We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel with top class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel with top class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What an amazing hotel and fab start to our honeymoon.
Right from the moment we arrived the service was outstanding. This hotel had the wow factor, the room was lovely and comfortable, love the outdoor shower and indoor one, sunken HUGE bath tub and MASSIVE bed.
The food was lovely and the waiters went above and beyond to help and advise. The resort manager gave us valuable tips about the island.
The location was what we were looking for, close enough to Haad Rin and the parties but far enough away to escape it all. There isn't much in walking distance to this hotel but we hired a scooter which the hotel arranged for us with a decent supplier and we went off exploring, the best way to get around the island or just flag down a cab on the main road.
The pool and beach / sunbathing area was like something off a postcard. We had fun borrowing the kayaks and paddling round the bay. It was very hard to leave this hotel. All in all our stay was top class and very memorable. We couldn't fault it! We highly recommend it to anyone wanting something special rather than a backpackers hostel.

Room Tip: We had the delux room on the ground floor and it was perfect and great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, General Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Clare,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Chantaramas Resort and Spa. I thank you for your feedback and special mention of our excellent restaurants and great swimming pool.

We are also delighted that you enjoy the hotel oasis of calm and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor surfers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Constant Wormser
Resort Manager at Chantaramas Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    69
    35
    27
    22
See reviews for
39
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We just spent three weeks in Thailand and this is by far the best hotel we stayed at.
The hotel, its location and especially the staff were all excellent.
If you really wish to relax go to Koh Phangan and book at least three nights at Chantaramas!

Room Tip: If you want the best experience book the Pool Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iftah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, General Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Iftah,

Thank you so much for your review and compliments and we are very proud and happy to have exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcome you and your two brothers back again in the near future. We are delighted to share your comments with all our staff concerned and wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,

Constant Wormser
Resort Manager at Chantaramas Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights and chantaramas resort was by far the best hotel of our trip. The hotel has recently been taken over by new management and what a job these guys are doing! Everything was first class, all the staff are very helpful and extremely friendly. Booked a room with a jacuzzi and boy was it worth it. I have no doubt that if I visited koh phangang again I would book this hotel. Big thanks to Keith, roger and kao for their hospitality and making our short stay extremely enjoyable. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, General Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Ben J,

We are thankful for your beautiful comment following your recent stay at the Chantaramas Resort and Spa.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Koh Phangan.

Constant Wormser
Resort Manager at Chantaramas Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

we were excited to see this hotel as we had such great reviews on here... but, i think the management needs to rethink some of the methods of service if he needs to sell rooms for 5000thb a night.

1) the rooms dont have an automatic locking system, which makes it very difficult to be sure your belongings are kept safe. water temp consistency varies enormously, but we were told its a problem for the whole island.

2) the breakfast is very very average for the amount you pay. the egg station is good, but when i asked for bacon in my omelette she said she couldnt do it, even though there were strips of bacon beside her. you have to ask for EVERYTHING.. juice, water, butter, fruit, you name it... i would much prefer a buffet type of service as this service became very tiring (even though we only ate there once!). the breads were stale and we had no idea what sort of jams they gave us .

3) when we got back from the beach we asked reception for some fresh towels to take to the pool, and 3 TIMES they said they would bring them to us.. and what happens? ... no towels

4) our second last day is when the real problems started.. we needed to organise a taxi to take us to dinner - when we asked them, they said they didn't have any taxi services, after asking her to call an outside source, and not their own transport system, she said she didn't have the number... so what would a normal receptionist/concierge with perfectly good english do to book their guests a taxi? FIND THE NUMBER!! we felt like we had to hand feed them ALL the time, even after writing it down on paper

5) we also needed to book transport off the island, and a car to the ferry dock, telling them the details felt like running a marathon... they needed 4 receptionists (even the lady with the american accent) to try to fathom what we were saying and it still took half an hour. we then asked if we could please get an american breakfast sent to our room at 6.00am as we were leaving fairly early. the lady with the semi-american accent said that would be no problem.. but what happens when we wake up? we get an apple, a bottle of water and a sandwich in a brown paper bag.

6) when we asked to speak with the manager of the hotel, he just nodded his head as if he was listening, but even HE did absolutely nothing to really help us. he just said 'im sorry and we will try and fix it'

7) the atmosphere was appalling.. because there was no one there (and we soon learnt why), it felt like a ghost town. i know you can only put that off to the simple fact no one has booked to stay there but it says a lot about reputation...

8) the worst part was, we had 4 days in koh phangan to spend, and it seemed to be wasted on spending hours of planning and talking through things with the staff.. for the management, we were just a couple of hotel guests and they come-and-go, but the stress caused from the staff and manager created so much stress for us, it made a huge dent in our stay.

i would VERY STRONGLY suggest not to stay here. there are many places closer to haad rin for a quarter of the price with great rooms and excellent service. even though the staff were well mannered and polite, i believe it is not their fault the way they have been trained.. that responsibility is handed over to the manager.

whats even worse is, i'm going to receive a very blunt, boring reply from the manager of this hotel 'assuring' me his staff are well trained and blah blah blah, but i don't really want a reply, i just needed to let people know if they want to a relaxing, island holiday, this is not the place for it.

other than that, of course, koh phangan is a fantastic island, its probably best to stay a little closer to the party district of haad rin beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millif2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, General Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Millif2000,

It was a pleasure accommodating you at Chantaramas Resort and Spa and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am the new Resort Manager for this location and I am very sorry to learn that you left the hotel disappointed with the services received. We did, for the last month, and will certainly put all our efforts into securing much better experiences for our guest.

However, in regard to your transportation request, we actually offer a "hotel taxi" service upon availability. We would not provide any driver number as there is no proper conveying company in Koh Phangan and most taxis are actually freelancers. In addition, as safety is our number 1 priority, we can not advice any transportation which ask you to seat at the back of a "pick-up" and does not provide you with any seat belt.

In references to the breakfast, we recently change our breakfast formula for a personalize selection, more suitable to our guest needs and requests. We acknowledge that was a challenge for you and apologize for any inconvenient we may have caused.

Since you extended you stay with us by 2 nights we thought that you were happy with our services and facilities. This review is a surprise to us and I wish you had come to me during your stay, and not upon departure, in order to rectify our services and satisfy you and your girlfriend.

Again thank you for your constructive feed back and we hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Constant Wormser
Resort Manager at Chantaramas Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We've stages for 5 nights @chantaramas. We were welcomed personally by The (New) manager and his staff . Got a welcome drink AMD refreshment towel and got a sightseeing tour in The resort. This is a lovely boutique hotel with great service, fantastic (clean) big rooms, very friendly staff and a very professional manager. We've been travelling for 3 weeks in Thailand (family with 2 kids, 16 and 19 yrs) and this was The best hotel we had during our trip. I can absolutely recommand this hotel to anyone who is looking for a boutique hotel with a great infinity pool at a quiet beach!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller020563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaramasresort, General Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed facilities and especially our services. Now we hope you will visit us again in a not too distant future. All the best to you and your family.

Sincerely,

Constant Wormser
Resort Manager
Chantaramas Koh Phangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have been told that there is a private beach. The truth is that if you want a beach you need to take a taxi. The breakfast is good for 3 star hotel. The rooms are nice, the staff is friendly. Good for relax. If you need beach dont go to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I'm a travel agent and I booked a big Thailand trip in January. I organised most hotels through our wholesaler, but had trouble finding accommodation in Koh Phangan as we were booking late and over the Full Moon Party. I went onto TripAdvisor and found the Chantaramas. It had great reviews and looked like it was close to Haad Rin beach without actually being in Haad Rin. I was a little skeptical as it wasn't one of our preferred properties but we booked it online anyway.

When we got to Koh Phangan and pulled up to the Chantaramas we were flabbergasted! It was absolutely stunning, with tall tropical trees, lush vegetation and a great reception. After tasting our delicious welcome drinks and cooling down with their cooled towels we were graciously shown to our room. The room was large, clean and modern with a nice big bed. We booked a room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony and we got exactly what we paid for. The Jacuzzi was AMAZING! It was like a bath so you could put hot or cold water in it. The food was delicious and cheap, and the pool, OMG, the pool. It was an infinity pool right on the beach. Stunning! It was also in a perfect location, only a 10 minute TukTuk ride to the Full Moon Party.

I really don't understand why we don't contract this property when it was the best place we stayed at in Thailand but I'll be getting to the bottom of it asap! The only downside was when we went to book on their website, the price of their room went up by a couple of hundred dollars without letting us confirm the currency change... was a bit weird... either way it was well worth what we paid for it anyway. Would recommend to anyone, especially couples or friends.

Room Tip: Get the room with the Jacuzzi on the balcony, only a little more expensive than your Deluxe room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sar_b123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.5 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
1.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
2.3 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantaramas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Property: Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is managed by Epikurean Hotels & Lifestyle, located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have 51 rooms on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature.Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chantaramas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing