We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful resort with zero management ability”
Review of Chantaramas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chantaramas Resort
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We are currently traveling around Asia and decided we would go to the recent full moon party and wanted to stay somewhere a little out of town to keep away from the crowds. The resort is beautiful new and fresh. On arrival we were greeted swiftly and this was a positive start but was the end of the service.

We spent 3 nights and a lot of money to stay at Chantaramas, over $750US. The room was nice and big but there was a strange smell, rotting something. We spent time by the pool trying to drink and have fun but it would take about 25 minutes to receive a warm beer. It was as tho they did not really care about providing a relaxing experience and only cared about taking your money. When you order ice to chill your warm beer expect to pay for that ice.

When we ate dinner at the moon deck the western food was none the less crap and took 1 hour to get to us. The first night i didnt even receive my meal i had to ask them 2 times where it was.

The beach in front of the resort is covered in rubbish. There are storm water drains which make the water brown.

When we were leaving we mentioned that we were not happy with the service from our dinner last night and over all the service in general was unacceptable for the money we paid. The manager offered us an offensive 20 percent off our meal which was $5US. I work for a ski resort and run over 100 properties and i know that if someone complains you can give them more than $5US off their bill.

Over all shocking food, shocking service, shocking manager, shocking stay for a shocking
price.

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We decided to stay at Chantaramas for 2 nights during Full Moon because we wanted a bit better facilities than just basic bungalow. Also almost all hotels near Haad Rin was already booked 1,5 months before this period.

Rooms are big, clean and cosy. The sea view from the superior deluxe room is amazing! Location is ok if you are looking for more laid back Full Moon experience. But if you want party 24/7, don't stay here - there is a 10 minutes taxi drive to Haad Rin for 100 Baht per person.

Food at the restaurant is good but the breakfast is awful!! There is just couple of options to choose and they'll bring a set (which is rather poor), just some dry toast or whatever.

The beach in front of the hotel is pretty but not so swimmable. The pool bar wasn't open during our stay.

All n all, ok resort but definitely not luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipsfortraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The place is new, and the rooms are stylish. And those are the positives.
The negatives:

- it's way overpriced for ko phangan standards
- our room was a "deluxe garden view" with view of another bungalow
- the beach is a thin and unattractive strip of sand
- the place is full of large and aggressive mosquitos (there where three dead ones in the tub upon check in and plenty more alive and kicking in the room)
- the air conditioning is a nightmare, because the fan is directly pointed to the king bed and there's no way of directing the flow. So, you either sleep in a hot and damp tropical climate, or with a stream of cold air right on your face.
- the breakfast is mediocre
- the minibar is empty
- the rooms are equipped with two nice pairs of slippers. As I've done anywhere in the world, i packed the slippers in my bag to bring them home and use them for a while (they're supposed to be a disposable item, for obvious hygene reasons). Instead - upon checkout - they charged us 500thb for the missing pair. So it turns out the slippers are not included in the 689 euros we forked out for three nights, and it seems they recycle them from one guest to the other (why charge for them if they're disposable?).

Overall, a very poor experience, in a totally empty resort. I'm sure you can find better on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucienchardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, Guest Relations Manager at Chantaramas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Sawasdee kub,

We would like to apologize that you had gained the poor perception towards our resort. Every department here has been effectively improved as you can see from our given positive reviews and we are fully ready to serve the guests and fulfill their needs into maximum satisfaction. There are some information I want to inform you;

1. We hardly have complaints about mosquitoes for long time due to the excellent cleaning management of our quality housekeeping department

2. The air-cons in every accommodation have been repositioned into the right positions which give the guests comfort and relaxation.

3. We provide minibars offering many kind of beverages and also tasty snacks for the guest to enjoy

4. The slippers at that period we provided the quality leather slippers for the guest comfort and they were not disposable due to the high quality. However we have changed them into disposable slippers for the guests and we dispose them right after they check out and replace with the new ones.

Again we apologize for your poor experiences towards our resort. I would like to invite you to visit us again and we look forward to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

What is listed here as a 4 star yet they claim on site to be 5 star. I know 5 star doesn't always include the food rating but the free breakfast is a tiny chicken hot dog sausage, bacon and cheap ham from 7/11 accompanied by ants on the crossiants. Cots are not allowed in the rooms so no point if you have young children. How they claim that they can be 5 star is beyond me. The one main factor i will never go back is awful hygiene of the place. Its a new hotel yet it's already so dirty. If any one goes to this place just walk through a door that says private or staff only on it and believe me you will never want to eat there again.

Room Tip: find a different hotel, you might die of food poisoning if you eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank iancatterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, Guest Relations Manager at Chantaramas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Sawasdee krub,

First of all we would like to apologize for what you had experienced towards the resort. However there is some information I would like to inform you.

Firstly, our complimentary breakfast is quality American breakfast, with hygiene ingredient, which provides variety of choices for the guests such as omelet, French toast, pancake, croissant, bread, salad, corn, chicken, and mushroom soup, muesli, Thai desserts, etc. The buffet also includes Thai food and Thai desserts to be additional choices for the guests.

Secondly, we provide baby cots with free of charge. Thirdly, the resort is new, clean and very hygienic in every part of the resort especially behind the stuff only rooms because we all know that the dirtiness is the key factor of the poor impression.

Again we really apologize for your poor perception towards our resort. We would like to invite you come back to visit us again anytime you can in the future. If you have any question please contact at ram@chantaramas.com

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Currently we are staying at Chantaramas. We booked it directly with the hotel manager and got a good rate for 5 nights (4+1). The resort is brand new, you can still smell the "new" of the whole resort. A very nice welcome by the manager and staff. The rooms are very spacious and really fabulous. A huge bathtub for two, a walk in rainshower, and a huge king size bed. We had a ground floor deluxe room and it was just perfect.
Nice walk on terrace with bench and two chairs to chill out at night. The amenities are all well provided and housekeeping do their very very best. You have a turn down service at night, two little flowers on the bed and ready to go to sleep. The location of the resort is 3km of haad rin, so if you come for party, you have to take the taxi or motorbike over the hills. The beach is in a bay with high and low tides, so only in afternoon good for sea swim. But the pool is right on the beach, very well maintained by staff and very good sunbeds with comfy matrasses and parasols. We ate almost everyday in the restaurant because everything is Super Fresh. (western and thai food). The green curry is heaven and so are all other thai dishes. No tourist sickness of eating here at all, couldn't have do it better. Prices are very reasonable for quality and service. You don't have a minibar, you do have complimentary waterbottles and a minimart at the hotel, so you can buy snack and drinks to relax in the room.The resort is very beautiful at night, little lights and so clean, nice flowers and coconut trees. The staff is really nice and they treat you very well. (if you treat them well offcourse). The breakfast is served at the table (with options of 6 different breakfast combo's when there are not many guests in the hotel) otherwse when it became busier, the buffet is also good and we know they will improve it in the future. We hope that visitors of the Chantaramas are decent people in the future who come to this resort for relaxing, good food and nice service. If you are in to partying, this is no option for the "full moon-er", although you can relax perfect after a heavy party in a very nice environment. We have 6 times to phangan allready and have experience with the biggest and highest rated resorts and we are for sure that Chantaramas has a big future on phangan. We will come back for sure. W&M Belgium

Room Tip: good value: deluxe room.... money to spend: take the pool villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spipje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, Guest Relations Manager at Chantaramas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Sawasdee krub,

We really appreciate your positive comments and are glad that you had a real good memorable time here at Chantaramas Resort & Spa. We cannot find any better words to describe than “grateful”.

However just so you know now we provide minibar service inside every accommodation to comfort the guests.

Your comments will be informed to our staffs to inspire them and let them know that the guests are happy while staying with us. Again we thank you and look forward to serve you again here at Chantaramas Resort and Spa.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: บรรยากาศดีทุกห้องค่ะ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watcharaphawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunchai S, Front Office Manager at Chantaramas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sonianowbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.6 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
2.5 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
5.9 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantaramas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort

Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Koh Pha Ngan, Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £52 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have swimming pool on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature. Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chantaramas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing