We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, solid no frills accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is by no means a luxury resort, but that doesn't mean that it wasn't lovely. The staff at reception and the restaurant / bar go above and beyond every time you have a question or concern. We were there during Full Moon and were never made to feel like a bother even though they were swamped.

We had a garden view villa right beside the pool. This is recommended. The pool is nice and it looks out onto the beach. Can't ask for much more while recovering from a long night at Full Moon!

Location is great. Close to port, restaurants, shops, markets, etc.

Rooms were pretty clean. We have very high standards for cleanliness too. Be warned that the washrooms are a bit of an afterthought. They are concrete bunkers tacked on to the side. Again, everything works well, but it is not fancy.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Big thanks to the staff for their hospitality!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the garden view villa near the pool / beach / restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Got "flash deal" £50 something per night %60 off for villa thought that sounds good. On arrival we got free upgrade to cottage as all villas were booked. Thought wow thats mint! Walked in our cottage villa and wanted to cry after travelling from nice hotel to this... They had shower and big size bath ...bath was full of old dried leafs looked like not been cleaned for a month also roof bit wasn't fully finished so their a was hole between it and the wall so I was scared to go most of the night as all sorts of species can get in. Doors wont shut properly either. First thing we did got spray to kill mosquitos. Room wasn't amazing either old TV's old curtains. Seemed like all of it needed good spring clean and a bit of refurbishment. First night i just didn't want to go back to the room. On the last night we forgot to spray mosquito spray so woke up today all itching seemed like i been eaten alive. Bar is overpriced too for what it is. If i could for place itself i would give 0 stars the only good thing is its close to beach has small swimming pool and bananas growing around . Staff cut a bunch of fresh bananas for us one morning which was nice of them. So if you not too fussed were u staying,dont spend much time in bedroom and can get a room for £10 yeah go for it otherwise its not forth it. We had great time in island but poor hotels like this can spoil a moment sometimes.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Indre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

if your looking for someplace to relax this is the spot.Its close to the town and right on the beach,The staff are friendly and cant do enough for you. The girls on the front desk are two of the most helpful and the resturant staff are very friendly over all it was a very enjoyable stay for two Irish men over christmas

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Positives: What makes this hotel very good is the staff, especially May from Burma who works at reception. She is lovely, funny, no nonsense and makes you feel at home.

We were there for New Years and they did a great buffet with some entertainment, including May doing a speech (she is clearly respected by the Manager and owners - and should be!)

Location is excellent, unless you want to be in heart of partying in which case you need to stay in Haad Rin - its about a 15 min motorbike ride from Da Kanda hotel.

The beach is lovely and quiet. Lots of friendly doggies.

We didn't eat much at the restaurant as we were eating out at night markets nearly every night, and at Ando Loco's Mexican for lunch - an absolute must those two places!

Negatives: If you are going to stay in this hotel - make sure you get a bungalow by the beach or near the pool, as the general rooms next to and above reception are pretty average and don't quite feel like a 'resort' and didn't quite feel clean. Our drains and sink in bathroom also needed some serious drain-aid - they were constantly getting blocked!

Probably a bit overpriced but only because we were there Xmas time and everything seemed to be overpriced!

Overall would stay there again - at beach bungalow.

P.s. if owners read this you need to hold on to May! She makes your hotel...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort two times by now, and I'm pretty sure I'll come back for the third one.

First of all, the location is really great: it's located near by the capital of Koh Phangan, Thong Sala, which means there are a lot of restaurants, convenient stores and tourists shops. One of the ferry stations is within 10 minutes walk if you want to go to other island. On weekends there is a walking street market and it takes about 5 minutes to get there from the hotel.

Although it's really close to Thong Sala, Da Kanda has a very nice private beach at the end of the beachline, so there are no strangers there. You can see Koh Samui from that beach and some other islands.

I've only lived in bungalows, but they are really neat. All bungalows have huge windows at three sides and are located in breathtaking tropical garden (except for seaview ones, they are half garden/half beach). There are even hanging bananas. There are a hair dryer and a kettle in every bungalow, which is pretty rare for island resorts in Thailand.

The service is really great. All the staff are extra-friendly and nice, they are really there to help and to ensure you have a great holiday. During the breakfast all waiters were talking to the guests, always ready to give an advice. The food is very nice, too.

Wi-fi improved since the last time I've been here, now it works flawlessly even during the thunderstorms.

If you are going for a vacation and looking for some nice, cozy place to enjoy the nature and also looking for some privacy at reasonable price — that's your choice.

Keep in mind that Da Kanda isn't a network of hotels, so the prices are lower for the same quality.

For those who are going to Full Moon Party the hotel provides both transfer to and from Haad Rin, where the party is held, and the ticket to the party for 100 Baht per person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazynicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was able to get the room behind the restaurant, which was fantastic as it was clean and comfortable - nice to read at the window crawl space during the day. The resort staff were all very nice and available 24/7. Great location on a quiet beach and close to lots of restaurants and the Lomporayah pier. I also rented the best quality scooter I have had out of the 4 times I've been on the island, which the resort staff helped me to arrange.
Thanks very much to Da Kanda for the memorable trip.
Jason

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jginsburg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for a week during the full moon party! It was a good location not to far out from nightlife but it was far enough out that you could enjoy the peace and quiet! It was in a great location for the food market which was also good! The hotel had a lovely pool area with access to a nice beach! Also the staff were friendly and welcoming! Hotels were basic but clean but I was really happy with how spacious the rooms were and the balcony was also really nice! We stayed in the hotel not a villa and could access the free wifi from the room! The restaurant was also good for snacks/ light bites! I would defiantly recommend and would stay again! However if your a couple wanting a fancier hotel a would consider somewhere else!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#21 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
164 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £17 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing