We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Sea Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Resort
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Wow what an experience! We came here hoping to find our own little slice of Koh Phan Ngan paradise but we got even more than we bargained for. The location is simply mind blowing. The island is awash with paradiscial vistas but the view from the hotel is the best we encountered. You will enjoy a simply world class sunset every evening (weather permitting of course). Without wanting to drift into hyperbole, it was the best sunset I've ever seen.

The rooms are extremely attractive and well appointed, although at this point I will include my one criticism. We travelled as two male friends and we couldn't get a twin room instead having to make-do-and-mend with the sofa as an ancillary bed - although it proved to be big enough to accommodate two ;)

The menu was extensive and the food of a high quality. They facilitated my dietary requirements (vegan) happily and skilfully. The staff were very helpful, welcoming and attentive. They were more than happy to go the extra mile to improve our stay. A small example is the manageress (must be a different one to the one that upset the previous reviewer so much) took us to hospital and translated for us and then took us out for a meal - all at her own cost. What a sweetheart!

So how best to conclude this review (the first review I've been inspired to write incidentally)? Well, I'm sat here at SeaGarden2 watching the sun lazily set behind a tranquil tropical sea whilst sipping a cold beer with my feet being tickled by the lapping ripples of the infinity pool and the warm breeze carrying away my cares. This is my paradise and I'd suspect it will be the paradise of every other guest as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulAntcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Sea Garden Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

As the previous resort we went in was already full for the full moon party on the 4th of August we landed in this place and what a surprise we got!! The elevated position of the place on the hills offers a wonderful landscape (especially on sunset) with a great infinity pool with a bar/restaurant beside. Concerning the rooms it seems some people had got a very bad experiences in the past but here we got there 2 different rooms, one very classy with a large balcony, AC in the room etc., a little bit expansive but worth the value for 4000 baht a night we shared for three. And another room for 2 persons with no AC but air fan, however very clean and functional for 900 baht a night. Breakfast was included for both rooms. The welcoming was excellent and the resort manager was a really lovely lady and willing to help us everytime we needed it. We really loved this place and we definitely recommend it! The only little drawbacks there may be, but really to find some, are that the beach is not directly connected to the resort and a little walking downhill is necessary and a taxi is necessary to go to the full moon party (better not take motorbikes when drinking), but that is really for quibbling. The rest of the time we had motorbikes, so moving elsewhere quickly and cheaply was never a issue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomvlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is actually my first tripadvisor review and while I tried to find this hotel, I read the very first "one star" review for it and I thought : "This can't be the right one!? Maybe they got/described the wrong hotel?"
I mean, this hotel and especially the people have been the most friendly and charming people you can imagine. Then I found the more recent reviews and those people had been more likely at the same place like us.
To make it short now: Hotel, rooms & surroundings have been clean & nice, the staff is really friendly, kind & helpful. The food was great & as far as we can tell genuine thai. The pool is, like the other reviewers already pointed out, chilly and colourful. The very own beach is admittedly sort of rocky, but nevertheless beautiful. And yes, the sunsets are amazing :)
On the flyer they call it a retreat for your soul... and it's true.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anditravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We arrive here for the full moon, and went directly to Chao pao beach. The whole island was occupied so when we found a free room we were so happy! But not for long time! When you arrive here you see nice bungalows with a beautifull view over the ocean and you think this is it! Then you meet the owner, not nice at all, after two hours you will understand that she's the worst manager-owner that you could meet in your whole life! She made us pay for the 5 nights in advance without letting us see the bungalow inside, just outside. But since it was the only free-we accepted. Since we left our passports at the scooter rent agency, we had to give her 2000 bahts deposit, she said, in case we break something in the room. What a big disappointment when we saw the bungalow inside! Be sure that there is nothing to break in the room exept if you take a batten to purposly shatter the bad! The pathos is made of sills with 2-3 cm of space beetwen, so you can see the ground below the floor and all pipelines passing there. Imagine all the mosquitos and all other bugs and cockroach entering the room from the ground! There is no mosquito net over the bed, really I can't imagine who can sleep here! This is a fun room with no air condition and it is impossible to stay here more then 15 minutes. There is no pression in the shower, they explained that it is because the bungalow is on the hill and sometimes there is a good pression and some days not! The bungalow was dirty, you don't want to walk into the shower because of all dirtiness in the bathroom. Sink is 10 cm x 10 cm large! And all of these for 700 bahts! You have beautifull bungalows on this beach for 400, this one is worth 200 bahts! And they say that they have their own beach which is not correct! There is indeed a small privite beach but another resort baught it and there are construction work on it, which makes a horrible noise all the day!
We were so desperates, we went on the beach Chao Pao to try to find anything free. From all the dozens of resorts, we found one bungalow for 1500 bahts in the expensive and beautifull Sunset Cove. We didn't planned to pay so much for the room, but we had to run away from that horrible palce! So we told the manager that we are leaving (one hour after we arrived) and she started to brawl on us telling that she wan't return the money! She did'nt want to speak with us we had to pull here because she turned her back and left! In that moment we saw some other people who payed for the more expensive bungalow also leaving. One girl was crying they started to argue with the manager, it was horrible! After 30 minutes of argue, she returned us the money, charging us for the one night!
Honestly, it was the worst experience of all in Thailand! don't go here! You have beautifull resorts on this beach! Every one of them is nicer then this one!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagarden R, General Manager at Sea Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Leylab,

Thank you very much for your information. We are so sad to hear and so sorry for your inconvenience on that situation from you. Please let's us explain about Sea Garden 2 Resort for you :The period that you stayed, it's on time that Sea Garden 2 Resort just changed the owner and waited for renovation of the resort and the lady, who you told to be the manager-owner was not right.She's just staff who worked in the resort and now,she doesn't work here already.

Now, our Sea Garden 2 Resort is renovated and changed new System already. We have new accommodations and beautiful swimming pool offered our guests, we hope you will back to visit us and give our chance to offer good service for you.

Best Regards,
Jadsada Sri
General Manager

Sea Garden Resort Haad Chao Phao ( Sea Garden 2 Resort)
81/16 Moo8 Koh Phangan,Suratthani 84280 Thailand
E-Mail:resort.seagarden@gmail.com
Facebook:SeaGardenResortHaadChaoPhao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Benjamin's Hut
Benjamin's Hut
#8 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hut Sun Bungalows
Hut Sun Bungalows
#203 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phangan Cove Beach Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#59 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comonbungalow Chao Phao Beach
Comonbungalow Chao Phao Beach
#101 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
#56 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Resort

Address: Haad Chao Pao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 379 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £20 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sea Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing