We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort and Great Location. Best Place We Stayed in Thailand.”
Review of Chantaramas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chantaramas Resort
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I'm a travel agent and I booked a big Thailand trip in January. I organised most hotels through our wholesaler, but had trouble finding accommodation in Koh Phangan as we were booking late and over the Full Moon Party. I went onto TripAdvisor and found the Chantaramas. It had great reviews and looked like it was close to Haad Rin beach without actually being in Haad Rin. I was a little skeptical as it wasn't one of our preferred properties but we booked it online anyway.

When we got to Koh Phangan and pulled up to the Chantaramas we were flabbergasted! It was absolutely stunning, with tall tropical trees, lush vegetation and a great reception. After tasting our delicious welcome drinks and cooling down with their cooled towels we were graciously shown to our room. The room was large, clean and modern with a nice big bed. We booked a room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony and we got exactly what we paid for. The Jacuzzi was AMAZING! It was like a bath so you could put hot or cold water in it. The food was delicious and cheap, and the pool, OMG, the pool. It was an infinity pool right on the beach. Stunning! It was also in a perfect location, only a 10 minute TukTuk ride to the Full Moon Party.

I really don't understand why we don't contract this property when it was the best place we stayed at in Thailand but I'll be getting to the bottom of it asap! The only downside was when we went to book on their website, the price of their room went up by a couple of hundred dollars without letting us confirm the currency change... was a bit weird... either way it was well worth what we paid for it anyway. Would recommend to anyone, especially couples or friends.

Room Tip: Get the room with the Jacuzzi on the balcony, only a little more expensive than your Deluxe room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sar_b123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for 4 nights during the full moon party. What can I say, from the moment you enter the hotel until the moment you leave it is pure bliss! We had a slight issue on arrival with the agent we booked through saying we had no reservation but the staff handled it efficiently and got us to our beautiful room as quickly as possible.

When my friend and I entered the room, we both looked at each other like WOW! Wonderful big shower, massive spa bath and basin and a cute outdoor shower for when you arrive back from the beach. The beds were comfortable and the room was so spacious!

After settling into our room we proceeded to head to the restaurant and pool area. IT JUST GOT BETTER AND BETTER! The hotel food prices were equal to what you pay on the street if not cheaper and the food quality was divine!
The pool was truly a dream come true.. Water flowing over the edges ON a crystal clear beach WITH a pool bar. Sunsets over the beach were like a movie.

The hotel guests range in all ages which also gives it a great feel.

We had other friends on the island who stayed at other places for the same price and the quality was ridiculous compared to our hotel. The location is also great. 10 minutes to the full moon party and 10 minutes to the wharf township. I would recommend bikes as the roads arent very busy and it is 100 baht per person every time you get in a tuk tuk.

I would highly recommend this resort to all ages as it caters to the young, old and families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed at Chantaramas for 4 nights & my experience was excellent. The rooms are lovely & the kingsize bed is amazing & so comfortable. We had a great view from our room as well. The restaurant was great & very tasty. We ordered the chicken satay skewers every night because the satay sauce was so good! We swam in the pool everyday & the staff are happy to bring the drinks over to you. Breakfast was great as there is lots to choose from. The staff & service I found very good as well. The reception staff may need a tiny bit of improvement on their English but overall I never had any problems. It was very expensive to do my washing through the resort but I had no clean clothes & needed it done. (They did come back smelling lovely though.) There is an occasional bad smell between the massage place & the pool but it comes & goes & never ruined our stay. We stayed at Chantaramas during full moon period & it was lots of fun as they had extra lights & were pumping music in the grounds the night of the party to get everyone in the mood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Great hotel!
Very fancy, actually the finest in the south of the island.
Standard room is the biggest I ever seen (and I've been in Vegas).
It is pastoral hotel excellent for couples and less for family or young friends

TIP
Because its location on BAAN-KAI beach 10 minutes drive from the Haad-rin (where all the parties) and 10 minutes drive from THONG-SALA (the main town) it will be wise decision to rent a bike (we took in "Black&white was 100% fine)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Assi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

+ staff were very friendly
+ the hotel in itself was nice
+ the pool is large and beautiful
+ good if you like a secluded island stay
+ the room was quite large

- most of the staff didn't speak any or very bad English. They couldn't understand simple requests at times (e.g. you'd ask for scrambled eggs at breakfast and they'd bring you an omelette)
- every time housekeeping came by, the room was filled with mosquitoes
- there isn't much to see or do around the hotel (no shops, etc.)
- sometimes there was only one driver present, so you had to wait to get somewhere
- food was quite pricey
- some beach towels had strange stains on them
- breakfast selection got tired after four days (could be better)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregory_c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is highly recommend!!!!! It's approximately
8 minutes from the hadrin. Best for those how are looking for quiter but still want to be close to everything.
Luxurious room's, delicious food and of course the
Amazing pool!!! Beautiful place. ..
Its important to note, that the resort staff and the resident manager, PAITOON, are wanderfull!
We got quick answers to any given questions and requests.
In short, I really recommend this resort highly and definitely will return again.
Honny mooners, April 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alonratson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We got to the hotel for our honeymoon, we surprised to realize that the pool is just too small for the large amount of pepole that been there. The room was really nice, but the house cleaning was terrible- they just made the bed without paying attention to the room and even ״left" us a writing curse on the the patio windows!!! We had several problems with the air-con and we could'nt get sleep because the noise he nade, the staff came several time to fix it but it does'nt help. Finally after three days we decided to run away to another resort. We surprised again to found out that we have to pay 700(!!!) baht of 2 sandwiches and 2 coke that we ate in the hotel restaurant.
I would not recommend to anyone to stay in this hotel, left us bad memory for our honeymoon!! there are better hotels you can find for this price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huddini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.6 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
2.5 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
5.9 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantaramas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort

Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Koh Pha Ngan, Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £36 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have swimming pool on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature. Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chantaramas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing