We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value for beachside bungalows”
Review of Blue Lotus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Lotus Resort
Ranked #5 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unbeatable value for beachside bungalows”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Cheap, by the beach, peaceful, great food, and the owner is really nice. You get a lot for your baht here and you're in a great location for several of the non-full moon parties (half moon, waterfall, jungle). What more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
52
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here mid July with a couple of friends. The bungalows are basic but always clean and well maintained. about a ten min taxi ride from the party center. The beach connected to the place is really nice. The food in the restaurant was pretty tasty and good for value. The owner Pong is probably the place's best asset, really chilled out and very accommodating. Great place to drink before the full moon party and the fridge was always stocked with beer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Very cute bungalow beside the sea! Very homely. Great breakfast! The Mexican food is a little bland, but fresh. The guy who owns the place and his staff are really relaxed and friendly. The bungalows are basic, but clean and remind me of some American outback! You have your own porch and chairs. The beach is beautiful and next door resort has an infinity pool which we used. Couldn't recommend the place enough

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeAffresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

one good thing about blue lotus is its location. it is accesible everywhere, 10 of minutes ride from the pier, close to had-rin and still quiet and peaceful.

another positive thing is the owner and the staff. they are very friendly and helpful. they are responding the mails regularly, giving rides to the town if you are leaving etc. also the food is surprisingly delicious and the prices are reasonable.

rooms are basic but spacious and clean. not spotless clean, but it was clean enough for a solo traveller like me. toilet, shower and all facilities were in decent condition.

beach is not the best on the island. the waters are usually shallow and the beach is very narrow. but during the high tides, it becomes swimmable and it is clean. also the scenery becomes very picturesque during the cloudy days where you can hardly notice the horizon line. a calm infinite gray everywhere...

another good thing is, you can rent and "trust" your motorbike from there. i had ridden a bike with no rear brakes in koh payam, but if you are riding in phangan, your bike must be tip-top... in short, for 200baht/day, you get a good bike with a full tank of gas and return it full (which is the thing every rent-a-bike place should do!).

if you want a serene place out of town with a nice beach to chill put, this is not your place. but if you'd like to rent a bike, reach everywhere and make yourself comfy in the midst of phangan party lunacy, this is a good, secure and affordable option.

Room Tip: take the room nearest to the sea, that's all :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceDevice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for the full moon! When we got there it was very quiet which made us think are we in the right place!? However after having a chat with the amazing owner he rented us a scooter which I've never drove until this one! Best way to get around the island by far!
One night we forgot to go to the ATM and asked the owner where the nearest one was, he said dont worry I'll lend you the money! 2000bht. So kind and generous as all the staff were! We wanted to stay longer and didnt really want to leave but time got the better of us! Peace and quiet after a party and a good spot to see the island from! Gladly go back anytime! And yes we did pay him back soon as the next morning!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roskyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The huts are fairly clean (only the sink was a bit grubby), good location ~ set just off a nice area of beach. The owners were lovely, they provided some good food (though the price was a little high) and they offered us lifts to the full moon party and when we left to go to the pier for much less than a tuk tuk to take us. The fan huts are very hot but bearable and the prices for them are reasonable especially at full moon time. Next door there is also a posh resort with a pool who don't mind you using it if you buy a drink which is good if you need to cool down. Overall, this is a very pretty, relaxing area not too far from Haad rin with very friendly owners!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The beach bungalows are standard for what you get in Koh Phangan, wooden huts right on the beach. This area is so wonderfully peaceful though, it has a very relaxed feel to the whole place and the owner, who speaks great english, and his staff are just lovely. We wanted to upgrade to air con as it was just so hot and they advised us that the night was too bad and offered us a hut under a tree to compare, but when we decided we still wanted air con, it wasn't a problem and they sorted it all very quickly.

The food, cooked by the owner is great. He cooks great thai and mexican food (learnt to cook mexican in California!) so even if you don't stay here, take a walk along the beach just to try his great well priced food!

Room Tip: If you want above basic, opt for the air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_and_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#10 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
106 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#15 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
#14 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lotus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lotus Resort

Property: Blue Lotus Resort
Address: 29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lotus Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Lotus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing