We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
Ranked #32 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All Good!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days, the guy who runs the place was friendly, as was everyone who worked there. It was quiet, which was what we wanted, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, breakfast (included) was fine and the tofu burger was excellent.

The beach is down a steep slope but easily manageable and from the resort it is easily walkable to Haad Salad or Haad Yeo.

We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Sunset views are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikethecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The resort is located in the quiet north-west of Koh Phangan, between Haad Yao and Haad Salad beaches. Both beaches are about 10 minutes walk. Hint: walk through Cookies resort for a shortcut. Dragon Hut has a small secluded beach too, Haad Gruad, a few steep steps take you there. You are welcome to use the swimming pool of Haad Gruad resort, please ask Rong, the owner of Dragon Hut. The bungalows are simply furnished, tidy, the colors will make your mood. The resort is 3 years old, the matrasses are in perfect condition, which is my biggest concern of all. The bedside table has a lockable drawer for your valuables. I have booked a fan bungalow with single beds. No need to use the fan, because the windows have moskito nets, just leave them open at night, cooling seabreeze blows in. The resort is in the woods, you can hear birds singing all day, but there's absolutely nothing to disturb your sleep at night. The owner Rong is very smiley and helpful, he's your local friend from day No. 1. His staff doesn't speak English, only a few words, but they are ready rush and help if you need something. This place is for people who want to slow down and enjoy the quiet environment. For party guys: best place to cure your hangover. You can relax in the hammock in your balcony, watch the waves and the magnificient sunsets. There's a big selection of delicious food, both Thai and Western for average prices. E.g. Pad Thai - 80BHT - the best one I've had so far! They also sell soft drinks and water. Your room will be cleaned in every 4 days or so - this is quite normal here -, but if you need more cleaning or toilet paper, don't bother to ask at the reception. Please be environmentally conscious in this wonderful island, lots of cleaning means pollution.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferstershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for six nights with my girlfriend. Could't be more happy. Wonderfull room, with great view, which all the bungalows have. A relax atmosphere, you can slow down here. And for real, the owner lung, great man! Really helpfull and friendly and above all a great cook. His curries were one of the better ones i've had. And then i dont count the normal resort touristy meals, which i tend to avoid.
To get around the island, rent a scooter from lung. The only rule is, dont crash instead of checking every inch for a scratch for extra money.
Do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After 3 weeks of traveling in Thailand, we choose dragon hut resort for one week of chilling. We could have not found any better place on koh phangang for this occasion. Dragon hut resort is sharing a small beach with one other resort, which is not busy at all. Sometimes we were all alone at the beach. We stayed in a new bungalow which was very clean and big, with a balcony looking over the sea (great spot to enjoy the sunset). The bungalow was the best one we had during all our travels in Thailand. Also the bathroom was very clean and brad new (with a great, strong shower). If you want to see more of the island, you can easily rent a scooter at the resort. But not only the bungalows and the great location at the small beach make dragon hut a perfect resort. The owner, Lung is one of the most friendly Thai we met. He treats you as his friend, takes the time to chat with you and makes you feel comfortable at his resort. It was a unique experience for us, to see the owner of the resort taking care of everything. Lung is also a very good cook. He takes his time to prepare the food, but at the end it was always well worth the wait. Everything was fresh and super delicious. He also gave us free authentic Thai treats to proof, which were lovely. I can just highly recommend dragon hut resort for everyone who is looking for some relaxing time and a unique Thai experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had originally booked a room at another hotel through a travel agent. We arrived and it was full so the owner took us down to Dragon Hut. It was night time and he's doing a bit of construction (building a restaurant) so we were a bit skeptical at first. We were taken down to the water front bungalow and blown away. A lot of stairs, so not recommended with bad knees or children maybe. It is all very nice condition and clean. The bungalows are spread out enough so no ones looking in on you ever. He's got some deal with the neighbor hotel (Lucky Resort) to use their restaurant, pool, and whatever other services they offer since Dragon Hut is not in full operation. It was a great price now, but I would think it will get quite a bit more expensive when its all finished. You can also walk over to the other beach to the north where there are a bunch more hotels/resorts for eating and just hanging out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan3681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

i can honestly say that the family that run this place are lovely.
i have been to this small and stunning resort 7 times now and wont go anywhere else.
although not good for toddlers as it is very steep it has become my favorite place with its own tiny beach and natural surroundings.

Room Tip: nice little one room mini villas built in to the rocks with the sea 20 metres away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew1973333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.5 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haad Gruad Beach Bungalows
Haad Gruad Beach Bungalows
#87 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Haad Salad Villa
Haad Salad Villa
#35 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haadsalad Resort
Haadsalad Resort
#61 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky Resort
Lucky Resort
#104 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan

Property: Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
Address: 58/17 Moo 8, Haad Kruad | Salad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing