We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny piece of paradise, with a homely feel”
Review of Blue Lotus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lotus Resort
Ranked #5 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tiny piece of paradise, with a homely feel”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very cosy and friendly resort, situated centrally in Ban Kai between Thongsala and Haadrin (both 10-15min by motorbike). Ban Kai is developing into a destination on its own, with, of course a 7-Eleven and several party areas nearby (Ban Sabaii, Jungle Party, Half Moon, Black Moon). There is also a herbal sauna nearby. The stretch between Ban Kai and Thongsala has nice beaches, covered with palm trees. The stretch between Ban Kai and Haadrin is hilly and has smaller, more secluded beaches. The beachfront at Blue Lotus is very natural and nice, offers a great view (towards Koh Samui) and beautiful sunsets.

The resort itself is very nice, set in a beautiful garden. The bungalows are simple (cold shower, fan) but offer value for money. There is also a bungalow with hot shower and airconditioning available. There will be a second one available soon. The resort has a restaurant that offers great breakfast/lunch/diner/snacks/drinks. Prices are competitive, considering the size of most meals, that can easily be shared. The restaurant functions as a central hangout, ideal to meet up with fellow travelers (however more and more of them seem to be occupied with their smart phones and Social Media constantly). In the restaurant area free WIFI is available, in some bungalows too. The owner, Pong, is a great guy offering great hospitality, together with his crew. Pong is really looking after his guests and willing to give advice or help out when needed. Blue Lotus feels like home (the home where you should live, instead of cold Europe). There are (good) rental motorbikes available, expect no problems or hassle returning your motorbike when you took good care of it. The fancy resort next to Blue Lotus has a nice beachfront pool. During our stay they offered pool access for 300 Bath per person/per day. Reasonable, considering the quality of the pool and the pool setting. Make sure to contact the general manager before using the pool. Blue Lotus offers (free) pick-up and drop-off services from and to the piers in Thongsala and Haadrin.

Blue Lotus resort is a great place for couples or friends traveling together. We have been going to Blue Lotus since 2005. First as a single traveler, then as a couple and the last few years as a family with kids. We will keep returning.

If you are up for a genuine Koh Phangan treat, you will not be disappointed choosing Blue Lotus.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows that have beach views. They are a little bit more expensive then the ones '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
52
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gevelsberg
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For us Blue Lotus Resort is really home since years. Thanks to Pong and his staff for this nice, calm and wunderfull stay and the amazing food! Pong is a real fisherman and it is gorgous to eat the fresh fish in the evening. We love to stay there and travel over the island with one of his good motorbikes. The huts are basic but cosy and worth the money. Very clean and with all you need. So we start our one year travelling in Blue Lotus and we will end there...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duene64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changsha, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The owner and staff at the resort were so accommodating and lovely. They cook all the food and it is delicious.

The bungalows are a bit outdated and the shower was cold (even though it was advertised hot), but the owner let me use his shower and that was fine. The bed was very hard and the curtains did not allow complete privacy (specially when the fan was blowing).

It kind of reminded me of a garden shed. However, the place was clean and cozy.

You are literally a walk from the beach which is also lined with other resorts. The only real issue I had was the amount of litter and bags of rubbish that was situated right outside the Lotus Resort and there was no deck chairs available for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganator92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupong K, Owner at Blue Lotus Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks,for your review.the only thing that you mention that it mistake.hot water not hot because you not stay and paid for room with hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst I was in Koh phangan for the full moon party.

It is a 15 minute taxi ride from Haadrin, and its great if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of party central during the day when your hungover. The restuaraunt is amazing, the surroundings are peaceful and serene. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The owner is very kind and will take you to the full moon party, cash points and ferry port- if you need it.

Overall I could not fault this place at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights. The bungalows are situated on the beach front and in a garden setting. The staff are lovely and so friendly and would go out of their way for you. Free taxi to the port at the the of out stay. And the best thing about our stay was the food everything they made was amazing. The best Thai food I have tasted. I have never written a review on trip adviser before but I really thought this place deserved an excellent review. Would definatly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hols1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great place to stay, we stayed for 4 nights for the full moon party. Its a peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of haad rin, but close enough to get a cheap taxi or moped in!

The food here was amazing, proper english breakfast and amazing thai food! The staff were amazing, very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They took us to the port free of charge when we were leaving.

I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so08dnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Cheap, by the beach, peaceful, great food, and the owner is really nice. You get a lot for your baht here and you're in a great location for several of the non-full moon parties (half moon, waterfall, jungle). What more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
644 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#10 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#15 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lotus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lotus Resort

Property: Blue Lotus Resort
Address: 29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lotus Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Lotus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing