We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hostel / service, keep staying away from this place !!!”
Review of Smile Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smile Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Lots of mosquitos , very poor service provided , horrible staff , very expensive food for what you get ( tiny portion and not good at all ).
Just a good advice , stay away from this place ( king of tourist trap ).

Room Tip: Other hostels on the beach where you might get a better service / staff / price ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poisson_clown06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Arriving here after a long ferry, then truck then boat -very tired, it was not the paradise I had hoped for. I had a small bungalow, it was dark, smelt of mice or worse and was filthy. Quite simply I wouldn't be able to sleep in here.
Your standards have to be pretty low to feel ok here. Mine aren't. I paid almost double to get a bungalow up the back. These are much better in design and look cleaner, but still I could only handle one night here anyway. The previous occupants had left a whole lot of trash which sat outside my font door. I asked for reception to remove it but they said tomorrrow! No wonder there is a noticable vermin problem. Everytime i left the room and came back there were new mouse droppings on the bed. The rooms are not sealed so anything outside can have access. I had to leave the next day to somewhere more relaxing. Bottle beach is accessible mainly by boat so you have to get on well with the management to be able to get out!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 2 story bungalows up the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our family of four, (kids aged 10 and 14) spent 5 days here in June/July. It might not be connected by road from Chaloklum, but that's part of the beauty, isolated relaxation.

We stayed in 2 of the double storey bungalows. The bathrooms are terrific. The only thing the bungalows could use are perhaps a cupboard each, even if a quaint bamboo one such as the tables and chairs in the restaurant. There is a fan and mosquito net over the bed, although we did not see or hear a single mosquito all week. The restaurant has western as well as Thai food. Try the Thai food, terrific! The staff are helpful, arranging long tail water taxis for trips to Chaloklum.

We stayed at Ocean View on Had Khom a few years ago, which was just as nice, but the tide is too low for the time of year we travelled this time.
Bottle beach is stunning. A long wide expanse of sand and warm waters.
If you enjoy beach football, look out for the staff from all the resorts on Bottle Beach meeting mid to late afternoon in front of Smile Bungalows for a kick around, great fun.

If you enjoy snorkelling, swim across to the rocks on the right hand side. (right hand side when you're looking out to sea).
There are often long tails which bring day time guests to enjoy the terrific beach, which tells you good the beach is.

If you're looking for Air-conditioned luxury this is not for you. If you're looking for a laid back, island experience, this is it!
Thanks Smile, had a terrific time, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

An amazing slice of Paradise,old school Koh Phangnan at it's finest with it's lush tropical setting overlooking delightful Bottle Beach.The bungalows are basic but very adequate and the price is very good for such an amazing tranquil location.

It is a special place that always leaves me with fond memories,lying back on the cushions eating and drinking,swimming,just generally lazing about,yaah.After my third trip back to Smile Bungalows,nothing has changed ,the staff are fantastic,food is very good and the setting is amazing.

Don't go changing Smile Bungalows,your rustic charm is hard to find,miss you already,should start planning my next trip!!!

Kia Kaha
Mark

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Backpacker feeling as 25 years ago !!!
Simple, but nice bungalows for an excellent price.
Beside this an outstanding location at the best beach of Ko Phangan.
Mr. San and his staff have been very helpful and always friendly.
The restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere, food , specially the Thai food is very nice at very reasonable prices.
Thanks a lot for a wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AachenThomas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The bungalows are simple fan only and either on one or two levels. The gardens are amazing and monkeys have been introduced.
The beach is fantastic.
Smile is by far and away the best resort on the beach, which has an island feel to itself as you enter the beach via longtail boat.
The food is good but limited. Both western and thai.
The staff at Smile are some of the best I have encountered.
The beach is very 'chilled'.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great beach. Very nice vibe and bungalow layout is cool, however, takes expensive rip off taxi and water boat to get there, which was frustrating and a scary ride, because they need to make money, and make people wait while they find customers to fill the can with. Once we arrived, food kitchen was closed and they would not reopen or cook us anything, and we missed it by 30 mins only. Thus we had to eat chips and chocolate for dinner and the server said "you are lucky we have chips and chocolates, and not to eat to many bags!", with a snarky look upon his face. The breakfast was reheated food but once served ended up being cold. Seriously, room temperature. They appeared to not know my group was coming and tried to get my reservation of two rooms that were prepaid, reduced to one room, which was a turn off. The shower also is only cold water and there was no soap to wash our hands. Also the tap was basically broken. All in all a pretty crappy experience. Oh also the mosquito nets had holes in them they tried to patch with bandages and duct tape. Plus side; there are nicer hotels down the great beach that is often empty and the beach truly is unique.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molivomoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.2 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Khuad Resort
Haad Khuad Resort
#55 of 384 in Ko Pha Ngan
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
#50 of 384 in Ko Pha Ngan
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#51 of 384 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Bungalow

Address: 74 / 9 Moo 7, Bottle Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 384 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £8 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smile Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smile Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing