We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on a stunning beach”
Review of Smile Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smile Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing on a stunning beach”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our family of four, (kids aged 10 and 14) spent 5 days here in June/July. It might not be connected by road from Chaloklum, but that's part of the beauty, isolated relaxation.

We stayed in 2 of the double storey bungalows. The bathrooms are terrific. The only thing the bungalows could use are perhaps a cupboard each, even if a quaint bamboo one such as the tables and chairs in the restaurant. There is a fan and mosquito net over the bed, although we did not see or hear a single mosquito all week. The restaurant has western as well as Thai food. Try the Thai food, terrific! The staff are helpful, arranging long tail water taxis for trips to Chaloklum.

We stayed at Ocean View on Had Khom a few years ago, which was just as nice, but the tide is too low for the time of year we travelled this time.
Bottle beach is stunning. A long wide expanse of sand and warm waters.
If you enjoy beach football, look out for the staff from all the resorts on Bottle Beach meeting mid to late afternoon in front of Smile Bungalows for a kick around, great fun.

If you enjoy snorkelling, swim across to the rocks on the right hand side. (right hand side when you're looking out to sea).
There are often long tails which bring day time guests to enjoy the terrific beach, which tells you good the beach is.

If you're looking for Air-conditioned luxury this is not for you. If you're looking for a laid back, island experience, this is it!
Thanks Smile, had a terrific time, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    31
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
42
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

An amazing slice of Paradise,old school Koh Phangnan at it's finest with it's lush tropical setting overlooking delightful Bottle Beach.The bungalows are basic but very adequate and the price is very good for such an amazing tranquil location.

It is a special place that always leaves me with fond memories,lying back on the cushions eating and drinking,swimming,just generally lazing about,yaah.After my third trip back to Smile Bungalows,nothing has changed ,the staff are fantastic,food is very good and the setting is amazing.

Don't go changing Smile Bungalows,your rustic charm is hard to find,miss you already,should start planning my next trip!!!

Kia Kaha
Mark

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Backpacker feeling as 25 years ago !!!
Simple, but nice bungalows for an excellent price.
Beside this an outstanding location at the best beach of Ko Phangan.
Mr. San and his staff have been very helpful and always friendly.
The restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere, food , specially the Thai food is very nice at very reasonable prices.
Thanks a lot for a wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AachenThomas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The bungalows are simple fan only and either on one or two levels. The gardens are amazing and monkeys have been introduced.
The beach is fantastic.
Smile is by far and away the best resort on the beach, which has an island feel to itself as you enter the beach via longtail boat.
The food is good but limited. Both western and thai.
The staff at Smile are some of the best I have encountered.
The beach is very 'chilled'.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great beach. Very nice vibe and bungalow layout is cool, however, takes expensive rip off taxi and water boat to get there, which was frustrating and a scary ride, because they need to make money, and make people wait while they find customers to fill the can with. Once we arrived, food kitchen was closed and they would not reopen or cook us anything, and we missed it by 30 mins only. Thus we had to eat chips and chocolate for dinner and the server said "you are lucky we have chips and chocolates, and not to eat to many bags!", with a snarky look upon his face. The breakfast was reheated food but once served ended up being cold. Seriously, room temperature. They appeared to not know my group was coming and tried to get my reservation of two rooms that were prepaid, reduced to one room, which was a turn off. The shower also is only cold water and there was no soap to wash our hands. Also the tap was basically broken. All in all a pretty crappy experience. Oh also the mosquito nets had holes in them they tried to patch with bandages and duct tape. Plus side; there are nicer hotels down the great beach that is often empty and the beach truly is unique.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molivomoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I stayed in a cabin at Smile bungalows which worked out around £20 a night. It is on the north of the island away from all the moon parties and more peaceful and remote. It is quite good to get a boat there as the road is a mass of potholes. The staff at Smile, mostly Burmese, were wonderful, so friendly and went out of their way to help us. The beach is beautiful and swimming great. The accomodation is basic but it is really worth it for the location and friendliness of Smile. The restaurant is a great place to hang out and food v good. They really do make you smile there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel provides huts near to the beach. Price was very good on booking.com we payed about 750 Baht per night to stay for 4 nights. Very close to the beach just a few steps away. Huts come with a veranda/balcony. They are not serviced on a daily basis but we found them to be reasonably clean on arrival and our family of 2 adults and 2 young children were able to fit in the hut ok as it had 2 double beds and was fairly roomy for the price. The restaurant is rather expensive (for example at time of writing a soft drink was 45Baht!) but there are other hotels on the beach of bottle beach and other restaurants so there is a choice of food and drinks. The beach is very good for swimming, several areas are deep enough and not too rocky so as to be able to go out and swim. Overall a very good value hotel in terms of the price of the rooms considering its location right on a beautiful beach. At the time of our stay the manager was away on holiday, and sometimes it showed. For example, we went to the bar to get a drink and there was no one there because the person on duty was playing football on the beach, and when he came up to the restaurant even though it was already 5pm he said no food yet available and made us feel rushed to order our drinks before returning to his football game !! The hotel did give us a good transfer in a jeep from the pier where we arrived on the boat to the hotel with a friendly member of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close as possible to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Haad Khuad Resort
Haad Khuad Resort
#66 of 374 in Ko Pha Ngan
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#40 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
264 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
#51 of 374 in Ko Pha Ngan
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#54 of 374 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#31 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Bungalow

Property: Smile Bungalow
Address: 74 / 9 Moo 7, Bottle Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 374 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smile Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Smile Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing