We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benjamin's Hut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Benjamin's Hut
Ranked #10 of 129 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at Benjamins Hut our bungalow was perfectly clean. The atmosphere was great and it was a pitty we could not stay longer. The small and relaxed restaurant serves delicious Thai and international food. Hope we can come back sometime!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joost118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    44
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
92
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glacier, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the sunsets and low season prices at these cosy bungalows. Some of the nicest staff we've had in 2 months of travel, even gave us a ride to the ferry to wish us farewell. They have budget and modern bungalows, we chose the budget and thought it was great. Bathroom was a bit stinky but for 250B can't complain. If you aren't aware the swimming is much better on the east side of the island but accommodation is also pricier. We rented a motorbike for 3 days for 500baht right next door and would bike to a different beach each day before making it home for sunset. Bottle beach is really spectacular. Food here was also quite good for average prices. I think we found one of the best places on the island to stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GradyMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for about 7 nights in early march.
We payed for the cheaper accommodation at the back ( only diff is no air con and smaller ) but it was a fair bit cheaper. Pretty basic room and basic bathroom that we had the pleasure of sharing with cockroaches in a couple of occasions but it's just how it is sometimes. The restaurant had really decent food and good prices. You could also borrow snorkels, kayak, and other beach stuff to keep yourself occupied. Plenty of other hotels and restaurants near by too. Pretty good for the price if you're happy with basic accommodation ( we paid $12 a night ).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sturay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

First of all benjamins Hut is situated on the beach so you can lounge out on the platforms with cushions eating pad thai and staring out to the sea. It really is beautiful.
Our room was really cute, white and lime green with a wall decal of a tree and a little quote which must have been translated wrong because didn't make much sense ha!
The bed was comfy, air con worked well, the shower was a bit of a poor effect but it did the job.
It was clean and we had a nice big veranda with a table and chairs, a washing line and a hammock.
The staff were really friendly and happy to help.
The food was amazing and so reasonably priced, all the thai food was great but if you have breakfast get bacon and beans on toast with cheese; it comes like a toasty and its great!
We went for Songkran and the full moon party, the location was fine for songkran because we just got a taxi down to the town centre (Thong Sala) and the atmosphere was amazing there.
The location is pretty far from the full moon party in Haad Rin, it wash't actually that expensive to get there it was about 400baht on the night of the full moon party which I was really impressed with.
It was a little harder to get back, we got in a taxi instantly but stopped off at what was apparently a taxi rank for about an hour until more people that was going the same way as us arrived (although there were already about 6 other people in the taxi).

Its a gorgeous place to stay but definitely out of the way from everything thats going on, it's more of a place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The place to go when you're on Koh Phangan. A friendly family runs this b&b and really takes care of you. Its located on the beach, and we had hut1, which is the absolute best one since you have your own private piece of beach. With a small beach bar with fantastic cocktails and a great food menu (take the burger!) this is an absolute must go.

Room Tip: Ask for room/bungalow 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A very friendly, clean and quiet set of bungalows situated on the beach on the Northerly Western coast of Phangan. With a selection of accomodation from simple 1 room fan cooled bungalow to the more exculusive Air con chalets.

There is a very good extensive menu catering for both Western and Asian tastes, however like most of Thailand the food has been Westernised and doesn't have the kick of spice it used to have. The restaurant is set right on the beach so there is a wonderfull view of the turquoise ocean while you eat or relax

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mik m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We loved our stay in Benjamin´s Hut. It´s a fantastic place and we had problems leaving. The staff is super nice and friendly, the bungalows are great, the food is delicious (we had there the best pad thai and green papaya salad), the garden is lovely are very well maintained, the view and the beach are so pittoresque... oh and of course Memen the dog is the sweetest creature that loves to cuddle.
We booked a fan bungalow for 2 nights, but we kept extending so eventually we stayed there almost a week. It's a great place to relax since it's quite quiet and not crowded. Also this part of the island is so much nicer and prettier than the south. Benjamin's Hut is a perfect base to explore the island on a rented motorbike.
The bungalows are the best we had during our whole stay in Thailand. They are very clean, spacious, cozy with a cute porch and a hammock. The bed was huge and super comfortable.
Our last night we've spent in a double room. They are much cheaper, but also the standard is less pleasant. I would highly recommend to spend these few euro more and have a fantastic bungalow, you're not gonna want to leave!

Room Tip: Bungalows are much nicer than rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4-legged-creature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
6.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#13 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#3 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin's Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin's Hut

Property: Benjamin's Hut
Address: 84/38 Moo 8 | Haad Chao Phao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Benjamin's Hut 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Benjamin's Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing