We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day in Paradise...”
Review of Beck's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beck's Resort
Ranked #43 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Their slogan "another day in Paradise" is spot on. This place feels like paradise, every single time you wake up and enter the perfectly kept garden (which is right outside all the bungalows.)
Staf is great, the location is perfect. Close to town, but far enough to give you that feeling of being alone in paradise.

The beach bar is great (watching a gorgeous sunset from the hammocks!!!), but special attention needs to be given to the restaurant.. From all the places I visited in Koh Phangan, this restaurant was the best!
No matter what you go for, breakfast, lunch or dinner, the food is mindblowing. The street food section of the menu is affordable and tastes like a 5 star meal!

The staff at the reception is super friendly and helpful, the kids who clean the room not so much.
Somewhere in the second week, a ring went missing from the room and since there was no safe in the room (you can get one for a small additional fee, we found out afterwards).
We mentioned it to the people there, but of course they were not able to do much about it.
I hope this was an incident, because this is heaven on earth.

We will definitely visit Beck's again next time we're in Thailand. Make sure you rent a scooter though!

Room Tip: Always pick a room with A/C!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeka-Tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed at Beck's with a group of about 9 people, stayed five nights and had a very positive experience. The property was beautiful and right on a beach. The beach was too shallow to swim in, however kayaks were available to rent for a cheap price. The beach bar and restaurant were excellent, with many food options to choose from.The rooms were simple but had everything that we needed. The atmosphere was relaxing and peaceful.

The most impressive part of this resort was the helpful and friendly staff. They immediately memorized each of our room numbers upon check in and put everything we ordered (food, water, drinks) on our room bill to be paid at check out. The staff was always available to suggest activities and answer any questions about the resort or the island. They far exceeded any expectations I could have had for resort staff.

I enjoyed the location of the resort- a short walk to town and a cheap tuk tuk ride to other areas of the island. If you are looking for a luxurious five star stay, this may not be the best choice....but if you are looking for a fairly priced peaceful setting with good food and accommodating staff, you can't go wrong with Beck's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Too expensive, too far away from all the action. Lizards all in the ceilings and walls in the rooms. VERY OVERPRICED.

The pictures are deceiving, no lights at night. The restaurant shut for 4 hours a day, which is probably the most busiest times.

Haad rin is a good 30 minute drive in a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLennon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent 4 nights at beck's at the time of the full moon. The pictures do not show exactly what you're getting. The rooms are very basic, decent enough beds but rock hard pillows. Our room was cleaned daily but was left smelling like someone had smoked a cigarette inside while cleaning. There is a coffee and tea maker, but no tea or coffee, so if you want that then you must go out and buy your own...

Beach is nice, lots of fruit flies fly around your face though. Next door (Jool's) has hammocks that we used as we had friends staying there. It would be nice if Beck's had those.

Its about a 15 minute walk into civilization. To go to the full moon party, you're spending 100 baht each way in transportation. To go to even Baan Tai it will cost you 100 baht even though its only half way to Haad Rin (where the full moon party is). The prices don't make sense (i.e. if its half way, you should pay half price or at least not full fare).

Food is good but expensive at Beck's. There is a great market in Thongsala with fantastic shakes for 20 baht. MUST have.

Overall a decent stay, but if I was to do it again, I would probably stay in Baan Tai (Hard Road Hostel). We had friends stay there and it was a very cool, relaxed, budget hostel. Either that or splurge on something nicer.

Wifi is good in the restaurant but none in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I, along with another couple stayed 5 nights at Beck's resort over the full moon party period. Our room was big and spacious, with a fan and air con. The first night I was a little worried as there were ants everywhere, but once we attacked them with bug spray there were no more to be seen the entire stay. The bungalows are pretty much on the gorgeous beach, which is a lovely little place to chill during the day. We hired motorbikes for 2 days through the hotel- great price and service. No problems at all, unlike some other places in Thailand. The food at the restaurant is average, but the cocktails are really yummy and the staff are friendly. We normally ate at the English pub down the road, great food there! During full moon, there is someone on reception all night to look after your keys and also safe facilities to store your valuables. The reception arrange your taxis too- at 100 baht it's pretty good for a 25 min taxi ride to Haad Rin. The hotel has adorable pets, puppies and talking birds! Who doesn't like to be wolf whistled at by a bird while they're eating breakfast?! We have had a great stay at Beck's. Full moon made it a little more expensive, but it was totally worth it. You need to experience it once in your life!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for a week and while the rooms were nice, the standard fan room is increadibly hot because of how its built. It was always cooler outside of the room than inside. However, the bed is comfortable, the rooms are clean (and cleaned everyday) and the bathrooms were good. We stayed in a fan room (slightly cheaper than the standard fan) for one night and it was closer to the beach, not as hot but was older, not as nice and didn't have a tv.

The rooms don't have wifi, but the restaurant does. It seemed reliable the week we were there.

Food is decently priced, but the western food was better than the curries.

The staff is friendly and will arrange boat transfers, bike rentals and other activities.

The more expensive a/c bungalows close to the beach looked nice.

Room Tip: Standard fan rooms are very hot -- if you can afford it, go for an a/c room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We only stayed at Becks resort mainly because of the name (same as mine) but also the room seemed better compared to what we had been in the night before. It had hot water and air con all we were looking for. We ate in the restaurant that evening, it was reasonably priced and great tasting especially the chilli and basil dish - be warned though it was super hot! unfortunately my pizza I had ordered came out quite late and my partner had already finished his food but it was still tasty and they did apologise. The resort has a couple of resident mynah birds who like to chat to you and mimic the scooters which was fun. I would recommend staying here for a bit of comfort rather than the shacks you can get for dirt cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miniaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#56 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#33 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
771 reviews
1.6 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#23 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Resort

Address: 152/1 Nai Wok Bay, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £11 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beck's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing