We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People, Lovely Place”
Review of J.B. Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.B. Hut Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely People, Lovely Place”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here, bungalows really clean and tidy. Great outdoor space/blacony to relax on in the hammocks. Food is AMAZING!!! And really great value, Bella is so friendly and so helpful. Give this place a visit its a hidden gem. And Haad Yao (Sorry if i have spelt it wrong) is lovely too, quiet, relaxing and lovely beaches and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    37
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I love JB Hut. I am now back for my second time after 2 years (I was here back in 2011 Christmas). In 2011 I stayed for about 3 weeks. This time I am staying for 1 month. (yes I am lucky!).

Why do I come back here when there are a multitude of other options in Koh Phangan (and specifically Haad Yao)? It is quite simply wonderful. For a number of reasons:

-Great hospitality from Bella and her family and staff. They are very friendly, helpful, efficient. Bella is very very welcoming and just wants you to be happy. She is very flexible. And she can arrange taxis, boats, buses etc.
-The bungalows are great. And cater for all budgets. I stay in the cheapest huts, and seriously they are great. Very simple, a double bed, mosquito net, bathroom (toilet & shower in same space), and a balcony with a hammock. The bungalows have great views. And I think they are quite cute in their rustic wooden-ness.
-Bella's food is delicious. She does great thai (of course) and also western stuff (but I love thai, so that's it for me all the way!).
-It is situated in Haad Yao. Haad Yao is my favourite beach on Koh Phangan. The sun sets over the water. There are little waves (perfect for swimming). It has a nice atmosphere of restaurants on the beach and great little massage huts... perfect. And not too busy. Its a perfect respite from the craziness of Haad Rin!

A few things to note:

-JB Hut is just up a hill on the main road into Haad Yao. So yes, walking back from the beach you can get a little puffy.
-Also the bungalows themselves are up a hill too. You can drive a motorbike up to them. Or walk and stretch out your calves some more!
-This beach is nowhere near the full moon party. You have to catch a taxi (and I recommend it) because motorbiking to Haad Rin is quite frankly dangerous. I think its worth staying out of Haad Rin if you want a quieter beautiful place to hang out and then go in and party. But if you want to be in the thick of it, don't stay here.

ALSO PLEASE NOTE: Bella's verbal english is great. She understands everything & is a great talker! But, she cannot understand written english. So if you email her, you won't get a response. The only way to guarantee your reservation is to call her. Ask for Bella (if she's not around, just call back when she's there - best to only speak with her).

Otherwise, you could just turn up and see if there is something available (and if not there are plenty of other places around to choose from and you could leave your stuff with Bella while you investigate - she is so nice). You can also call her when you get into the Pier and she can get someone to come pick you up.

Room Tip: PLEASE NOTE: Bella's verbal english is great. She understands everything & is a great talker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

At 400 baht, one of the best value bungalows on haad yao. Great views, good food and all of it definitely delivered with a smile. The owner is brilliant and will do anything for you.
Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

JB Hut was our first stop in Thailand and it was by far one of the best overall bungalows we stayed at. The location is perfect, its a few minutes walk to Haad Yao beach, about 15 minuts from the ferry port and around 30mins from Haad Rin. We got here the day of the Full Moon Party and it was nice to relax on the hammocks at the bungalow, eat Bella's delicious foods, and watch the sweet sunset from the balcony. The staff here really make the experience a million times better, they are always there to make meals, help you with taxi rides, ferry tickets and bike rentals. If you are going to Haad Rin for the full moon party, you will meet tons of people that leave from the Haad Yao area so you can easily share a taxi for about 150-200 baht.

Pros: Awesome views, great staff, hammocks, really clean
Cons: Not much

Room Tip: Ask for the AC rooms, they are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam-Binder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at J.B huts for about 6 days and 5 nights. The staff were really friendly and helpful ! The location of the huts were great, as they were far off from the Full Moon area and the beaches around were really pretty and peaceful. The hut themselves were a good size, with nice, clean bathrooms and a big balcony overlooking the ocean. It was really nice to wake up to such a great view ! Also because we stayed quite a long time we got a discount, which was really nice! It was probably the best valued place on the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

JB Hut is a bit away from the crazy full moon party area, but that is no problem! You have a 5 minute walk to the beach and a great view of the ocean from your balcony (also a hammock is out there). The owner is incredibly sweet. She makes all the food fresh as you order it and makes you feel like you are at home by catering to your every need.

Room Tip: get one with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumphon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

JB Huts pros:

Decent sized, well constructed bungalows with big balconies; great views from some bungalows; hot shower; fast wifi in restaurant and pretty good food; friendly service from Bella.

Cons:

A little far to the beach; no wifi in rooms; 

Conclusion:

Possibly the best value bungalows in Hat Yao.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#10 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#45 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.B. Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.B. Hut Bungalows

Property: J.B. Hut Bungalows
Address: 54/2 M.B. Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J.B. Hut Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your J.B. Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing