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We have stayed in a couple of places in Ko Phangan and we liked this one the most.
It looks a bit concrete from the outside but once inside it is a little gem.
First the location;At the beach and a 5 minute walk to Thongsala, where there are some nice restaurants and pubs and a good nightmarket for some delicious food.
And Thai people. After spending some time in a resort on Had Salad and on Malibu beach in a tourist-only environment in a bay with only other resorts this was quite a relief. Thongsala is a good location to explore the rest of the island.
Then the resort; It opened about 3 months ago so everything is new. They have about 20 separate beach bungalows with air con, a fridge, an outside bathroom, and satellite tv. There was wifi and a internet terminal at the restaurant for free. We paid 800 baht a night so that was a bargain.
Pool was nice, you can have a good breakfast and the staff is very friendly. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuusWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#18 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#31 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Property: Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing