We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shambhala Bungalow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here last year and immediately fell in love with the place and the island. The manager Daa and the rest of the family including the owner Carlos made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. They couldn't do enough to help us. When we got home we recommended shambhala to all our friends. We came back this year for the half moon party and still love it. We have become really good friends with the shambhala family and will continue to visit . Book early to avoid disappointment .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    23
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
98
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red deer
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place made our trip to Koh Phangan as lovely as it was. The manager on duty was incredibly helpful and friendly. Our bungalow was beautiful, we had an amazing sea view. It was a very relaxing place, and the beach was great. Great value!

Room Tip: Ask about sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I can really recommend this place. It is only a couple of minutes drive away from Thong Sala and the Ferry Point. The Bungalows (especially Beach Front) are very nice and well mentained. You will enjoy the private atmosphere; it is very silent. And the restaurant: offers good food and drinks (a little overpriced compared to other places outside the Resort).

Things you should know before you go there:
1. During low tide - you can not swim in the sea - the water is to shallow & the beach is quiet small. There are much nicer ones around the island.
2. You will need a scooter to get around the island to visit the real nice beaches.
3. There is not much to do in the area - there are only a couple of restaurants and 2 bars on the beach (so you need the scooter to reach other places)
4. There is no room cleaning at all (they do not even take the waste away) - unless you tell them. Sheets and towels are also changed only on request.

We felt fine with all the points mentioned above and had a really nice time there (we stayed 6 nights in total).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magstk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for 7 days in the Beachfront Bungalow and another 3 in the Seaview Superior Bungalow. Both had a wonderful view, were cosy and clean. Food and cocktails they offer in the beach restaurant is honestly one of the best on the island and the team was super friendly and helpful.
The only disadvantage is that in order to get to the deeper water, you have to swim further, or use the surf board/ or kayak. But they offer surf boards for free, so I found it more of an adventure…
I fully recommend Shambhala to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiiiiinaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The unique selling point for Shambhala is the one of the best locations of the Island. Really amazing and breathtaking.. We stayed in a bungalow directly on the beach. The bungalow itself was basic, bed was not comfortable, bathroom was allright. No AC, which was not really a problem, but i would love to have one there, so hot! Especially during the nights. If you are afraid of insects and cockroaches, not a place to feel save. I had to remove at least 2 cockroaches every day out of the bungalow.
Especially when you are staying in a direct sea bungalow for more than 5 nights (40 Euro per night), you would expect some service like new toiletpaper, wastebags and towels. It's not really a problem, but you had to ask for everything yourself. And if you did ask for something, the staff would let you feel that they didn't have time because they were too busy. I have to admit, everyone on Koh Phangan is so laidback, you have to get used to it.
Sometimes i felt sorry for the staff because they were really willing, but just unable to meet different guest orders within a reasonable time frame. I would recommend Shambhala to hire one extra staff member, just to increase the level of service a little more.
Besides the above, I would really love to go back to Shambhala! One of the best places i have ever seen in my life. Felt like you were still dreaming everytime you walked outside of your bungalow.
The relaxing livingroom/restaurant/bar is a great place to meet other travellers and share experiences while drinking a beer and looking a the great view.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wouter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We, 4 peopel, had a confirmed booking for 4bed bungalow. On arrivlal we where told that a cuopple with 2 baby twins needes this bungalow and we acceprted 2 seperate rooms in the stone building along the street that was still under construction
The owne put a matrace on the floor as furnitures
Stupid that we agreed to this,,,,sure our fould...BUT we thought of the family with the babies and accepted the change
LATER WE FOUND OUT IT WAS FAMILY OF THE OWNER AND WORSEAS WE LEFT WE HAD TO PAY FOR 2 ROOMS, instead of the one 4 bed room,,,,double the original price and no way to discuss this with the owner
We felt ripped off and advice everybody to be careful.....
It look like the very arrogant owner created a really nice environment in oder to take some advantage from careless tourists r

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank siis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We made the mistake of staying near Haad Rin when first arriving in Koh Phangan - to say we hated it was an understatement.

A friend from back home then recommended this place and it was the best decision we made to come here. Total calm, serenity and a truly blissful experience.

We stayed in a Sala which may not be to everyone's liking, very basic as advised on the website but very clean and a lovely experience.

The staff make you feel immediately welcome and really make an effort to chat and make you feel at home.

The only potential downside for some is that it is a way out of the town should you want to be close. Personally I loved that it was a short taxi ride away but you would need a scooter / take a cabs to get around if you wanted to explore. But with taxis frequently passing it is not an issue.

I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.7 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#8 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#22 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#3 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#18 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambhala Bungalow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambhala Bungalow Village

Property: Shambhala Bungalow Village
Address: 69 / 10 Moo 4 Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 354 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shambhala Bungalow Village is a small resort located on the west coast of Koh Phangan, Thailand. The beach is one of the nicest on the island, a very quiet and relaxing place to be. The sunsets over the famous Anthong National Marine Park are spectacular. The port town of Thong Sala is only a 5 minute motorcycle ride away with all its charms. The Bungalows are brand new, in local natural materials, all have a clean bathroom and a big terrace equipped with the necessary hammocks. A beach restaurant, water sport rentals and free wifi available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing