We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thong Yang Bungalows
Ranked #42 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

First up, my rating is based on our overall experience, not just the quality of the resort. The rooms are basic bungalows and have a nice balcony, ac and a fridge. The beach is shallow and calm but at low tide, the water retreats a fair bit.
The restaurant serves all types of delicious food and drinks and is very well priced.
And the staff are just lovely, in particular A. He is such a well mannered gentleman who is always smiling and wanting to make you feel welcome. About a 5 minute dive to haad rin if you want some bars/restaurants. Had a really nice stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MikM791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights in May, was so lovely and peaceful and tranquil, the beach is private and very chilled out and the bungalows are perfect! The man who owns the place is a genuinely lovely guy who only wants the best for you and is so clearly grateful for the booking, as mentioned in previous comments it's family run so bookings obviously make a difference to the family. One note I'd make is that if you don't like dogs/are scared of dogs then I wouldn't stay because they do bark from time to time and when they did I thought it would be a huge problem for my brother who's scared of dogs, but if you don't mind them the place is paradise!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ballard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Some of the nicest people I've met in Thailand run this place, a wonderful family, 3 generations. They have a quiet and beautiful beach, they rent motorbikes, good food, everything you need.

I've stayed here more than once and always feel at home here.

I fall asleep to the sound of waves and crickets, I love it.

Room Tip: I like to not stay right next to the restaurant, but a couple bungalows away where it's totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

hey people! So here is the thing :) I was in Thong Yang bungalows and they are really the best ones I ever been on Thailand :) Staff are really friendly and helpfull, you have your own private beach wich is quite away from the parties, but not to far away. If you rent a motorbyke you have only 5 minutes to the center. Bungalows are okey. For that price we paid around 700THB a beach front. Great view. you also have a refrigerator, in your room which is not that usual for that price :) It is a very good thing that you are away from the noise. I recommended a Thong Yang Bungalows.

greets H

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

When I looked for a hotel on Koh Phangan and read reviews on tripadvisor.com, I've took note to this hotel because it was number 1 in the category B & B. Now for some reason it has moved to the category Hotels and lost there in the third decade . Of course it is much more gesthouse or B & B, than a hotel.
Segment coast of the island less than 100 meters in length is limited on both sides by huge boulders . House of owners stands a little in depth between them. Kitchen and veranda is used as restaurant and reception. Behind the house and up the slope to the sides huddle over a dozen guest houses of different sizes. Bungalow's furnishings is modest - bed with a very hard mattress, fan on the wall , cupboard and fridge. In the bathroom are sink, hot water shower and toilet. If you want to use air conditioner, you should pay extra.
You get this bungalow for a very small price. Do not expect that this price includes daily cleaning of the room - you can do it by yourself, the room has a broom, daily replacement bed linen and towels, daily replenishment of refrigerator with water bottles and other attributes of the hotel service. But you get something more meaningful - a personal touch , as the presence in of a large Thai family life, representatives of three generations of which greeting you, cook your food , help address emerging issues. Yard of their home becomes a place of your stay - lying on the beach or in a hammock reading a book or working on the computer - anywhere on the territory is excelent WiFi.
When number of guests a little , it seems that this piece of land - yours, that you just visit friends in their country house and everything is only for you . It's an amazing feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldGrumbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Got to start by saying some of the reviews below seem very dramatic. I didn't even consider suicide and if a fan isn't sufficient you really should consider a/c.

Thong yang is reasonably priced and although not perfect isn't bad. Me and my partner stayed here for 5 nights over the full moon party. We found it really peaceful and a great escape from the noise of the more busy parts. The room was sufficient and paying the extra for a/c is definitely worth it. There was also a fridge in the room which is handy.

The food was good and again reasonably priced but the service was terribly slow at times. There was a nice lounging area to the side of the restaurant with some nice cushions could probably do with a couple more though as only enough for two to sit comfortably.

We had one of the bungalows on the front. They are small but the bathrooms are fine, I would prefer a flushing toilet but it wasn't a major issue. The showers maintained a good temperature for as long as needed. I did find the porch area slightly cramped however as there was a bench on there but facing sideways rather than towards the sea due to lack of space which is a bit of a shame as can be nice to chill outside your room in the evening from time to time. There was one larger bungalow that allowed this so if you like to watch the sea in the evening it may be worth enquiring to see if you could obtain this room.

The dogs are on the most part fine, one in particular is pretty smelly and tatty but when the owners do see them near the eating area they do try to shoo them off. However a bit more vigilance with poo clearing wouldn't go a miss.

All in all this place is a nice stay very peaceful and friendly staff and a nice crowd. You feel like your belongings are safe also. So not perfect but not bad either.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank benb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our visit to Phangan was part of a longer holiday so that we went to the full moon party. After reading reviews we decided to stay in a hotel that was slightly far from the beach but not across the island. Thong Yang seemed perfect and cheap. Indeed the room was a sea front one and the small beach was just perfect.

As the price may suggest the room was basic but the entrance had no handrail so that if you are planning to enter the place drunk you may end up on the rocks below since there is not even a glimpse of light on the outside of the bungalow.

At the restaurant the staff remove their shoes but since there were 5 dogs around we did not bother as the floor was dirty. Moreover when eating at the restaurant 3 of the dogs would be playing around - no problem right? Wrong, they smelled so bad and weren't on a leash. The food was well priced however 2 of us who ate a coconut milk soup ended up with diaorrea and vomiting the day after so we resorted to eating toast after that.

For our last day we also booked through the hotel a trip to go to Krabi. We should have arrived in Krabi at 15:00 however we only arrived at 20:30. It seemed that other people from other hotels were promised the same. To add insult instead of the tranportation taking us directly to the bus station, we were taken to a shack to eat from a presumably friend of a friend with a loo shaped like a hole in the ground (cooking was done next to this place).

If there is a large banner above the restaurant promoting trips, then they would still not have done anything about it.

Room Tip: If you want a good room don't come here, go to Haad Rind Bay for the full moon party and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
7.8 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
311 reviews
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#46 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#56 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
69 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#48 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
58 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#29 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thong Yang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Yang Bungalows

Address: 32/1 Moo 4 Baan Khaai Village, Baan Taai parish, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £15 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thong Yang Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Thong Yang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing