We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here twice 7 years apart”
Review of Blue Lotus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lotus Resort
Ranked #5 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed here twice 7 years apart”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I am not sure about the negative posters experience as I have stayed there twice seven years apart. The food homemade and actually quite legendary. People for the last 20 years make a point to stop at the Blue Lotus for its Mexican food when they visit Koh Phangan. It is a little tucked away place with bungalows and a restaurant known for its food. The bungalows are clean and comfortable. Certainly not the amenities of a 4star hotel, but it is Koh Phanghan and people come for the Full Moon Party in the jungle. Check out the fan base of Blue Lotus on facebook and see what regulars have to say first. -------. This page was started by one of the regulars who come back year after year, just like I have. Blue Lotus is true blue Thailand!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are less than 100 feet from beach, so dependent on whether you are a couple (get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shavonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
51
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I've stayed at the Blue Lotus Resort for three times now, twice with the Full Moon Party and once at a random date (2006, 2008 & 2009) and planning to go there again. Every single time was a wonderfull stay! The owners, Pong & Shana, will give you a warm welcome. The location is very good because it's in the middle of Thong Sala (were you'll arrive by boat) and HadRin (the most crowded part of the island, and the part were the Full Moon Party is located). The bungalows are basic, but they have all you'll need. And the price is great! A bungalow for 400 THB for a night! Also the food they serve is lovely.
So I'd say when you're planning to go to Koh Phangan this will be a very nice place to stay! It gave me the feeling that I came as a guest and I stayed as family..! Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I have been staying at Blue Lotus for nearly ten years and find the review given by "ganja_46" un recognizable in relation to the resort. The rooms are cleaned daily, the food is always spot on and the owners and staff couldn't be better. I have stayed in various resorts on Koh phangan over the years, some in Haad Rin, some in Bankai and Bantai and Blue Lotus is always a favourite as long as you don't want air con. The rooms represent excellent value for money. There is a hill down to the resort and no area is not smooth tarmac but a well landscaped garden.

As far as the comments about the owner being a nasty piece of work is concerned I find this almost laughable, he is one of the most honest likeable Thai 's that I've had the pleasure of meeting.

To sumarize,
good location, (as close to Had Rin as you can be without actually having to stay there)
Good value for money (no hot water or air con but then you're not paying for that)
Good Food (excellent choice of menu including western and mexican)
Good dogs! - if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Its a pity that petty people feel the need to slate others on this site for no other reason than narrow-minded ignorance.

The management at Blue Lotus are the nicest folk I met away over the course of a whole year travelling. I visited this resort about 10 years ago and fell in love with the food, the ambiance and the excellent service. I had been a single female traveller alone and arrived late at night and totally dishevelled and disheartened as the island was practically full due to the full moon. Shauna and Pong made me feel so safe and welcome and I got the nicest meal ever there. About 8 years later I came back with my partner at the time and stayed over a month. Could not make ourselves leave the place!!!!

What you get at the Blue lotus is a perfect balance of privacy and welcome, which is rare. I always enjoyed the food, every meal was top notch and I'm a fussy veggie so that says alot!!! I would whole-heartedly recommend this resort and its wonderfully kind, caring and hospitable management and staff. 5 star for an excellent price

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have been going to blue lotus every year for 8 years and recommend it. The huts are clean and a good size, Pong and Shana the owners go out of their way to help, the food is excellent. The huts are far enough away from the 2 main towns that they are quiet, but there is still a shop at the top if the drive. Even the dogs are nice - a rarity in huts!

These huts are for those that want to enjoy ko phangnan without being in the heart of the madness

Can't speak highly enough

Adelle and steve

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed at the resort during the full moon period and paid 350 baht per night. The room we stayed in had a double bed that was reasonably comfortable, fan and attached ensuite with shower and toilet. The windows are screened and shuttered to keep mozzies and bugs out.
The attached restaurant offered a wide range of decent food at reasonable prices, including a selection of Mexican food - the burritos are delicious! The owner of the resort was especially helpful and friendly, driving people to the pier and into town and able to provide some information about the island.
The resort is approximately 2km from the main beach where the full moon party was located - so perfect if you are looking for some quiet in the days after the party. But a bit annoying if you wanted to spend more time in the main town around Haad Rin.
Overall a good, cheap hostel for the full moon party that was right on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#10 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
#14 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lotus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lotus Resort

Property: Blue Lotus Resort
Address: 29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lotus Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Lotus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing