We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummmmy Italian”
Review of Cucina Italiana

Cucina Italiana
Ranked #68 of 368 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummmmy Italian”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant while on a 6 day stay in Haadrin and ate here twice and recommended to several other travellers and everyone had the same opinion, fabulous food form the even more fabulous Gianni. My husband who is american was recommended this place by the Americans Steve who works on the main street and we were not disappointed. We took Gianni's recommendations on the first visit and, his home made pasta was divine!! On the second visit we had pizza and. It was delicious!! Ended up watching some of the World Cup with Gianni at Paddy's bar and bumping into him at the boat party and he's a great guy, don't be out off by the location or setting of the restaurant, visit try the food and promise you will return. Any other travellers we recommended this too said they also had great meals. As a white wine drinker I was dubious about trying the wine but it was really nice. Overall somewhere you should definitely eat when in Haadrin in you fancy some Italian cuisine!! Thanks Gianni see you next time we return to Haadrin!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sushi76Bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the island”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend who lives in Chaloklum. It's run by an Italian guy and all his Italian friends showed up in the evening. The menu is limited to pizza and a handful of other things, but the pizza is where it's at. Thin, crisp crust, multiple cheese varieties, charcuterie toppings, plus wine by the carafe (litre, or half, or glass) and tables on a sandy outdoor terrace. My bf and I are still thinking about the pizza here and we ate it more than a month ago. We also had the lasagne, but could take that or leave it next time. The price was average, the value was excellent considering how delicious everything was.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bek_island_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delizioso!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Have kept coming back for their amazing pizzas, incredibly delicious fresh pastas, and the atmosphere and good service. Don't miss this gem of an Italian restaurant that overlooks Chaloklum Bay....the owner and chef is from Rimini, Italy and has brought the great taste of Italy to Koh Phangan. Prelibato!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great cannelloni in Koh Phangan”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This authentic Italian restaurant comes highly recommended in travel guidebook and by foreigners living on Koh Phangan so we went to sample the fare. The cannelloni was fantastic! The pizza was average though: a thin base which was great but the toppings- we had the 4 seasons with ham, mushrooms, olives, peppers and - the ingredients seems cheap ie not the best quality ham or olives and the presentation wasn't great. We liked the vibe though- a very basic interior and a friendly Italian owner. I was hoping he'd play his guitar and sing, but maybe next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Italian food outside of Italy”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Amazing!!! Pizzas, pastas….all fantastic! Carafes of wine, great service, seaside view….excellent prices too! Have already been back a few times and will return again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cucina Italiana also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing