We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, food and staff. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 135 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a full week here in the beach front villa.
Room very spacious. With on suite. separate bath and shower. TV, DVD, settee and coffee table. And a huge king size bed with a firm mattress.

The beach has lovely soft white sand. And crystal clear water. The water isn't very deep so great for kids aswell.

They have a lovely swimming pool with a view of the beach through Palm trees.
Food is lovely. With a choice for everyone.

Staff have been great. Very friendly and happy to help with anything!

The location is perfect!!. Just a few minutes away from the ferry port.

Would recommend this place for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Pmktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We found the room to be comfortable and clean although the bed is very firm. The plumbing in the bathroom is done incorrectly so the sewage gas vents into the bathroom flowing freely into the bedroom. Not an enjoyable experience nor one you can avoid as all their units bathrooms are built incorrectly.

The staff is responsive and kind. The food at the restaurant is inexpensive and good tasting. The hotel is right on the beach which is better for viewing than anything else but it still is beautiful. You can walk into town if you really want to, or rent a bike (scooter) for 150 Baht per day.

There is one BIG problem we have with this place. They use slave labour to run the hotel. 95% of the staff are from Burma. They have to pay for their own food and accommodation yet live on the grounds. They are highly overworked (14+hrs/day) 7 days per week, grossly underpaid, and still smile. When we checked out was the real issue. We used one of the smaller towels called 'handkerchiefs' to clean some paint off our arms from the jungle party (keeping in mind we don't drink or do drugs). The paint is water based and would come out easily with bleach. When we checked out, the towel was put in front of us as the staff held our 500 Baht key deposit as ransom for collateral damage to the 10 Baht towel and told us we would have to pay for it. The unfortunate part was the fear they had because if we didn't pay for it, there boss (owner) would charge them for it (most of a days pay). We paid for the towel, told them we wouldn't be back, and also said we wouldn't recommend people stay here unless there are no other options. Check out Lime n Soda next door, its great.

Room Tip: If you stay upgrade to the new rooms and possibly a beachfront they are quite nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatAnAdventureJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Bed is terrible, so hard and full of depressions that a sofa would be more confortable.
Far from any interesting points, but renting a motorbike is cheap, so this is not a big problem.
The beach in front of the hotel has a lot of sea grass, not good option for refreshing.
Staff is the worse problem, don't know how to deal with guests. Hotel didn't recognized my reserve and I had to contact the agency myself and request them to call the hotel to solve the problem which end up to be a hotel issue as the booking had already been confirmed (and paied!!!) many days before.
Now the most unbelievable situation... my taxi arrived 10min ahead of scheduled time, the receptionist kept knocking at the door and screaming even after I responded that I would be there in 5 min!!!! She simply did not stop making all that noise and it was 7:20am!!! That was crazy, totally non sense.. :/

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank TripMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I think the only negative thing I can think of is just the rooms. We didn't have a bungalow. Our room was attached to the main building. The room was large and so was our ensuite but it seemed unfinished. It was just rendered cement. But I kinda liked it anyway. If our room wasn't cleaned properly, I didn't notice it.

The staff are amazing and so helpful.

Nice quiet area. You can see the pier from the beach so location is excellent. Short taxi ride to any of the parties.

The pool is right on the beach and is beautiful.

We didn't order any meals from the restaurant so can't comment on the food (I think people who eat at the resort are mad anyway when there are so many little eateries that serve up the best thai food for a fraction of the cost). Our breakfast was included so you get to choose from 3 or 4 set breakfasts. No buffet. That's probably to stop people like me eating them out of a business. Restaurant is also right on the beach. Makes for a beautiful breakfast setting.

Would definitely stay here again if I were on the same budget!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandapstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked the resort for 10 days looking at all the nice reviews.

The location is pretty awesome I must say: on the beach and only a few minutes from the arrival pier.

We had our own bungalow only a few metres from the beach which was great. As soon as we stepped in, we realised that the room had hair all over the place, the floor had not been mopped (we actually think that they do not own a mop), the furniture was dirty, as well as the toilets and the shower had no pressure.

We were told that all showers were the same.

There are a lot of mosquitoes too so every trip you take to the outside bathroom is quite a mission. I guaranty that either one of us always came out with a new spot on our leg.

We realised after a few days that the cleaning was done in the afternoon. We were always coming back in the mid afternoon with our bungalow untouched until we raised our voice (the resort was very quiet and at one point, we must have been the only guest).

The chef is Thai so the food is pretty good as well as their restaurant staff. We were having our breakfast every morning on the beach.

I understand the owner (who leaves in one of the bungalow) is very stingy and would rather spend his money on new bungalows when he should invest his money on refurbishing the old ones and putting someone in charge too: lack of management so nobody cares!!

To resume: the location and the restaurant were the only good thing about Da Kanda.

PS remember that most of the staff working in restaurants, resorts on the island is from Burma. Most of them work the whole day without any rest, their meals aren't provided, they pay for their own accommodation, transport and visa, and best of all they are paid around 100 euros per month. Be generous when you can and tip them :)

Room Tip: Book a room on the island so that you have a place to stay when you arrive. Rent out a bike and you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregsapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Room was very basic, but ok. Restaurant is front of the beach, so it was just perfect place to enjoy breakfast. Private beach was nice and big enough, but there should be more deck chairs, there was only two. Swimming pool is also front of the beach and its very nice place just to relax. I can go again on this hotel! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

A place with endless beauty and amazing for relaxation. U have extravagant hotel staff, a special mention for ollo he was the best waiter and helped us in every possible way. The food tastes like awesomeness. The sea view villas would fulfil your expectation more than u can ever desire. The view, the pool, the bar everything was just par excellence. A perfect place to relax after the night long parties and have a good romantic cosy time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#18 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £15 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing