We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar on the island”

Hub Island Sports Cafe
Ranked #35 of 437 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Irish, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Island Sports Cafe very conveniently located at the end of Thong Sala ferry pier in Koh Phangan. After the ferry trip why not plan your stay on the island at the HUB while you enjoy a warm welcome, free WiFi and free pool. Ask our friendly staff for free advice and the must see attractions on the island. We go above and beyond to send you away ready to really enjoy the island. Please read our reviews. We're the only bar on the island with a BIG SCREEN PROJECTOR to satisfy all your live sporting needs from every country. If it's not advertised just ask at the bar and we'll put it on. - Free Advice - Free WiFi - Free Pool - Big screen projector showing all live sports - Reliable, honest motorbike hire - Outdoor seating - We are told, best fried breakfast on the island - Fresh fruit smoothies and premium bean to cup coffee - Full wine list selection available - Fantastic Sunday roast dinners Motorbike rental - We pride ourselves on providing a honest rental service, check our reviews. Please, please check repair costs before hiring a motorbike from any rental shop. Sadly accidents do happen. The Hub, Island sports cafe - "A place to kick back and enjoy"
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Harp Bar is the first place I saw after getting off the ferry at Thongsala and walking down the jetty. This is a great place to kick off your Koh Phangan holiday. After the trip over we wanted to grab a great meal and plan our trip. Harp Bar is perfect as there's free wifi, a cold towel on arrival, fantastic food, friendly staff (with great tips on things to do) and of course Guinness!

Harp Bar is the place for sport on the island. As an Aussie I was glad to see they have the NRL, AFL and Super Rugby as well as all premier league and other football. While I was there the manager was arranging a projector & screen for the World Cup - so if you are there in June/July then this is place to watch all the games.

The bar is 10 mins or so from the full moon party beach, which is perfect as it's a great escape from the madness.

All in all a great place to base yourself and thoroughly recommended. The best bar on the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Supernova6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Hub Island Sports Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about Harp Bar, Thongsala. Our main aim is to provide a home away from home, so sports, good food, great company and obviously ice cold beers. We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of the venue and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you from all of the team here at The Harp Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Would highly recommend the English fry up, the sausages are by far the best I've ever had!!! After falling bored of Thai good the fry up was exactly what I needed!! My friend also had a pasta dish and loved it!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lash2lashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Hub Island Sports Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

The Lashes2Lashes girls, how are you? Thank you for the review, and we were very happy about what you said about the food when you visited us. We agree that we have the best fry up here on the island, and was happy to hear your friend enjoyed her spaghetti carbonara. Hope you had a safe trip that day, and hope everything is well with you both.

Take care and maybe we might catch you again in the future.

Thanks,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

LOVED this place!! I spent quite a bit of time on Koh phangan and even though i promised myself i would never visit the same place twice, i found myself here almost everyday for either, a big breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Was the first bar i spotted when stepping off the boat and after a long, and VERY hot, journey i thought i would make a quick stop to refresh. Not only did i get the cold refreshing drink i was looking for but i received a lovely warm welcome and also got a FREE cold towel #heaven! They've got a great selection of food, drinks, cocktails as well as having free pool!!
The staff always made sure i was looked after and i will definutley be visiting again when im back to island life, keep up the good work guys!!! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

as soon as we arrived at koh phangan, we came here.
After get off the ferry, you just go straight then you will see it.

Better to drink outside.

Thank Luna_wi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Hub Island Sports Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our future customers, and we are happy that you came and visited us during your trip to Koh Phangan. We try to create a cosy atmosphere here at the harp, and there are a lot of things happening over the coming months to improve our venue even more. We hope to see you again in the future.

We hope you had a safe trip home.

The Harp Bar. Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

On the plus the drinks are cold even though they are on the expensive side.. food was good but the kitchen looks pretty gross as you can see straight into from the bar...

The service was slack staff seemed like they hated their life and didn't want to be there.. had no ingredients to make cocktails we changed the order 3 times and still the one we ordered tasted like dishwashing liquid...

will not be returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aza613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Hub Island Sports Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Customer,

Hello and thank you for your review on our bar in Koh Phangan.

Our food and drinks selection is a wide variety of choice, and we are very price sensitive to different brands, our prices are low on the majority of our products but on our imported beers we do have to pay a big import tax on this, and this is where things are a little more expensive, but not overly.

The Kitchen is open for the public to see in to, but could you explain what you mean by gross? We have an hourly clean rota for all parts of our business.

The staff have changed, as this happens regularly on this island and many others. It is hard to keep hold of staff in any business here, even when we offer great incentives that other businesses do not, but we do try to keep everyone upbeat as much as possible.

We do hope you will give us a second chance if you do decide to visit Koh Phangan again.

We hope you had a safe trip home.

Thank you,

The Harp Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hub Island Sports Cafe also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Hub Island Sports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing