We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet but close to town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet but close to town.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a basic double room with a terrace. The room was a good size but all the walls were concrete, even the furniture, except the bed, it was wood. The concrete had been pressed to look like wood and painted blue and white. The very large shower was also concrete, unpainted, with huge leaf imprints. There was bath gel and hair shampoo but no soap for the wash hand basin, the only towels were 2 bath towels. The room, restaurant and grounds were very clean and well tended, the staff were very friendly. We could have moved to a bungalow with a garden, for only £6 per night. The beach bungalows looked lovely and the pool was warm and clean.

Room Tip: A garden bungalow closest to the beach would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldiesontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    95
    54
    21
    33
See reviews for
31
136
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Right on the beach, well taken care of rooms, nice pool and walking distance to everything you need. But the thing that stood out the most was the genuinely nice, friendly and super helpful people at the front desk and the restaurant. I'd highly recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here after coming from two other resorts in baan tai and this was fantastic value for money. Huge bungalow with little living room and patio, 5 steps away from the beach and a big swimming pool aswell as breakfast included. Staff were lovely very friendly, from the breakfast staff, to the gardeners, to the fantastic ladies on reception, in particular the lady with a good sense of humour, who got us a great deal on the bungalow! Location is right on a quiet beach, great to watch the sunset and very quiet at night. Short walk into town for restaurants and bars. Food was good and reasonably priced, breakfast was nice. Bungalow was big, comfy bed, a little dated, nice porch with sofa and 2 tvs. Glass doors are nice and bungalow is light. Only bad thing is the bathroom is very dark and is slightly open so may have the odd lizard in there with you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosier_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This resort is good value. Staff is nice and helpful, especially the burmese reception staff. Very helpful, the give this resort a good face.
The scenery is nice too. But there is a problem with the nice beach. One cannot swim, the water
is to low. Same problem like Cha Am. Looks nice, but no swimming. But they have a nice pool.
Restaurant is average, there are better options on the island. If you are in the mood for some western food, try the Bavarian restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenterdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in the cheapest model of villa but for us it was luxury. The villas are set in a beautiful banana grove full of hibiscus and frangipani flowers with lots of butterflies fluttering around and birds singing. The bungalow had lots of room and a VERY comfortable big bed, big windows with thick curtains for blocking out light, a refrigerator, television with 2 english movie channels and bbc news, a good aircon unit, and a mosquito net that we never used. The bathroom was ugly cement with bad lighting but the toilet and hot water shower worked fine. We negotiated a price for a long stay not including breakfast that was quite a bit lower than the daily rate which made it very affordable. The pool is nice and the restaurant/bar is perfect for watching the sunset with a happy hour cocktail. Tay makes the best mojitos and was very nice and helpful during our stay, also Zay who works with him. The staff are all Burmese and were always very nice and seemed happy at their jobs. The resort is close to Thong sala which is the main town on the island, this was important to us because the town has lots of small local Thai restaurants that serve authentic thai food for cheap prices and is way better than the bland tourist oriented stuff you get from the resorts. The night market is disappointing as the dishes are also cooked to please tourists who like little spice. Just walk around downtown and down walking street and try every place that doesn't have an english sign and you wont be disappointed. We saved a lot of money and plastic by getting a big white 18 liter water bottle from the store down the street to the left and then changing it in for a new one every time it was finished. It only costs 20 baht for 18 liters!! You put a deposit on the bottle which you get back when you turn it in. We kept the bottle on the porch and used it to refill the bottles we used for drinking. May and Rosemary are the two girls who work in reception and they are very nice and helpful, also their english is excellent. We loved this place and intend to come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

When we first arrived in Dakanda, we decided to stay there for 5 days. The rooms are really nice, the restaurant is amazing, the staff is extraordinary and the poolside makes you wanna stay there forever.
When our time was starting to end, we decided to stay in Phangan for the rest of our vacation and took 5 more days in Dakanda. That was the best choice we could possibly make.
I want to especially thank the staff for their excellent english, big hearts and smiles.
I got sick one night and my boyfriend was almost ready to take me to the hospital, so we went to the reception to see if they know a hospital near here. What we got instead, was the full attention of 3 lovely reception ladies, who gave me medicine and made everything in their power to make me feel better. It took a few hours, but they managed to get me to sleep. The next day I woke up, already feeling better.

In all honesty, this is the nicest hotel we have ever been to. The restaurant has excellent food, all the members of the staff speak english, always say hello and smile.
This place made me feel like home and I cannot wait to go back to Dakanda.

I think this sums it up pretty well. Go to Dakanda and it doesnt even matter whether you stay in a basic room or a beach villa, since the location is very good and the overall experience will leave you speechless.

Thank you, Dakanda! See you soon :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mari-anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Rooms are very good. Location is also fine: with a motorbike you can reach haad rin and also the northern beaches without big effort. Maybe the beach is not the best in phangan, but the people at Dakanda are so nice (miss May) that we decided to stay 4 day longer on top on the 4 initially planned. The receptionists helped us to rent a motorbike, book trips, flights, everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
5.6 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#20 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Property: Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing