We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, possibly the best we've had (mrs seems to think so)”
Review of Haad Yao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haad Yao Resort
Ranked #73 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice room, possibly the best we've had (mrs seems to think so)”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ok, I just changed it from average to very good because it was very nice. Big room, nice and clean with a huge balcony just seconds from the ocean. Place has a swimming pool which I did use once or twice. Seem to recall that the portions weren't very big in the restaurant so we ended up eating elsewhere. Usual story with the Thai hospitality here as previously reviewed, if you don't eat here, book all your trips here, do everything here you will get the cold shoulder from the owner/manager, who was really quite friendly 'paly' to start with, I know to look past that behaviour so it didn't bother me too much but did have it's awkward moments lol. And whatever you do don't put your dirty feet in the pool! There is a 2000THB fine, there's a sign! Lol again

Room Tip: We were towards the road, so away from any beach bars noise. Also 2nd floor, nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinheadplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    14
    9
    27
See reviews for
6
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

hi thanks for reading the review

I have just got back from a 16 day stay in koh phangnan and the beaches of haad yao . I have had a great time and met some great people and found the haad yao resort a really good place to stay .

The location of the hotel is spot on , it leads you straight out onto the beach of haad yao which is one of the best beaches I have ever seen , in fact the restaurant of the hotel is right on the beach so you can eat some great food while watching the beautiful sunsets or have a little drink while listening to the waves and taking in the great views , you really wont get much better views then you will do here

while mentioning the food it is worth noting that I found it great , you can get fresh fish caught that day from Charlie who works at the hotel , the mackerel is brilliant and really recommended as are the thai curry soups , the chef really knows how to make some great tasting food

The hotel offers a pool too which while I stayed was kept clean and if you noticed it wasn't and mentioned it politely then the staff would have it clean in no time at all for you

The rooms obviously range in standard but mine was top notch with satellite tv , air con , a good size and clean too , I also felt safe in the room and the cleaners never touched my personal belongings which added to the secure feel

id also like to mention the staff at the place especially tony , Charlie and ham and his wife and daughter , they were really nice to me , being a solo traveller it was nice to have such great people around who went out of their way to make me feel safe , make sure I was always having a good time , they even took me to a local thai bbq and a local thai temple party and I will defently be going back to visit them because they have become great friends as well as very hard workers

this is a great place to stay and I cant understand some of the bad reviews as its the total opposite from when I stayed here just recently , I had a great time ,the rooms were clean and the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was spot on while I stayed here

Room Tip: there is a room that opens up onto the swimming pool , the rooms at the back and top are also out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buxz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We Just arrived there and they showed us the room, really great, nice and comfortable,even if we opted for no air-conditioned. so we eat in the resort for like 2 days for lunch and dinner and it was so strange reading at trip-adviser that the staff was not nice,until we started diving and going in other places!!!!the situation complete changed,the owner start to don't say hello in the morning,they don't clean our room and when we asked for that they said: "sure we did it" but infact wasn't done. you could see in our porch all the full and smelly bags of our garbage.the last days then when we wake up we couldn't make breakfast because the owner said "the kitchen will open at 8-30"even if was written on the menu at 8.at least we happy to have left this hotel and hope you don't go because for the price we paid we had no service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Filippo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had booked through the web for 8 nights. When we got there, the room was big and with good view (pleasant surprise) but.. Unhelpful staff, pseudo clean room, No clean sheets (we had to plea for them and they were too small for a double bed) and some unexpected guests (bedbugs) in our already blood stained mattress Which feasted on our legs and torsos. After the 2nd night we decided to leave and the staff basically laught at us when we asked for a partial refund. Even agoda.com said they couldn't do anything. So.. Stay away for this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pea1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 3 days over the full moon party. The resort is right in the middle of Haad Yao Beach so it has a great location. It also has some beautiful 2 storey rooms with balconies on the street level near the beach/restaurant but we didnt stay here. Our hillside bungalow was across the street, up a cliff. Its an extremely tough vertical climb 300 metres straight up into the jungle, so only for the very physically fit. I had a broken toe, so not ideal. On the upside, the bungalow was massive with a lounge and kitchen, huge room and balcony w/sea view. Surprisingly the free internet worked too. The furniture was very old and basic but did the job. Sheets were dirty with an array of interesting stains. They only clean the room every 2 days and you have to leave the key/request a clean. Our room was not what i call clean. For the price we paid, i would expect the hotel to have higher standards. We got new toilet rolls, emptied bins and a sweep at best. The cleaner didnt touch the sink or bath with any cleaning products.

Our booking came with free breakfast which was below average. In general the food at the restaurant wasnt good and as other people have mentioned, the portions were very tiny. The restaurant is however busy every night because its got an extensive menu, good music and pretty lights. Definitely worth a stop for a beer but thats it. We went next door to Haad Yao Villas for dinner and the food was incredible in comparison, cheaper, huge portions and MUCH tastier.

On a more positive note, you can book all your travel/tours with the reception and the lady who works there is really lovely.

In summary, i would not recommend staying here. We were in the 'cheap' hillside bungalow and it was a rip off for what you get. God knows what people pay to stay in the nice rooms by the beach. There are definitely better/cheaper options around.

Room Tip: Prepare yourself for a hike if you book a hillside bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LW2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiungshih, Kao-hsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We love this place. We first found this gem three years ago and are really regretting that we didn't stay in the resort for this visit. We do though, eat here most days. The Thai food is the best on the beach - the red curry brings tears to our eyes like it should. We haven't had a bad meal yet, and the prices are reasonable - there are a lot of meals around 70-100 baht - which is a great price on the beach. Even with the great food, Ham and Charlie really make it - always happy to see us, quick on service and some great (and bad) jokes. Kids are very welcome, and so are 82 year olds! Great advice about what to do and Ham is pretty good at fire-twirling too. For our next visit, we will definitely stay. Their pool is clean, brilliant location and often the last bar to close.

Room Tip: Consider a more basic room if your children are past afternoon sleeps - as you will spend most of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australian73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here two years ago and loved it so brought my partner back to experience the place. Great location and beautiful beach. Food pretty good and reasonably priced. Room basic but clean...that's all you need. Staff generally helpful and efficient. Didn't appreciate display of domestic violence from restaurant worker aggressively kicking his wife infront of diners. Can't say I would stay here again after that which is a shame.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.6 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
1.1 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#74 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#53 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#119 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Yao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Yao Resort

Property: Haad Yao Resort
Address: 53/4 Moo.8, Haad Yao (West), Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Yao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haad Yao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing