We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hut right on the beach”
Review of Blue Lotus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lotus Resort
Ranked #6 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute little hut right on the beach”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this resort. We got a taxi from the pier for 100b and made our way down a big slope to a large grassy area filled with beach huts with their own balconys and bathrooms.
Our hut was fairly small but enough for us to move around comfortably etc. We had an AC room which also had a fan. There was a comfy double bed with clean sheets and a bathroom with hot water.
The owner Pong, was really really helpful and friendly and showed us around and rented us out a scooter for the day (200b)
We had dinner there most the time and although a little expensive if your on a tight budget , food was the BEST we have eaten whilst travelling! Proper home cooked food! REAL English brekkies (I'm talking proper sausages/bacon/hash browns)
We also had bangers and mash with gravy which was amazing!!!!!!
The beach is beautiful and there's a cute little swing hanging down from a tree.
The place itself is a little out the way from the main load of shops so you really do need to rent out a scooter to get to 7-11 etc but I found it really nice to be out of the madness so this wasn't a problem at all for me.

We loved our stay and the doggies that live there were so cute :)

On our last evening Pong the owner offered us transport to our next hostel we are staying at here in Kohphangan, again was a really nice surprise to be helped out as much as they did.

10/10 would stay again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AimeeJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    28
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
52
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

If basic amenities will serve your needs then this place is perfect. Lovely hosts, yummy food and a beautiful setting right on the beach make for a good stay. The accommodation is tidy and clean but very simple. Good distance from Full Moon party too.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smittsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Mu husband booked this resort at a fantastic rate just before we left the UK. We travelled from Koh Samui on a speedboat for the Full Moon Party, but had previously decided it would be a good idea to book a place to get our heads down prior to the chaotic journey back to Samui. Extremely basic but comfortable huts, with a fantastic vibe about the place. Would definately suit backpackers. It has its own private beach and just an overall warm and friendly atmosphere.We were even given a free ride back to the ferryport in the back of a truck (a good tip was given to the driver for his genorousity). Do not hesitate....Book it!!!

Room Tip: Book in plenty of advance and try to get one of the huts looking directly onto the beach for a compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallacher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the famous full moon party and it was the perfect location! The bungalows are far enough from the main party beach that you don't need to be worried about your rooms being broken into but it is still an easy taxi ride away! The restaurant has amazing home cooked food, both thai and western, with some amazing orange juice! Good location by the beach and you can lounge by the neighbouring resorts pool if you wish! Owners were great, even drove us to the pier when it was our time to leave!! Definitely would recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smkb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very cosy and friendly resort, situated centrally in Ban Kai between Thongsala and Haadrin (both 10-15min by motorbike). Ban Kai is developing into a destination on its own, with, of course a 7-Eleven and several party areas nearby (Ban Sabaii, Jungle Party, Half Moon, Black Moon). There is also a herbal sauna nearby. The stretch between Ban Kai and Thongsala has nice beaches, covered with palm trees. The stretch between Ban Kai and Haadrin is hilly and has smaller, more secluded beaches. The beachfront at Blue Lotus is very natural and nice, offers a great view (towards Koh Samui) and beautiful sunsets.

The resort itself is very nice, set in a beautiful garden. The bungalows are simple (cold shower, fan) but offer value for money. There is also a bungalow with hot shower and airconditioning available. There will be a second one available soon. The resort has a restaurant that offers great breakfast/lunch/diner/snacks/drinks. Prices are competitive, considering the size of most meals, that can easily be shared. The restaurant functions as a central hangout, ideal to meet up with fellow travelers (however more and more of them seem to be occupied with their smart phones and Social Media constantly). In the restaurant area free WIFI is available, in some bungalows too. The owner, Pong, is a great guy offering great hospitality, together with his crew. Pong is really looking after his guests and willing to give advice or help out when needed. Blue Lotus feels like home (the home where you should live, instead of cold Europe). There are (good) rental motorbikes available, expect no problems or hassle returning your motorbike when you took good care of it. The fancy resort next to Blue Lotus has a nice beachfront pool. During our stay they offered pool access for 300 Bath per person/per day. Reasonable, considering the quality of the pool and the pool setting. Make sure to contact the general manager before using the pool. Blue Lotus offers (free) pick-up and drop-off services from and to the piers in Thongsala and Haadrin.

Blue Lotus resort is a great place for couples or friends traveling together. We have been going to Blue Lotus since 2005. First as a single traveler, then as a couple and the last few years as a family with kids. We will keep returning.

If you are up for a genuine Koh Phangan treat, you will not be disappointed choosing Blue Lotus.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows that have beach views. They are a little bit more expensive then the ones '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gevelsberg
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For us Blue Lotus Resort is really home since years. Thanks to Pong and his staff for this nice, calm and wunderfull stay and the amazing food! Pong is a real fisherman and it is gorgous to eat the fresh fish in the evening. We love to stay there and travel over the island with one of his good motorbikes. The huts are basic but cosy and worth the money. Very clean and with all you need. So we start our one year travelling in Blue Lotus and we will end there...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duene64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changsha, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The owner and staff at the resort were so accommodating and lovely. They cook all the food and it is delicious.

The bungalows are a bit outdated and the shower was cold (even though it was advertised hot), but the owner let me use his shower and that was fine. The bed was very hard and the curtains did not allow complete privacy (specially when the fan was blowing).

It kind of reminded me of a garden shed. However, the place was clean and cozy.

You are literally a walk from the beach which is also lined with other resorts. The only real issue I had was the amount of litter and bags of rubbish that was situated right outside the Lotus Resort and there was no deck chairs available for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganator92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupong K, Owner at Blue Lotus Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks,for your review.the only thing that you mention that it mistake.hot water not hot because you not stay and paid for room with hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#12 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
108 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
277 reviews
1.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
#25 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
387 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#19 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lotus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lotus Resort

Property: Blue Lotus Resort
Address: 29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lotus Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Lotus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing