We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay! DO NOT LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay! DO NOT LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for her birthday. As soon as we turned up the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were shown to our room which was spacious with tv dvd player fridge and good wardrobe space and a massive bathroom. A bath tub which could easily fit to adults, side by side! Indoor and out door shower. The pool on looks the beach were the resort is. Nice little beach not amazing tho. Pool was lovely. We ate here on our first night the food was brilliant. More than you'd pay in other places but for the quality we were happy to pay it. We ended up eating a few meals here!! We needed to go to the shop and asked if there was anyway we could rent a bike for only 1 hour(we knew it was a tad stupid) but one of the hotel receptionists said we could borrow his free of charge. The staff on the whole were amazing with us so friendly and helped us with what ever we needed. We got speaking to the hotel owner and she was just as amazing and helpful. We booked an extra night! Absolutely loved every moment. They have seen the previous reviews and acted on them. They really are trying hard to make this a great resort! I would recommend this resort to anyone I encounter. What's the point of trip advisor if not for the hotels to learn from the reviews people give. If your thinking of staying here I would deffenatly give this place a chance. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davewithomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    73
    38
    30
    24
See reviews for
43
212
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Chantaramas is situated on a lovely property and rooms were well appointed. Upon arriving at Chantaramas in early February, there seemed to be some confusion relating to our date of stay and payment arrangements. Having booked with booking.com we had not pre-payed accommodation and were asked to pay at time of check in (in our experience common in Thailand). After showing the receptionist our paper work and paying (approx $250 AUD per night), we were directed to our room and helped with luggage. The supreme deluxe rooms have a large bath, indoor and outdoor shower. The pool area with bar was great. The beach area was shallow, however appeared clean enough. Rooms were kept clean, however pool towels were not always changed. Chantaramas advertised a boutique and library on their website, neither were present. The area around the spa was incomplete, however we did not use this facility so cannot comment on whether it was available. The hotel restaurant served tasty food, however this comes at a price compared to Thailand standards. There are nearby restaurants at other hotels, however we didn’t risk walking along the hilly and bendy road as there were some crazy drivers!

At the time of researching, some websites had advertised the location of Chantaramas as Had Rin, however it is about 10 minutes from Had Rin. There are plenty of transport options to get into Had Rin. The hotel offers a service or cheap transport- tuk tuks and songthaews are available on the main road just up the driveway.


At time of check out, we were informed for the first time we had stayed an additional night. I once again showed the receptionist the paperwork, receipt and told her we had booked (and payed) for the three nights we stayed. The receptionist’s English was not very good, so we spoke to other staff members. We assured everything was okay and were able to check out and paid for the driver to take us to had rin. When we returned home and checked our bank accounts, i realised i had been double charged as the staff at Chantaramas had charged my credit card for the entire stay again! I emailed booking.com who dealt with the double charges promptly. Chantaramas were slow to respond and i was initially informed it would take a month for them to process the refund, however received it sooner.

Based on this experience and given the cost of the accommodation, i would not stay here again.If you are going to Koh Phangan for the full moon party, i would consider a cheaper option as you will not likely spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lani4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed here with my cousin during the October full moon party. (We are two guys)

First of all the positives:

-More or less a private beach
-Newly built
-Veeery nice architecture and pretty rooms

Now comes the part, why I still wouldn't recommend staying here:

We are two guys (friends) and had especially booked a room with twin beds. I even called to confirm that we'd be getting twin beds. When we got there, they took us after a long wait to our room - surprise, surprise - with a king bed. Instead of apologizing much, they tried to argue in the beginning that we hadn't booked twin beds. Only after I insisted that we'd like to talk to the manager, we could talk to her. After much arguing, they did upgrade our room and one had to sleep on a king size bed while the other got a small, really uncomfortable matteres.

There were a lot of bad details, like the average breakfast (compared to other hotels in Thailand, the breakfast was bad), the very expensive restaurant that serves small portions that have an average taste. Sometimes the restaurant even ran out of food or would take 2hours to make a sandwich - we decided to go to the big village Haad Rin instead.

The hotel is also 10minutes away from Haad Rin, which gets very annoying if you wanna go out at night.

This is could be a great hotel for couples looking for a romantic stay, but with bad management, they can't claim to be luxurious - especially not for their rates (compared to other hotels on the island).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I was traveling with my partner for our once a year holiday and decided to stay at Chantaramas. I'm usually very cautious where we stay and do my research, read other reviews etc. This time I ignored the bad ones and decided to stay there anyway because the photos of the resort and rooms looked really nice.

However..
Our room stank! I thought it was just because it had been closed up and needed to air out. This wasn't the case. Every time we went out and came back it smelled really bad until we got the air con to a nice cool temperature. I also found some sizable spiders in our room which was a bit freaky because I didn't know if spiders in Thailand were poisonous!
The service for everything is really slow. Food, drinks, reception inquiries. And the western cuisine there is disgusting as well as the breakfast. I had to wait such a long time for drinks that when they said they'd bring it over to where I was I had forgotten I'd even ordered them by the time they got there!
I got some laundry done which they wouldn't pick up from our room, I had to take it to reception.Who wants to walk across a resort with dirty clothes for everyone to see! Luckily we had a spare plastic bag to put it on as they didn't provide one. The next day we discovered they had "lost" some of my clothes, so I had to waste my time sorting that out too. They were recovered the morning we were leaving but it's still not acceptable. For the amount of money we paid and only for a standard room, this place is awful.
It's unfortunate because the actual resort is really beautiful, but terribly managed. I would not recommend staying here to anyone. LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS. It also seems that some of the good ones with "5 stars" are written by the people who own/manage it.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sh157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We are currently traveling around Asia and decided we would go to the recent full moon party and wanted to stay somewhere a little out of town to keep away from the crowds. The resort is beautiful new and fresh. On arrival we were greeted swiftly and this was a positive start but was the end of the service.

We spent 3 nights and a lot of money to stay at Chantaramas, over $750US. The room was nice and big but there was a strange smell, rotting something. We spent time by the pool trying to drink and have fun but it would take about 25 minutes to receive a warm beer. It was as tho they did not really care about providing a relaxing experience and only cared about taking your money. When you order ice to chill your warm beer expect to pay for that ice.

When we ate dinner at the moon deck the western food was none the less crap and took 1 hour to get to us. The first night i didnt even receive my meal i had to ask them 2 times where it was.

The beach in front of the resort is covered in rubbish. There are storm water drains which make the water brown.

When we were leaving we mentioned that we were not happy with the service from our dinner last night and over all the service in general was unacceptable for the money we paid. The manager offered us an offensive 20 percent off our meal which was $5US. I work for a ski resort and run over 100 properties and i know that if someone complains you can give them more than $5US off their bill.

Over all shocking food, shocking service, shocking manager, shocking stay for a shocking
price.

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We decided to stay at Chantaramas for 2 nights during Full Moon because we wanted a bit better facilities than just basic bungalow. Also almost all hotels near Haad Rin was already booked 1,5 months before this period.

Rooms are big, clean and cosy. The sea view from the superior deluxe room is amazing! Location is ok if you are looking for more laid back Full Moon experience. But if you want party 24/7, don't stay here - there is a 10 minutes taxi drive to Haad Rin for 100 Baht per person.

Food at the restaurant is good but the breakfast is awful!! There is just couple of options to choose and they'll bring a set (which is rather poor), just some dry toast or whatever.

The beach in front of the hotel is pretty but not so swimmable. The pool bar wasn't open during our stay.

All n all, ok resort but definitely not luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipsfortraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The place is new, and the rooms are stylish. And those are the positives.
The negatives:

- it's way overpriced for ko phangan standards
- our room was a "deluxe garden view" with view of another bungalow
- the beach is a thin and unattractive strip of sand
- the place is full of large and aggressive mosquitos (there where three dead ones in the tub upon check in and plenty more alive and kicking in the room)
- the air conditioning is a nightmare, because the fan is directly pointed to the king bed and there's no way of directing the flow. So, you either sleep in a hot and damp tropical climate, or with a stream of cold air right on your face.
- the breakfast is mediocre
- the minibar is empty
- the rooms are equipped with two nice pairs of slippers. As I've done anywhere in the world, i packed the slippers in my bag to bring them home and use them for a while (they're supposed to be a disposable item, for obvious hygene reasons). Instead - upon checkout - they charged us 500thb for the missing pair. So it turns out the slippers are not included in the 689 euros we forked out for three nights, and it seems they recycle them from one guest to the other (why charge for them if they're disposable?).

Overall, a very poor experience, in a totally empty resort. I'm sure you can find better on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucienchardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, Guest Relations Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Sawasdee kub,

We would like to apologize that you had gained the poor perception towards our resort. Every department here has been effectively improved as you can see from our given positive reviews and we are fully ready to serve the guests and fulfill their needs into maximum satisfaction. There are some information I want to inform you;

1. We hardly have complaints about mosquitoes for long time due to the excellent cleaning management of our quality housekeeping department

2. The air-cons in every accommodation have been repositioned into the right positions which give the guests comfort and relaxation.

3. We provide minibars offering many kind of beverages and also tasty snacks for the guest to enjoy

4. The slippers at that period we provided the quality leather slippers for the guest comfort and they were not disposable due to the high quality. However we have changed them into disposable slippers for the guests and we dispose them right after they check out and replace with the new ones.

Again we apologize for your poor experiences towards our resort. I would like to invite you to visit us again and we look forward to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.6 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
2.6 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.8 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
2.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantaramas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Property: Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Koh Pha Ngan, Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have swimming pool on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature. Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chantaramas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing