We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Experience”

Same Same Cookery School
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent Experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The woman that hosted the cooking school was very nice, but the experience felt rather rushed and it was slightly difficult to understand things given the language barrier. They were kind enough to pick us up from our hotel for free (and dropped us off after!). We took bicycles over to the local market and the chef explained some of the ingredients to us, but again, the language barrier made things difficult to understand. There were only 4 of us in the class so we got plenty of personal attention, but I didn't feel as though I learned much. Basically, I learned what goes into the foods and how to chop certain things. They also gave us the printed recipes after we were done, which was nice.

They have you cook 3 full dishes EACH, which is a ridiculous amount of food - luckily they pack it up for you to-go. The people were nice and the experience was fun, but I didn't feel like it was great nor did I learn much.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We really enjoyed our lesson with Chef Oi, shes lovely! We got to dot he dishes we chose and she had all of the fresh ingredients at the ready. She shows you how easy Thai dishes are to make once you have the fresh ingredients available! We got a copy of the recipes we cooked to take home. At the end we got to invite our friends to the restaurant to enjoy our lovely dishes we made...which was great because that was everyone's dinner for the night!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelOzAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Well Spent!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We had the best afternoon shopping, slicing, dicing, and woking our meals. There were 5 students and we all shared our creations family style. Papaya salad, pad Thai, stir fried rice, four curries and two soups. Highly recommended. We learned some new techniques and about the different types of local veggies, fruits and seafoods. Way too much food for the five of us. We ended up with left overs for tomorrow's lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Skc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Private teaching”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

There was just the two of us, so we got really some really good tutoring. We started the day by visiting the market, where out chef Oi told us about the ingredients to our meals and she also bought us different kinds of fruits! We decided to make Chicken Green Curry, Phad Thai Noodles and Thai Beef salad. Chef Oi told showed us how to cut the vegetables and the rest we did ourselves. It was really useful to learn how to alter the spiciness of the food by just cutting the chili differently! We didn't really follow the recipe, but by taking photos of the steps and writing notes we are confident that we can make the food back home :) And the food we cooked was delicious!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank krista719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go if you want to bring your kids”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We reserved a cooking lessons for our family, including our 4 & 7 year old, and were told that they could participate and would need to pay 1/2 price. On the day of the lesson I called to ask a question and it turned out that they were actually over-booked for the morning class (although we were already told that we'd be picked up in the morning). We stayed for the afternoon class, and when we arrived the chef at the restaurant said that the kids were too small and couldn't participate. This was a major bummer as we'd more or less come to Thong Sala for this cooking class alone. The cooking class was on the main road and quite noisy and considering that the kids weren't going to be able to do anything, we decided to skip the class. Just wished they would have told us up-front and not wasted our time...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OrnaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Same Same Cookery School also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Same Same Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing