We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base”
Review of Haad Yao Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haad Yao Villa
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Room has all amenities required for a comfortable stay e.g hot water, a/c. Right across road is Crave restaurant which was an absolute highlight. We went twice! Staff at hotel were very nice and accommodating also. Would stay again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessmatt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Where is excels:
Really nice and clean room, hospitable staff, quiet location.
Close to a 7/11 so you can easily buy missing stuff,
they do laundry very quickly and cheap so no need to bring too much stuff.
Nice porch to sit together in the night after coming back from events

Where it falls short:
Bed is too hard.
No included breakfast, and the breakfast they DO have is expensive compared to close resorts, and without fresh coffee.
high prices on Booking.com,
Wifi is unreliable,
location is problematic in terms of transportation (if you don't rent a motorbike).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with great wifi. Staff is reeeally nice and extremely helpful. The hotel restaurant is located right on the beach and serves nice Thai dishes. You can lay on your back after a meal and enjoy the gorgeous sunset. There isn't too much to do in Haad Yao, but you can rent a motorbike from the hotel for the price of 250BHT/day and explore the island. Basically Haad Yao Villa was our excellent base camp for Koh Phangan.

The beach isn't the best for normal swimming but good for snorkeling. 7/11 is just around the corner and on the other side of the road there's Crave, a popular Canadian burger joint. Overall we recommend this hotel!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gusse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice a/c bungalow. Clean. 50 steps from a beautiful beach. Restaurant nice cheap food and friendly service. Substantial free breakfast included. Rented a scooter from the hotel desk, everything went smoothly with this. Nice bars and restaurants in walking distance. Beach restaurants are all lovely. As you come out of the resort you will find Haad Yao Longe and Fitness which is actually predominantly a restaurant bar so don't let the name put you off! Beautiful Thai food ran by a dutch guy and his thai partner. Crave burger bar opposite ran by Canadians if you fancy something western. And you must try the rasta bar which is absolutely hilarious. Loads of Thai islanders convinced they are bob Marley with dreads and black tans passing spiffs around and jamming very crap music.

Very good hotel and location and beautiful staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GarethR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

First of all the location of the resort on this amazing beach is perfect. I'll miss having breakfast at the beach. The food is the best available in the area. Try a mango banana smoothy and the thai red fried curry!! The staff is very friendly and works so hard. The room was specious and clean. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjolein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Good clean hotel with friendly staff, right on the beach. Do not use haad Yao travel next door (not part of the hotel) they will rip you off. We rented a bike for one day and they wanted us to pay for scratches that were already there. They refused to give us our passport back until we paid. Be warned!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna3490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at Haad Yao Villa for 2 months earlier in the year, having moved from the resort next door, Haad Yao Beach resort, which was a great disappointment. I have booked to go back to Haad Yao Villa in September and will be staying on and off until April. The staff are charming, the rooms clean and the location superb. As a solo traveller I felt completely safe and was made to feel very welcome. Haad Yao is not for those wanting 5* amenities but rather for those wanting to 'kick back' and chill, or in my case, to write.
It has with enough western facilities to ensure you are never too far out of your comfort zone. The rooms are simple but spaciousThey are cleaned and sheets are changed every 3 days. They come with a TV, aircon a fridge. All have a terrace or balcony and the sea is never more than 50 metres away.
The restaurant serves a mix of Thai and western food and, while it may never achieve a Michelin star, provides good fresh food and excellent service.
The pool is excellent for lapping, though perhaps not the best for tanning, but with a white sandy beach on your doorstep that is hardly a problem.
Best of all are the staff who are kind and courteous, attentive to your needs and who make you feel part of their family.
If you are looking for a little piece of home while you are away, Haad Yao Villa is a must.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs have double beds. Upstairs rooms have twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boots180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#56 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#76 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
#59 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
385 reviews
2 mi away
Phangan Utopia Resort
Phangan Utopia Resort
#36 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#11 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Yao Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Yao Villa

Address: 53/3 Moo 8 Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 408 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £22 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Yao Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haad Yao Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing