We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of J.B. Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J.B. Hut Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

JB Hut is a bit away from the crazy full moon party area, but that is no problem! You have a 5 minute walk to the beach and a great view of the ocean from your balcony (also a hammock is out there). The owner is incredibly sweet. She makes all the food fresh as you order it and makes you feel like you are at home by catering to your every need.

Room Tip: get one with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    37
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chumphon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

JB Huts pros:

Decent sized, well constructed bungalows with big balconies; great views from some bungalows; hot shower; fast wifi in restaurant and pretty good food; friendly service from Bella.

Cons:

A little far to the beach; no wifi in rooms; 

Conclusion:

Possibly the best value bungalows in Hat Yao.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I simply cannot explain how great a place JB Huts is to stay at when you are on Ko Phagnan. It's truly a hidden gem! The bungalows were clean and spacious with a balcony and hammock on each. The views are incredible of Haad Yao beach. The restaurant has excellent food. Bella and her staff couldn't make you feel more at home. While in a quieter location on the island, it is still a great place to meet travelers from around the world. Bella also has motorbikes for rent, a taxi, and ferry tickets available. We stayed much longer than we anticipated here...it was just that good!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_C100889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My friend and I spent six weeks travelling around SE Asia in Oct/Nov 2012 and this was our last stop and our relaxing at the beach time. Even though a couple of the days ended up being rained out we had the best experience here. Mama Hut (I don't know her name, that is how we always referred to her) was so genuine and friendly and makes the BEST green chicken curry ever. I enjoyed chatting with her and sometimes watching her cook and learning about her family. She was so helpful and inviting.

Even though the climb from the beach to the Huts is a pain in the bum (it's only like 5 minutes, but uphill), it is worth it to stay at such a friendly and comfortable place (plus after all those mojitos the climb was needed to work off the calories!). Our view from our hut was phenomenal. Lounging in the hammock in front of our hut, or hanging out in the common area were both relaxing.

It was a great location to experience the Full Moon Party since they arrange a truck to take you into town for it and it was easy enough to find one to get home. And being on the other side of the island from the party made it much more relaxing during the down time.

We originally had a room with just a fan, but switched over to one with air conditioning halfway through. There was no problem with switching it and they helped move our bags down to the new location.

Room Tip: Get the room with the air conditioning, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

After 3 months backpacking around south east Asia this place would have to be a highlight. The owner (we called her mamma) is amazing the food is cheap and delicious and she was really helpful.

It's about 20min in a tuk tuk from had rin which isn't ideal but you get peace and quiet and mamma was happy enough to Organise transportation for us. The atmosphere is great and I met some wonderful people here which being the tuk tuk price down considerably

There is a 7.11 down the road as well as the beach and the rooms are basic with ht water and a mosquito net but great views and worth the cheap price ($au6 a night)

Loved it here!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remseck am Neckar, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Been on a world trip for the past five months with my girlfriend, always looking to stay in the cheapest places. Most hotels we have stayed at are basic and ok. Special mention to this place. Room is ok, nothing amazing but comfortable. Location is great, two minutes walk from the beach. The host Bella really makes the place stand out. Makes you feel at home and always welcomes you with a smile. The restaurant and terrace areas have a good atmosphere because of that. She organised a cheap taxi to take us to Full Moon too. I would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliottwilliams171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

we stayed at jb jan 2013 we were very happy with our choice bella and family made it a great stay.The bungalow was clean food great and value for money anything we asked was greeted with no problem.Our first time in Thailand so we have no comparisons like for like but we would stay in jb huts again and have no problem recommending the place.

Room Tip: the site has steep hills involved so best arrange with bella if you think hills could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#45 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#64 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#60 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phangan Cove Beach Resort and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#144 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.B. Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.B. Hut Bungalows

Property: J.B. Hut Bungalows
Address: 54/2 M.B. Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 367 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J.B. Hut Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your J.B. Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing